We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ashamed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
Ranked #12 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
John O'Groats, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
202 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Ashamed”
Reviewed 20 October 2011

I'm originally from the Highlands so this Hotel is my 'local' IHG Hotel.

But its nothing special. It's a British Holiday Inn Express. I always stay here when staying in Inverness out of loyalty but, honestly, one would be better off in a B&B.

I notice that many other reviewers highlight the environs (Snowgoose, Cinema, just off trunk roads etc) - that's Ok if you want these things but otherwise, if you want a low cost hotel and are not loyal to IHG, try somewhere else.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that doesn't overlook the entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canoepunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gminverness, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Inverness, responded to this review, 10 November 2011
I am extremely sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at the hotel, We are glad that you are a loyal IHG member and that you use our hotels frequently and would hope that you would visit us again sometime soon
KInd Regards
Cathy Macleod
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    385
    144
    34
    8
See reviews for
202
308
34
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

Excellent location next to main routes with easy free car park.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QDaveGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
176 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

We have stayed on many occasions at the Holiday Inn Express here in Inverness and have never been disappointed. The hotel is situated a short distance from the A9 and just off the A96 Aberdeen road. The Inverness Retail Park with its shops and cinema is very close by. The Snow Goose is directly opposite the hotel and very handy for a pleasant evening meal and a relaxing drink. The hotel follows the standard formula for the Holiday Inn Express brand and is very clean and comfortable throughout. We have always found the hotel staff to be very friendly and helpful. There is complimentary wireless internet access available in the hotel lounge and breakfast area although chargeable in hotel rooms. We have always found the hotel an ideal stopping off point when travelling around this part of Scotland and will no doubt return to the hotel in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank legend14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gminverness, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Inverness, responded to this review, 14 October 2011
So glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us again. Thank you for you positive comments which I will pass onto the rest of the team
Kind Regards
Cathy Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Stayed here at the Holiday Inn Inverness at the end of September while travelling up to Wick on business.

The hotel is outside the city centre but a short taxi ride would get you there. The pub next door sold lovely food and was an added bonus.

Behind the hotel is a shopping complex and cinema which is pretty handy.

Overall a nice hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManteoNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, UK
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
205 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

The hotel is well located, a few minutes drive from the city centre, with ample free parking. There is a pub next door and a supermarket, retail park and cinema not too far away!

The rooms are very standard, breakfast included but it was a bit of a scrum to get sorted and find a table. Opted to take the tray back to the room, not sure if this is allowed, but what can you do if you can't find a table?

Otherwise, staff were friendly and it's worth staying here if you find a good rate!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

I'm quite fond of Holiday Inn Express hotels, especially when travelling with my wife and kids, as they usually have rooms that can accommodate the four of us, and are quite children friendly. However, in the UK almost all the hotels I've been to are extremely similar (Birmingham NEC, Milton Keynes, Inverness...). Not that this is bad per se, but they all have the same poor breakfast selection!

On the other hand, the staff at the HIE Inverness is very nice, there's complimentary WiFi in the lobby, as well as a microwave oven; and although it's out of town, it's located near a retail park with restaurants and a big supermarket that's open 24 hours a day. So it's not a bad option for a short stay near Inverness.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank josmon10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint-Nom-la-Breteche, France
Level 6 Contributor
669 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 321 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

This hotel is so convenient as a stopping off place en route to the North West of Scotland from the North East of Scotland avoiding the necessity of going into the centre of Inverness. We have stayed here many times and it is ok to arrive very late ,and breakfast is served very early so you can make an early start in the morning. The staff are very friendly and helpful, it is quiet, clean, and comfortable and breakfast is good-what more can you say?

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JANDDBritinParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gminverness, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Inverness, responded to this review, 16 September 2011
Thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Express Inverness, It is always nice for the staff and management to know that we are delivering the service that we pride ourselves in and that our guests are leaving happy
We hope to welcome you back again soon
Kind Regards
Cathy Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
1.7 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Inverness
Jurys Inn Inverness
#20 of 34 in Inverness
96 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#9 of 34 in Inverness
1,706 reviews
1.7 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
1.5 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#18 of 34 in Inverness
1,816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Inverness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Inverness

Property: Holiday Inn Express Inverness
Address: Stoneyfield, Inverness IV2 7PA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Inverness
#15 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Inverness 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm welcome at the comfortable Holiday Inn Express Inverness hotel, 6 miles from Inverness Airport and 1 mile from Inverness city centre. Green surroundings make the modern Holiday Inn Express Inverness a pleasant base for your trip. Relax with homely touches such as free wireless Internet. We're 1 mile from Inverness city centre and close to the A96, with ample complimentary parking. It's a short taxi or bus ride from Inverness Airport to the hotel and you can reach Stirling and Perth via the nearby A9. Invite up to 30 people to seminars in Holiday Inn Express Inverness' meeting room, which overlooks the countryside. Delegates can relax in the breakout space and enjoy a business lunch prepared by our friendly staff. Visit companies in the Inverness Business and Retail Park next door. Enjoy your own snacks in our sociable Great Room and choose from the daily complimentary breakfast buffet which features a continental selection and hot items. Wi-Fi is free for guests who book directly with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Inverness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Inverness Hotel Inverness
Holiday Inn Inverness
Holiday Inn Express Inverness Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing