We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfortable stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Armadale Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Armadale Guest House
Ranked #102 of 246 Inverness B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very comfortable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

Stayed here on a whirlwind trip of Scotland when family visited - the manager was very accommodating and even upgraded one of our booked rooms so that everyone was together on one floor. Very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EagerExplorer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    43
    19
    2
    3
See reviews for
24
69
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

I was in Inverness on business and normally stay in a hotel but I had left it last minute and couldn't get a hotel under £100 so decided to go to a guest house.
The house was clean and comfortable and had all the facilities I needed including WI FI but was cheaper than a hotel.
I got parked outside the door which was handy and enjoyed a 10 minute walk to the city centre for dinner.
Normally I would eat in the hotel so this was a pleasant change.
My room was in the attic and given the choice I would prefer to have a room with a window but it was fine for one night.
The bed was okay but I personally found the pillows a bit too hard and flat, perhaps a spare pillow in the room would be helpful.
Breakfast was as good as any hotel and the owner was very friendly and accommodating.
I probably wouldn't stay more than 1 or 2 nights but for a short break it is fine for sight seeing or visiting the town centre.

Room Tip: If you are elderly, disabled or very tall avoid the attic room which has a low ceiling on the way to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolS29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

My husband and I received a warm welcome from the friendly innkeeper when we arrived. Our room was clean and cozy and furnished with one twin and one double bed. It was fine for the two of us, but it might be a little cramped for more than 2 people. The shower had on-demand hot water and good water pressure, and we were able to take advantage of the free wifi.

The guest house was easy to find and just a short walk from the bus station. It has great access to the rest of the city and all amenities. We used a laundry service and car rental and were able to walk to both without a problem.

Breakfast was great - fresh fruit, cereals, toast, yogurt and the best porridge I've ever had.

Overall, definitely a nice little B&B.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

We stayed at this guest house for one night (two adults, one kid in a triple room). Well designed and nicely decorated room, availability of a triple room, very responsive and friendly owner. The BnB is close to downtown inverness, so walking there is no problem.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dave0421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stellaartios1366
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

Stayed at the Armadale in March 2013. Received a friendly welcome from the owner who seemed only too happy to have a chat about my trip. The room was well decorated, spacious and had a modern shower room. The bed was comfy and the breakfast was very tasty.

The city centre is just a few minutes walk away over one of the main bridges so the guest house is very close to food and drink places.

The Armadale’s little extras really help this place stand out from other guest houses for example a bottle of water and sachets of hot chocolate in the room, or individual pots of jam at breakfast.

I would strongly recommend it and will definitely stay here again when I visit Inverness

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stellaartios1366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

Stayed at this guest house for one night. Received a warm welcome by the owner who was really nice and spoke to us for a couple of minutes. We were upgraded to a large double room which was lovely and spacious. The bed was really comfy.

Breakfast was delicious and again we had a wee friendly chat with the owner.

The guest house is only a 5 minute walk to the main street which is ideal that you dont need to take your car.

Only downfall was that the parking isn't that great. It is pay on the street until 6 o'clock. Luckily we arrived on a Saturday night and it was free on the Sunday.

Great value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jac_killie1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renfrew, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2013 via mobile

Was greeted by the host, a lovely man, explained everything in the room and hotel. Stayed in a double room the bed was big, clean and comfy, overall a great place to stay and great value for money, would strongly recommend it to anyone visiting Inverness

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobDSJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.0 mi away
Acer Glen B&B
Acer Glen B&B
#54 of 246 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Quaich Bed and Breakfast
The Quaich Bed and Breakfast
#50 of 246 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ivanhoe Guest House
Ivanhoe Guest House
#202 of 246 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
No. 29 Hotel
No. 29 Hotel
#118 of 246 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riverbank House
Riverbank House
#215 of 246 in Inverness
3.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.0 mi away
Eskdale Guest House
Eskdale Guest House
#55 of 246 in Inverness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Armadale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armadale Guest House

Property: Armadale Guest House
Address: 35 Greig Street, Inverness IV3 5PX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 246 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Armadale Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Armadale Guest house was build in 1860. It is a family run business. We aim to provide a comfortable stay with friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Armadale Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Armadale Guest House Hotel Inverness
Armadale Guest House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing