We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings”

Heathmount Hotel & Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Heathmount Hotel & Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #59 of 270 Restaurants in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Scottish
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 7 December 2013

My husband and i decided to give the Heathmount a go as the menu was pretty reasonable and we have been to the bar often.
I opted for the Venison sausages which were enjoyable and a good portion size. My husband however had the fish cakes which he was extremely disappointed with. He thought they tasted funny and he was still very hungry afterwards. The fish cakes are small and they only come with a small salad. Not enough for a man's dinner I would say.
Service was good but the coffee machine is so noisy next to the restaurant, it really is very off putting when sitting chatting. Sorry guys not our best lunch out.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Marion R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heath99, General Manager at Heathmount Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear Guest,

It is disappointing to hear that certain elements did not meet with your expectations. Our fishcakes, which have a combined weight of 8oz, are home-made. Our Chefs use smoked haddock, salmon, potato, chillies, fish sauce and coriander when making them. The coriander is not listed on the menu and is most likely to be the 'funny taste' which you mention. I would like to say that it is quite unfair of you to post this review when you did not mention to a staff member at the time. We would have welcomed the opportunity to provide an explanation or an alternative dish to rectify the situation. Now all that we have is a mediocre restaurant review on our page. Which I'm pleased to say is the first since January.

The Illy coffee which we serve is best ground to order, for the benefit of the crema and aromas. Very sorry if the noise from the machine disturbed you during which I'm sure was a brief spell of use.

Sincerely,


Jonny Ross.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

139 - 143 of 187 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2013

We (4 of us) were in Inverness for 2 nights, and chose to eat at The Heathmount Hotel the first night, after checking the menu and the prices against another venue. So glad we ate there.Service was efficient, and the waiters/waitresses were pleasant and all questions and requests were met with a happy face.The food was a delight.so tasty and we didn't leave like we could have eaten more. We enjoyed it that much , we went there again the next evening.The restaurant was particularly busy the second evening, but no wonder, when it is such a great place . Thankyou to Jonny, Lauren & Kate who looked after us so well.

Thank mrsed2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heath99, General Manager at Heathmount Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Dear Guests,

We were delighted to see you all again on the second night. Very happy that we could still accommodate you despite the high volume of trade, which is pretty common for the weekend. Hopefully you will return soon as we now have a new menu to choose from.

Sincerely,


Jonny Ross.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

We had a recent stay in the family room with our 3 kids. We usually opt for the larger hotels but wanted to try something different and we're delighted we did. The room is fantastic with more than enough room for us all and the little touches such as bottled water and tea cakes makes a difference too. A beautiful bathroom with the all important power shower (a proper one at that). The staff are exceptional and a real asset to the hotel. They couldn't have been more pleasant and made us all feel very welcome. The restaurant was exceptionally busy (Friday night) so I would book in advance. Don't bother looking around for somewhere to eat as the food here is of a very high quality (even impressed our fussy children). The only gripe would be that we did wait a while for our dishes to be cleared and to order more drinks but the very pleasant Manager did come over and apologise and offered to bring our drinks up to our room. Breakfast was absolutely first class and possibly one of the best I've ever experienced, and that includes some of the top hotels! We will be booking a return very soon and would urge others to try this for a change from the chains, you will not be disappointed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Finmac02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heath99, General Manager at Heathmount Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting. It’s always a pleasure to have such well behaved children in our restaurant. It would seem that they were so quiet at the table that we forgot about you all sitting in the corner! All in all it’s a glowing report you have given us. Thanks again. We hope to see you all again at the Heathmount soon.

Sincerely,

Jonny Ross.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I was with 3 other family members staying at a nearby B & B. We checked out both pubs in the street and decided on this one. What an excellent choice! It was a very busy Saturday night and restaurant was packed but were fortunate enough to be found a table. There were enough items on the menu for varied palettes. I chose the chicken with haggis, vegetables & whisky sauce. Food was well presented, cooked to perfection (so much so we returned next evening & I chose same meal), the service was very efficient considering it was very busy and the staff were knowledgeable and very pleasant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Saurus_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heath99, General Manager at Heathmount Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking the time to review your meals with us at the Heathmount. Our location is really quite handy for the numerous B&Bs in the Crown area. Please choose something else next time you come as I’m sure that you will enjoy it as much as you did the Chicken!

Best regards,

Jonny Ross.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We were a party of 6. A great success. Everyone including guests commented on the relaxed atmosphere, excellent food and friendly, attentive staff. Nicely stocked bar. We will be back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heath99, General Manager at Heathmount Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your kind review. The Heathmount is the prefect place for a business meeting as it offers a meeting room and private dining in addition to the bar areas. Our previous Manager made a fantastic job of stocking our whisky wall with the best of the malts which are local to the Inverness area; such as Tomatin.

Sincerely,

Jonny Ross.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Heathmount Hotel & Restaurant also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Heathmount Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing