We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good base camp”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
Ranked #12 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A good base camp”
Reviewed 17 July 2012

This hotel has a very modern feel about it. A clean reception with a open plan bar and dinning room.

The carpets in the rooms look like they are a little dated however the rest of the decor is of a good clean standard. The only main gripe is the TV. it's an old style tv that has a loud buzzing noise when it's switched on.

Breakfast is reasonable but not the best. No bacon is served (what's breakfast with out bacon??) scrambeled egg is very runny which makes me think it is powdered egg instead of fresh.

Bar prices for beer is reasonable, however £4+ for a single spirit... Stick with the ale!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Inverness, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to send in a review about your recent stay and I hope that you will come and visit us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    378
    141
    34
    8
See reviews for
196
304
34
153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

My fourth stay here - each time faultless. The 'Snow Goose' pub next door is a real bonus!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colfrankland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Inverness, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Glad that we have continued to meet your expectations at the hotel and hope you see you again soon

Kind Regards
Cathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
662 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Just out of town (approx 2 miles or 7 pounds for taxi). Staff friendly and room clean. Large breakfast and dining room

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stumpy12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Inverness, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Thank you for your review and so glad that yuo enjoyed your stay with us

Kind Regards
Cathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Our family made a last minute trip to Loch Ness so our usual preference for a B & B or family cottage accommodation wasn't an option, but we were pleasantly surprised by how clean and comfortable the Holiday Inn was. The front desk staff were warm and friendly and our family room was ready with extra beds made and enough towels for all. The pub across the parking lot was convenient for a better-than-average meal and the location was perfect for exploring Loch Ness. Breakfast was fine, though crowded, but the staff kept hot food coming quickly. We would gladly stay again!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RaisingGlobalKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Inverness, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
So happy that your unexpected trip turned out to be a very good one and that the hotel was a welcome suprise for you and your family. I hope that you will visit us again soon

kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Stayed 1 night at holiday Inn Express, but have stayed here on numerous locations when visiting Inverness. Location is convenient and plenty of parking with security lighting.
Have always found hotel staff to be extremely firndley and helpful, as well as efficient. I would always choose this hotel as my 1st choice when visiting Inverness as I have always found the rooms to be spotlessly clean. All facilities required are in room, but you do have to pay for Wifi access in room - this is free in lounge. Plent of tea/coffee in room - but no problem should you require additional supplies.
Plenty of choice at breakfast - maybe some bacon as choice for hot meal would be nice - but sausages, scrambled eggs and beans are available.
I have stayed at a number of Holiday Inn Express hotels - all are good but this one is easily the best.
One point to note - you will be very lucky to book HIE Inverness at a very low rate - Inverness hotels are always very busy so expect to pay more for Holiday Inn Express Inverness compared with other areas in UK - this also goes for other budget hotels - but advantage of Holiday Inn Express is that breakfast is included in price.
Also if you are travelling to Inverness try to book accommodation in advance - it can be very busy, especially in summer months

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JSC1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Inverness, responded to this review, 26 June 2012
So glad that you have enjoyed your stays at our hotel and your comments have been passed onto all the team. It always lifts the moral of the team in a busy time especially when guests let us know that we are still doing it right so thatnk you very much for taking the time to post such a positive and uplifting review. Sadly we have no plans to include Bacon in our breakfast choice but hope that you will continue to enjoy breakfast with us and that your stays at Inverness will continue to be so good
Regards
Cathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
759 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Helpful and friendly staff. Rooms clean and comfortable - exactly what you would expect from this chain. Breakfast fine. Average wifi in public areas (but free!).

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Inverness, responded to this review, 26 June 2012
Thank you for your review and your positive comments. we hope to welcome you back soon
regards
Cathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Lovely clean, quiet hotel with very well appointed rooms. Friendly and efficient receptionist. A very nice place to stay a couple of miles from Inverness centre. Breakfast was a bit hectic with queues converging from two directions to access the same facilities. Topping up of the hot food did not take place until it had all been used leading to a quite long wait for some items. However the food was good when it did arrive. We would stay there again.
The Snow Goose where we had our evening meal was excellent. Very efficient and friendly service and definitely a bid step up from pub grub.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Inverness, responded to this review, 26 June 2012
Really happy that you have enjoyed your stay at the hotel and that everything was to your liking. it really encourages our staff when they see what the customer has to say about their stay. Your comments concerning the Snow Goose have been passed onto Neil the manager at the restaurant. I hope that if you are visiting the highlands in the future that you will stay with us again
Regards
Cathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
1.7 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Inverness
Jurys Inn Inverness
#24 of 34 in Inverness
73 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
1.5 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#18 of 34 in Inverness
1,788 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#9 of 34 in Inverness
1,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Inverness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Inverness

Property: Holiday Inn Express Inverness
Address: Stoneyfield, Inverness IV2 7PA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Inverness
#15 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Inverness 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm welcome at the comfortable Holiday Inn Express Inverness hotel, 6 miles from Inverness Airport and 1 mile from Inverness city centre. Green surroundings make the modern Holiday Inn Express Inverness a pleasant base for your trip. Relax with homely touches such as free wireless Internet. We're 1 mile from Inverness city centre and close to the A96, with ample complimentary parking. It's a short taxi or bus ride from Inverness Airport to the hotel and you can reach Stirling and Perth via the nearby A9. Invite up to 30 people to seminars in Holiday Inn Express Inverness' meeting room, which overlooks the countryside. Delegates can relax in the breakout space and enjoy a business lunch prepared by our friendly staff. Visit companies in the Inverness Business and Retail Park next door. Enjoy your own snacks in our sociable Great Room and choose from the daily complimentary breakfast buffet which features a continental selection and hot items. Wi-Fi is free for guests who book directly with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, IHG, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Inverness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Inverness Hotel Inverness
Holiday Inn Inverness
Holiday Inn Express Inverness Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing