We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay and great hosts.”

Hawthorn Lodge Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hawthorn Lodge Guest House
Ranked #125 of 246 Inverness B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay and great hosts.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

We had a great and comfortable stay. Breakfast was more than adequate and couple that ran the place were very kind and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kazalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    7
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
20
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Littleton, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

Was a lovely stay close to downtown Inverness with restaurants etc. Hostess was extremely friendly, room was very specious and clean. Breakfast was good and tasty. Would stay again when in Inverness.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DWB33524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

9 of us spent a wonderful night in Hawthorn Lodge when we had our 5-day trip to Scotland.
Very nice staff, the room are clean and comfortable, very good breakfast. We left our car in the lodge after our check-out, resolving our big problem. :)
Also, the location is amazing, 5-mins or 10 walking distance to the city center.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pjlxs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

Three of us stayed with Ann at Hawthorn Lodge when we went to Rock Ness 2011 as an alternative to camping. Our room was lovely, really big and lots of room for three girls to get ready for the festival (essential). Ann was so helpful, organising us taxis to get down to the festival etc. Breakfast was really really good and Hawthorn Lodge even has a small carpark so you don't have to park on the road. Great stay, would recommend to anyone whatever thier reason for visiting Inverness. We have already rebooked for Rock Ness 2012!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2011

i found the hawthorn lodge , accidently whilst looking for accom for myself and workmate , and glad i did , the rooms are spotless ,comfortable.
the choice of breakfast is second to none and Ann the owner give her utmost to help and provide a great service and from chatting to fellow guests at breakfast the felt the same , i would def recommend the hawthorn lodge ,so much i booked us for another month , and will do for next phase of my work up in inverness .

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank govanboy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Seton, Scotland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2011

Booked to stay for one night on 9TH JUNE 2011.Booked 4 weeks in advance and paid upfront.Upon arrival at the hotel an 9th June we were told they were fully booked with no rooms left.When i pointed out i had a reservation and had paid in advance and had the email conformation in my possession stating the booking,also that we had been allocated room 3.There was confusion with the staff and a few calls were made and we were treated terribly.To sumerise they had given our room away to someone else even though we had BOOKED and PAID in ADVANCE 4 WEEKS before.This left us with no accomodation,late on a thu night the day before Rockness........Please dont stay here,they dont deserve your custom after the way we were treated.....Shocking.....

Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Steviemcphail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nessie19, Owner at Hawthorn Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, 23 August 2011
I did explain the mistake to you by email and I did sincerely apologies for the misunderstanding. I explained we did not re-let your room but that I had put the wrong name in the board, as I was not home at time my husband was reluctant to let you the room because of the mistake. But he did get you another guest house of high standard and took you there himself (2 minutes from our guesthouse) and he did pay in full for your accommodation.
Although I can understand your anger (in your position I would be the same) I am disappointed that you make out as if we just left you with no accommodation you and I both know this is not the case. I can only apologise again for my stupidity and mistake, and can assure you that this is the first time in 30 years this has ever happened and will never happen again.
Ann (Proprioter of Hawthorn lodge)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torres Vedras, Portugal
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2010

Stayed here with 2 friends to visit Inverness and Loch Ness.
It is a nice walk from the train station, around 10/15 minutes. We had luggage and managed fine. The directions were spot on we got there with no trouble.
It is located in a residential area on the other side of River Ness, lots of other B&Bs around.
We booked a family room with bathroom. The room was big enough, one double bed and one single bed. The bathroom is not ensuite but right next door and we were the only ones holding the key.
We had a kettle, coffe, tea, hot chocolate and biscuits in our room. Great for a snack. TV with freeview, hairdryer, towels. The beds were comfy and the room was warm enough.
One thing I have to say is that the curtains did not blackout the outside light. With long days and early morning of scottish summer it can be a nuisance. I slept well nevertheless but would have appreciated blackout curtains.
Breakfast was great, lots of choice of cereal and delicious cooked breakfast. Great coffee as well.
The dining room is nice, a table for every room and a fish tank with some funny looking fish.
I would recommend some time to spend shopping in Inverness. It is a lovely city.
Loch Ness is a must. We took the Jacobite "Passion" tour with a cruise through Loch Ness. Breathtaking views, amazing really.
If you look for good value for your money and a comfortable place to stay in Inverness I would definetely recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Padmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.8 mi away
Silverstrands Guest House
Silverstrands Guest House
#35 of 246 in Inverness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
9.8 mi away
Inchrye Bed & Breakfast
Inchrye Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 5 in Ardersier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ardentorrie Guesthouse
Ardentorrie Guesthouse
#17 of 246 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mardon Guest House
Mardon Guest House
#61 of 246 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.1 mi away
No. 29 Hotel
No. 29 Hotel
#110 of 246 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crown Hotel Guesthouse
Crown Hotel Guesthouse
#109 of 246 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Lodge Guest House

Property: Hawthorn Lodge Guest House
Address: 15 Fairfield Road, Inverness IV3 5QA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 246 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorn Lodge Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated only minutes walk from the river ness and town centre. We have secure private parking, and accept credit cards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Book Direct Rooms, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hawthorn Lodge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Lodge Guest House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing