We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely B & B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Eskdale Guest House
Ranked #44 of 232 Inverness B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Arrived late with decent accommodation options running out. Very glad I found this place. The owner only hag a family room which she really did not want to let to a single. Butvshe felt sorry for me and let me have it.

The room was lovely. The bed and pillows great.

The owner made me porridgefor breakfast which was not on the menu.

It is close to town with a great restaurant on the corner by the river.

A great place to stay.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
Thank Gongboy53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2013

Stayed one night (room 2) in this lovely guest house. Kathy is very welcoming and great to chat to. The room was small, but well laid out (after all, it is a guest house). The bed was reasonably comfortable (double) with good pillows. There is no fridge or A/C but the window opens (you definitely need to close it at night as there is a lot of road noise). There are 3 off street car spaces, be careful if you have a large car and the other spaces are used). The guest house is waking distance to the CBD and lots of places to eat for dinner. Breakfast was included and very nice. If paying by credit card, be aware there is a GBP5.00 surcharge. Would stay here again.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank caggsMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

I stayed here recently with my boyfriend. the guest house is lovley and so r the bedroom is like being at home. The owner kathy was very helpful and friendly and let us change our breakfast a few times. would definitly stay here agian. very good location.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 491Cheryl_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Booked colleague here for immediate 2-night booking. Second afternoon his colleague received call his Mother had had a Stroke where they had to immediately return home. Question was obviously therefore (politely) asked for any(?)/possible return credit for second night, but manner in which this was jumped upon was 'thoroughly un-business-like' and heading towards nasty. 'Nothing' was to be returned even under circumstances concerned. The money was of no great issue, but the 'very disappointing' attitude towards a/this credit enquiry does most-certainly require more work.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
Thank S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buttons66, Owner at Eskdale Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2013

Hi Susan
"I" am very disappointed with the content of your review! However, under normal circumstances a refund would have applied.........but as the room had been occupied ALL DAY by your "colleague" and I was only advised of its cancellation by you over the telephone at 515pm.......therefore the full amount became due...please check the CANCELLATION POLICYon website.
Regards
K Kennedy
Eskdale Guest House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

This is the fourth time my wife and I have stayed here and the next time we visit Inverness area, we will continue to stay here. Kathy is exceptionally friendly and helpful, always makes you feel at home and at ease, she has a great sense of humour. The full breakfast provided is very filling and well cooked. The accommodation, including bedroom and reception rooms are very clean and maintained to a high standard. Kathy - the two teddy bears on the landing were a very nice touch indeed ! We have used room 2 whenever it was available, it is a good size and the en suite is neat, clean and tidy. It is clear that Kathy has spent a great deal on refurbishing the property since she took ownership and the standard of fittings ion the bedroom was first class. The accommodation is very handy for the centre of Inverness, about 5 minutes walk.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob_Lesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

stayed one night during highlands tour. was absolutely great! unexpected surprise :) because i had no idea what kind of place i was going to stay in, and it turned out to be a wonderful place with such a sweet landlady. loved the whole place. also great breakfast that i couldn't finish because i was too full :'( if i ever have a chance to go back to inverness, will definitely visit this place again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We stayed here 2 nights and were very pleased with the accommodation supplied. Some of the rooms were small but they had everything and the breakfast was excellent. Kathy and her staff were very friendly and gave us some good tips about eating out etc. well worth a stay, clean friendly and value for money!

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Fay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.0 mi away
Craig Villa Guest House
Craig Villa Guest House
#46 of 232 in Inverness
193 reviews
0.0 mi away
Roseneath Guest House
Roseneath Guest House
#42 of 232 in Inverness
94 reviews
0.1 mi away
Torridon Guest House
Torridon Guest House
#23 of 232 in Inverness
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Quaich Bed and Breakfast
The Quaich Bed and Breakfast
#52 of 232 in Inverness
117 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tanera Guest House
Tanera Guest House
#36 of 232 in Inverness
84 reviews
0.0 mi away
Acer Glen B&B
Acer Glen B&B
#67 of 232 in Inverness
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eskdale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eskdale Guest House

Address: 41 Greig Street, Inverness IV3 5PX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 232 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range: £93 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eskdale is only 5 minutes walk from city centre; rail and bus station. We also have a private car park and free wi-fi. There are many cafe and restaurants nearby. All rooms are en-suite and 1 with private facilities. Eskdale Guest house is 4 star with visit scotland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Eskdale Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eskdale Guest House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing