We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Eskdale Guest House
Ranked #50 of 247 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

I stayed at the Eskdale Guest House in July this year and simply cannot fault it (I am only sorry it took me so long to write this review!). I was a solo traveller and Kathy made me feel right at home. The breakfast was delicious, with a wonderful range of options, the rooms are lovely - and everything is the right price. Location is just perfect to enjoy the sights of Inverness or to venture further afield. I cannot wait to get back to the Eskdale and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone. Thanks again Kathy!

Emily

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emcm4499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    17
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
35
18
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

We arrived late without reservation, and we were happy that we could get a room in Inverness on such short notice. B&B was our choice, and hotel are expensive anyways... By chance we found the Eskdale, and we go lucky to get a wonderful large room, fully equipped with everything we needed. It was a wonderful stay at the Eskdale that made our visit to Inverness and Loch Ness even more enjoyable than we had expected before. Whenever we go back to Inverness, and I am sure we will, we will always try to get a room in this lovely B&B -- we can only recommend it. A special plus is the parking spot on the back side of the house, so there is no trouble in finding a parking, which could be a pain in the b... However, when we can again, we will not take a chance, but rather book quite in advance. Where else could we stay now that we have found already the alternative to home...

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dirk H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

We have felt so welcomed and owner Kathy cooks an unbelievable Breakfast we were only staying one night but ended up staying three. The rooms are lovely and clean and the guest,lounge and dinning room is very realaxing. Beautiful place thanks for making our holiday special.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RossJenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

Arrived late with decent accommodation options running out. Very glad I found this place. The owner only hag a family room which she really did not want to let to a single. Butvshe felt sorry for me and let me have it.

The room was lovely. The bed and pillows great.

The owner made me porridgefor breakfast which was not on the menu.

It is close to town with a great restaurant on the corner by the river.

A great place to stay.

Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Gongboy53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
122 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

Stayed one night (room 2) in this lovely guest house. Kathy is very welcoming and great to chat to. The room was small, but well laid out (after all, it is a guest house). The bed was reasonably comfortable (double) with good pillows. There is no fridge or A/C but the window opens (you definitely need to close it at night as there is a lot of road noise). There are 3 off street car spaces, be careful if you have a large car and the other spaces are used). The guest house is waking distance to the CBD and lots of places to eat for dinner. Breakfast was included and very nice. If paying by credit card, be aware there is a GBP5.00 surcharge. Would stay here again.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank caggsMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

I stayed here recently with my boyfriend. the guest house is lovley and so r the bedroom is like being at home. The owner kathy was very helpful and friendly and let us change our breakfast a few times. would definitly stay here agian. very good location.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 491Cheryl_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

Booked colleague here for immediate 2-night booking. Second afternoon his colleague received call his Mother had had a Stroke where they had to immediately return home. Question was obviously therefore (politely) asked for any(?)/possible return credit for second night, but manner in which this was jumped upon was 'thoroughly un-business-like' and heading towards nasty. 'Nothing' was to be returned even under circumstances concerned. The money was of no great issue, but the 'very disappointing' attitude towards a/this credit enquiry does most-certainly require more work.

Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buttons66, Owner at Eskdale Guest House, responded to this review, 20 July 2013
Hi Susan
"I" am very disappointed with the content of your review! However, under normal circumstances a refund would have applied.........but as the room had been occupied ALL DAY by your "colleague" and I was only advised of its cancellation by you over the telephone at 515pm.......therefore the full amount became due...please check the CANCELLATION POLICYon website.
Regards
K Kennedy
Eskdale Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.1 mi away
Tanera Guest House
Tanera Guest House
#39 of 247 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.2 mi away
Corran Guest House
Corran Guest House
#9 of 247 in Inverness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.0 mi away
Roseneath Guest House
Roseneath Guest House
#36 of 247 in Inverness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Armadale Guest House
Armadale Guest House
#98 of 247 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.0 mi away
Acer Glen B&B
Acer Glen B&B
#52 of 247 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Quaich Bed and Breakfast
The Quaich Bed and Breakfast
#51 of 247 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eskdale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eskdale Guest House

Property: Eskdale Guest House
Address: 41 Greig Street, Inverness IV3 5PX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 247 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eskdale is only 5 minutes walk from city centre; rail and bus station. We also have a private car park and free wi-fi. There are many cafe and restaurants nearby. All rooms are en-suite and 1 with private facilities. Eskdale Guest house is 4 star with visit scotland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Eskdale Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eskdale Guest House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing