We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sleeping in a manor”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ardmeanach House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ardmeanach House
Ranked #49 of 247 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sleeping in a manor”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay with a very helpful host at Ardmeanach House. Arrived early, but nevertheless friendly welcomed, we could settle-in in a beautiful spacious room overlooking the area. Andrea did help us not only to find a place to dine but also to find another accommodation for the next night, since she was completely booked before we could decide to stay longer.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Konrad2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    15
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
40
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
D&G Scotland
Level Contributor
117 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights on our way to Orkney. Location excellent as literally 10 min walk to centre of town. The house itself is lovely - very traditional - clean and welcoming. Jill (the owner) was lovely - very friendly and helpful. We had the red room - plenty of space and shower room mire than adequate. Toiletries provided too. Breakfast was delicious. Would definitely recommend and would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DKSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nusa Lembongan, Indonesia
Level Contributor
411 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

We booked in here for 3 days over Easter, and arrived late. The landlady was very friendly when we arrived, and suggested that we could get some take away food and eat it back there in the breakfast room. She provided plates & cutlery and even brought us a drink. The room was very nice, and breakfast the next morning was also very good and efficient. The staff always had time to talk, and helped us with some good local knowledge for our various trips.

The building itself is an excellent old house with 11 foot ceilings, and good clean décor throughout. The location is fine for a walk into town but is in a nice quiet area. There is easy car parking on site.

We used Inverness as a base for the highlands and Lock Ness, and this was the perfect place to stay. We travel a lot, and I could thoroughly recommend as one of the best places we have stayed in anywhere.

Room Tip: We had the red room, but I guess all of them would be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WHDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed here during a tour of Scotland, picked entirely at random due to its location and good value.
On arrival we were amazed at the beatiful house, received a warm welcome and were shown to a great room that was well decorated, clean and spacious.
It was a very short walk into town and the breakfast was amazing.
Although the cheapest place we stayed, it was by far the most authentic b&b and we really can't recommend it highly enough.
Thankyou

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndySansom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

This was a perfect start to our honeymoon and ideal home base for exploring the Highlands. It was an easy walk from the downtown bus station with our luggage, in a quiet neighbourhood. We stayed in the yellow room, which was huge, even by North American standards, with a nice private bath. Our room, like the entire house, was spotless, and featured cozy furnishings. With windows for ample daylight and fresh air, comfortable bed, a flat screen TV, cookies, tea, kettle, and even wine -- how could we not feel welcomed? We devoured our hearty Highland breakfasts each morning, and appreciated the delicious homemade preserves. Andrea was a friendly, helpful and gracious hostess, and her hubby came to our rescue rather than allowing us to take a taxi to the bus station during a downpour! We highly recommend Ardmeanach House and look forward to making a return visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greggarious66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BedandBreakfast90, Owner at Ardmeanach House, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you,so much for your review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and indeed in Scotland last summer. We hope to see you again some time.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

We had a really nice one night stay at Ardmeanach House, a traditional Scottish B&B. The owners are very welcoming and accomodating and I called them to see if we could arrive before the schedule check in time which they said wasn't a problem as long as they were home, and if not we could leave the car in their private car park and head into town (check in is from 4pm). It's very centrally located so less than 10 minutes walk to the city centre and easy to get to by car. The private parking was also very handy as there isn't much street parking in the area. All of the bedrooms are unique by colour. We stayed in the red room. It's a good sized room with a comfortable bed - the only down side is it's the first door at the top of the stairs so as it was a Saturday night, we were slightly disturbed by other guests who had been on a rowdy night out! The breakfast had a good selection, however if you are dieting I would recommend avoiding the Scottish breakfast as it's quite a large portion and everything is fried in oil! That said there is a great selection of healthy options to choose from. The Ardmeanach is good value for money and given it's great location, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

On a recent trip to Inverness with my son we had the pleasure of staying in this B&B it was lovely and clean, warm and friendly. From the minute the front door opens and you are welcomed in the place feels really homely and clean. We were shown to our room called the green room not the best for a blue nose(ha ha) the room was bright, spacious and had every thing we would need. The bathroom and shower were lovely fresh and clean the bed linen was really fresh and smelt amazing my son just loved it. The following morning it was down for breakfast and we had cereal, fruit juice and a full cooked Scottish breakfast with plenty of toast. We will definetly be back, keep up the good work.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCABoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.0 mi away
Invernevis B&B
Invernevis B&B
#19 of 247 in Inverness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.1 mi away
St Ann's House
St Ann's House
#7 of 247 in Inverness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eskdale Guest House
Eskdale Guest House
#51 of 247 in Inverness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Rossmount Guest House
Rossmount Guest House
#13 of 247 in Inverness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.3 mi away
Moyness House
Moyness House
#17 of 247 in Inverness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
0.7 mi away
Avalon Guest House
Avalon Guest House
#22 of 247 in Inverness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardmeanach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardmeanach House

Property: Ardmeanach House
Address: 43 Fairfield Road, Inverness IV3 5QP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 247 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ardmeanach House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to city centre with off-street parking. We have free wireless internet access.All rooms en suite. Full freshly cooked Scottish Breakfast, other options available included in the price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ardmeanach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardmeanach House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing