We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a no-thrills good-value b&b, but breakfast logistics seemed strange”
Review of Park Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Park Guest House
Ranked #76 of 234 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Park Guest House for 1 night. On arrival, there was no one at the b&b to let us in so we had to sit outside for 20 mins (luckily it wasn't raining). We had an excuse from the owner but not an apology.

The decor in the b&b is very traditional if a little dated. The room was clean and comfy though.

Breakfast was a touch confusing, given that we were asked to order our choice of food when we checked in (i.e. 16 hours prior to eating). Other guests didn't seem to have to do this given they ordered at the breakfast table. We didn't order porridge (and weren't asked to specify what we didn't want) but we were confusingly served porridge anyway. The tea was odd too; even after 15 mins of brewing it appeared grey and tasteless after adding milk. The cooked breakfast was good though and service was friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 205 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2013

A lovely elegant house, and a genuine welcome. A traditional B&B with shared facilities, promoting a sociable atmosphere.

The rooms are comfortable, and I really approve of things such as towels not being thrown away just because they are a little worn or frayed.

Breakfast was an absolute highlight. Beautifully prepared and presented, it was truly memorable. And in such a lovely spacious room, with Mozart playing quietly in the corner, just the best possible start to the day.

It is a little bit of a walk to town, but be aware it is close to the river, which makes a nicer walk in than along the main road.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hwylasbri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Our family room was clean, comfortable and large. We had plenty of room for 2 adults and 2 children. Breakfast was great and the owners were very friendly. Easy walk into the town centre (10 mins) and there is carparking at the guest house.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsMagoo2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

My parents and I stayed at the Park Guest House when we were in Scotland for Runrig's 40th anniversary concert.
The guest house is only 10 minutes by foot to the river (and center of) Inverness.
The owners of the guest house are very nice and hospitable, and you feel more than welcome there. Breakfast is lovely (one has to order every day, so there are different options to get each day) and the rooms are nice and comfy.
Absolutely recommendable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnMolgaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Needed a place to sleep over night before going on excursion starting at the Inverness Train station, which is very close! Free parking on premises. Hendry & Irene were very welcoming and kind! The guest house is clean and has a homey feel.Good shower & slept well! Hendry started our day with Scottish music in the background as we ate a yummy breakfast in the well decorated & charming dining room! Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madeleinegn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We spent 4 nights in Park Guest House in August. It is comfortable, clean and has good location. the center of the city, swimming pool or playground for children is accessible in 10-15 minutes’ walk. The owners are very nice and warm. We felt like at home. I must say that the breakfasts are delicious. Our children recommend porridge and toasts.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magik25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Had a brief stay on business, Hendry was very welcoming and friendly, nothing too much bother and he kindly got up early to get make sure I had some breakfast before setting off. The guest house is clean, tidy and the dining room is charming (if you are eating breakfast on your own there is even a big cuddly monkey you can chat to!) I had a small room with a shared bathroom but the price of this compared to the other B & B's on offer in Inverness that night was very economical. A lovely, charming & homely guest house.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sue b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.9 mi away
Heathmount Hotel
Heathmount Hotel
#15 of 36 in Inverness
401 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ardross and Glencairn Guesthouse
0.8 mi away
King's Highway
King's Highway
#46 of 234 in Inverness
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Inchrye Bed & Breakfast
Inchrye Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Ardersier
297 reviews
0.6 mi away
Armadale Guest House
Armadale Guest House
#96 of 234 in Inverness
146 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ardentorrie Guesthouse
Ardentorrie Guesthouse
#15 of 234 in Inverness
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Guest House

Address: 51 Glenurquhart Road, Inverness IV3 5PB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 234 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range: £34 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Guest House is a fabulous Victorian Villa offering bed and breakfast accommodation with Highland Hospitality at its very best. Located only a short walk from Inverness City Centre, River Ness and Inverness Castle it is perfect for both business and leisure travellers. All rooms are well appointed and there is a large private guest car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Park Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Guest House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing