We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room and great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Roseneath Guest House
Ranked #29 of 231 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great room and great location”
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We happened upon this B&B when we wanted to stay an extra day but our hotel was fully booked. Just walked up to the door and they had a vacancy. Carole the proprietor was nice enough, but not chatty. Room was very spacious and clean. Also, not cluttered the way some B&B rooms can be.

Bathroom en-suite, clean and fairly large. Breakfast was nice, nothing fancy, and free parking on street with permit. Street was quiet.

Best: Large rooms - two adults and one child had three beds (two singles and one double), free WiFi, very clean.

Downsides: None

Paid GBP 80,00 / US$ 121.00

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyGuyLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    15
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
30
31
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

After a very disappointing stay at a recommended hotel we came across the Roseneath. Carole the owner was very welcoming and friendly. The room was very clean, warm and cosy. Breakfast was plentiful. All in all a very pleasant B & B.
I even trained her and her dogs whilst I was there because it was so nice. (I am a dog training).

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

We were told by another B&B to try this one out. The rooms were spacious, very clean and comfortable, nice to look at and en-suite. The bathrooms were clean as well and offered anything you need. The breakfast was good and there was a lot to choose of. Overall, a beautiful place to stay when in Inverness. Very close to the city center on quiet street and therefore perfect location.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DelysiaJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

The room itself was a lovely room - comfortable, spacious. The bathroom was a little small, but fine otherwise. The bed was like sleeping on the floor!!! I was aching all over by the morning. Breakfast was good and delicious. Hostess was friendly

Room Tip: If you prefer a softer bed - confirm beforehand
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ingrid J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cromwell, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

We found this because we noticed that all the B & B's in Inverness seemed to be in this area and we were attracted by the neat and tidy appearance of the outside.

We were not disappointed. Carol made us very welcome. The room was spotlessly clean (although, I think because we arrived lateish and got the last room, it was probably smaller than the others) and the bathroom clean and tidy with an excellect shower.

Easy parking and a short stroll over the "wobbly bridge" into the city centre made this an ideal location for a city break.

Breakfast in the morning was excellent and we enjoyed our stay.

Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yulara, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

We booked this place last minute based on other people's high reviews and we definitely made the right choice here!!

We travelled as 3 adults (my parents visiting from overseas and myself, and adult). The booking process was very strait forward over the phone and relatively cheap for the high standard you recieve. We were booked into a triple room, however when we got there we appeared to have 2 single beds and a double bed, which was more than we expected. The room was extremely spacious for three adults and even included a couple of lounge chairs to sit on. The bathroom was extremely clean and quite large. The cleanliness was second to none - I am usually a bit of a clean freak but this place was way above my average standard. Carol and her husband (??) were very friendly and genuinely seemed to care about your stay and experience there. She gave great local advice when we asked but also left us to ourselves when we first arrived there and were quite exhausted. The beds were very comfortable. The rooms had character. There was a TV available and sufficient towels and even dressing gowns in the room. There was tea and coffee facilities in the room and a full continental breakfast available in the dining room downstairs. Preferences for foods were checked by Carol on arrival to ensure that your food needs were met.

This place is just a 2 minute walk from a footbridge that crosses right into the centre of town. The location is fantastic. The only fault was that there was a bit of noise on the street late at night by people walking by (sounding like after a few drinks), however this is easily fixed by closing the window! The rooms have radiator heating available that makes it easy to adjust the room heat to your own needs very quickly and efficiently.

I would definitely stay here again if visiting Inverness and would not even bother looking elsewhere as I was extremely happy with my stay here.

My advice to others is to look no further and book here. You will not regret it!

Room Tip: We travelled as 3 adults (my parents and myself) and were booked into what we were told was a triple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CNemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Lovely Guest house. Carol makes you very welcome.
Spotless rooms, lots of space, plenty towels in lovely clean bathroom.
Great location for walking into town.
If you are going to Inverness look no further.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loveposhhotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.0 mi away
The Quaich Bed and Breakfast
The Quaich Bed and Breakfast
#54 of 231 in Inverness
115 reviews
0.0 mi away
Eskdale Guest House
Eskdale Guest House
#41 of 231 in Inverness
118 reviews
0.0 mi away
Acer Glen B&B
Acer Glen B&B
#64 of 231 in Inverness
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ardentorrie Guesthouse
Ardentorrie Guesthouse
#16 of 231 in Inverness
195 reviews
0.2 mi away
King's Highway
King's Highway
#45 of 231 in Inverness
500 reviews
0.0 mi away
Armadale Guest House
Armadale Guest House
#93 of 231 in Inverness
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roseneath Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roseneath Guest House

Property: Roseneath Guest House
Address: 39 Greig Street, Inverness IV3 5PX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 231 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Roseneath Guest House is situated within easy walking distance from many of the city's attractions. Free parking is provided with easy access to both bus and railway stations nearby. All major credit cards are accepted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Roseneath Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roseneath Guest House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing