We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and comfortable and good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ardross and Glencairn Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ardross and Glencairn Guesthouse
Ranked #55 of 246 Inverness B&B and Inns
Stornoway
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable and good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

I stayed at this hotel with my husband and 11-year-old grandson for just one night en-route to our home on the Isle of Lewis after travelling to Europe. The staff were friendly, the hotel clean and bed comfortable, it was lovely to actually be in a room with a window which could be opened! So many hotels have rooms with windows which you cannot open or even rooms without windows which make you feel like you are in a cupboard! So a well done to the owners for that. The hotel is obviously fairly new and appears to still be under renovation/refurbishment as there are little thing which need finishing off. It would have been nice to have something in the bathroom where you could put your toiletries, but I am sure this is something the owners will address when they can. Breakfast was good, with plenty of choice, it was very busy when we were there but this did not mean that the quality of the food suffered in any way. Would recommend to others and would use again when I need somewhere to stay in Inverness.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilovewestlife506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    123
    54
    14
    7
See reviews for
72
75
18
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Rooms were a bit tired and in need of a little tlc but had all the basic requirements, tea, coffee making facilities, complimentary biscuits and en suite shower room with hand soap, shower gel and towels. Breakfast had to be ordered the evening before with the time you required it but this was not a problem for us. The guest house did have limited parking outside but was within walking distance of the town centre.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JulesB23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

What a fabulous guest house! Lovely welcome by the manageress. I stayed in a double room and it was beautiful. More like a hotel than a guest house. Very comfortable bed, great shower and bathroom and tastefully decorated room. Very clean and airy. Loved it. Will stay again!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Older accomodation close to town centre. Staff friendly and breakfast was good. Price was reasonable parking is on street and only free between 5pm and 10am. Had a front bedroom drapes did not block light out which made it hard to sleep.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Very charming guest house in very charming Inverness. Prices are reasonable and accommodations comfortable. Even the room temperature wasn't too low (something apparently uncommon in Scotland). The shower had low power and some issues of temperature control. Breakfast was good, but we think it wasn't worth the extra charge.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank mpigliucci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Arrived quite late to Inverness as part of my graduation trip to the Highlands with my family of three (incl. me). Felt very welcome on entering the guesthouse, greeted by Lindsay (apologies if I got the name wrong or spelt it wrong, as I'm writing this retrospectively), who immediately made us feel at home and was very helpful.

Room was spacious, comfortable beds, with en-suite toilet. Has good facilities and very close to city centre. Has TV and also free wifi. Only rating it four stars, because my mom complaint about the pillows being uncomfortable. Although this could be a personal thing as I found it okay. It's more like a 4.5 stars place, if not 5.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, SC
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Our family of four enjoyed a brand new, spacious room. The bathroom facilities were modern, convenient, and not cheap. For a guesthouse experience, this was all pleasure! Wifi was not accessible in our room but worked well any time in the lobby. Because we left early we opted to not have breakfast at the facility. Staff were super kind and available any time. They kindly allowed us to deliver our luggage early so that we could spend a full day sightseeing. By far this was our favorite guesthouse. It actually gives a new definition, positive definition to "guesthouse!"

Room Tip: We took a large taxi from and returning to the railway station. . . . easy, cheap trip and well wort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.2 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
0.4 mi away
Beaufort Hotel
Beaufort Hotel
#24 of 34 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
9.9 mi away
Inchrye Bed & Breakfast
Inchrye Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 5 in Ardersier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ardentorrie Guesthouse
Ardentorrie Guesthouse
#20 of 246 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tay Villa
Tay Villa
#51 of 246 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.1 mi away
Corran Guest House
Corran Guest House
#11 of 246 in Inverness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardross and Glencairn Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardross and Glencairn Guesthouse

Property: Ardross and Glencairn Guesthouse
Address: 18-19 Ardross Street, Inverness IV3 5NS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 246 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ardross and Glencairn Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ardross and Glencairn Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardross And Glencairn Guesthouse Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing