We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the hotels great - the pricing varys from good to ridiculous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
Ranked #12 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Orphir, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“the hotels great - the pricing varys from good to ridiculous”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

sadly its a common problem epecially in inverness but on a good date this hotel offers great value for a great stay but if theres anything on in town the price rockets ..... to be brutal i canot see how £130+ (its £45 other times) can be justified thats treating regulars with contempt - sheer greed in my opinion! i just priced this hotel for another stay and will not pay those prices and have booked elewhere ..... its not THAT good! oh and while i'm on a moan ..... cheap sausages and scrambed egg may legally be justified as a cooked breakfast ..... but wheres the bacon? come on HIE thats pushing it

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scroot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Inverness, responded to this review, 13 January 2013
Thank you for your recent review concerning your recent stay at the hotel. As with all hotels and the hospitality business in general I am sure you can understand that our pricing needs to reflect what is happening in the area etc.
Our breakfast within the hotel unlike some other hotels is complimentary and what we believe to be a good product which is used in all our hotels, we do not plan to have bacon on our menu for the forseeable future but would like to assure you that we are continually improving our products and service within our company
I do hope that you will visit our hotel again and wish you all the very best for 2013
Kind Regards
Cathy Macleod
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    370
    138
    33
    7
See reviews for
188
297
33
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

Arrived in the early evening 2nd January after a day exploring the local area for a 2 day stay. We were greeted by a friendly receptionist who checked us in very quickly.

We made our way to our room. As with all Holiday Inn Expresses they are rather generic. The only real let down in the rooms were the TV, an old 14 inch Cathode Ray Tube style that cut a third of the widescreen picture feed, and there was no blue night lights for the bathroom as found in many other Expresses.

There is a bar that is open till very late with reasonable prices. There is also a selection of snacks available at unreasonable prices.

Breakfast is included in the price and is a standard Continental Style with added hot items of Sausage, Beans and Scrambled Egg. Breakfast is busy around 9am and on our first morning there was a lack of sausages and there seemed to be no staff available. On the second morning it was even busier but there was visibly more staff available and plenty of food.

On the whole a good hotel that holds up the standards of Holiday Inn Express extremely well.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fatmanpauluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Inverness, responded to this review, 7 January 2013
Thank you for your review and glad that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. Thankfully our televisions will be getting updated in 2013 and this I am sure will be gladly recieved by all the guests who stay with us.
As we are always looking to our guests comments to help us improve our service we appreciate and have taken this to the team to see how we can improve our guest experience more
I hope that you will visit us again and happy new year to you and all your friends and family
Kind Regards
Cathy Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

We stayed here on Christmas night and found the hotel bright and clean and received a friendly welcome on arrival. The room was spacious and clean and the quiteness through the night pleased us very much. Breakfast was a simple buffet which included scramble egg, sausages and beans plus the usual cereals, bread which could be toasted and rolls. The usual juices and tea and coffee were also there. A very clean and pleasong stay

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Inverness, responded to this review, 29 December 2012
So glad that you enjoyed your Christmas break with us and I hope that you will visit us again in 2013
All the best in the new year to you and your family
Kind Regards
Cathy Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2012

Myself and wife spent an evening in the Holiday Inn 2 weeks ago and must compliment them on a splendid, affordable place for a short visit. The room was adequate with two single beds, coffee making facilities, a television with limited channels and plenty storage space. The bathroom was very nicely situated with an excellent power shower. Though there was no place for an evening meal, there was an excellent pub/restaurant within easy walking distance and the menu was varied and interesting. The hotel provided a continental breakfast from 7.30 am and we found this to be of a good standard with a varied selection to suit all tastes. All in all, it was an enjoyable experience and I would reccommend this establishment for anyone on a short visit to the Inverness area.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Inverness, responded to this review, 28 December 2012
Thank you for you nice review and thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and other travellers and hope you will visit again in 2013
I wish you all the best for 2013
Kind Regards
Cathy Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, Scotland
Level Contributor
88 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2012

We decided on a overnight stop whilst visiting relations with the Christmas pressies. Very clean and comfortable, and a warm welcome at reception. Breakfast with hot and cold choices was excellent. You do need a car when staying here, as the hotel is situated on the outskirts of the city.
Supermarket and other large retail outlets situated within walking distance.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Finmack_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Inverness, responded to this review, 28 December 2012
Glad you enjoyed your recent stay with us and I hope you had a good Christmas with all your family and that you may visit us again in 2013
Kind regards
Cathy Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2012

A very clean motel for a night or 2's stay, although don't expect cheapness as a round of basic drinks, wine, vodka/coke, gin/tonic and bacardi/coke was almost £25.00!!!
Comfy bed, great shower etc, however the worst point is the poorly trained receptionist, named Moira, who after taking our details proceeded to read them back to us aloud for everyone to hear. I didn't find the need for this and I found this quite helpful for any potential identity thief wishing to use our details. After I had made a comment regarding this she read aloud our friends details also.
My feeling on this matter is that any person who gives sensitive information such as addresses etc. should have these details kept as they should be, private. A major downside here and perhaps Holiday Inn should review their staff training regarding identities of their patrons and also customer relations as Moira's apparent lack of common sense and regret of this matter has made me not endorse this particular Holiday Inn and would not stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronnie1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Inverness, responded to this review, 29 December 2012
Hello Ronnie

thank you for your review concerning your recent stay at the hotel, the member of staff in question has been spoken to concerning the lack of confidentiality and procedure on the evening of your check in

I have sent you a private message in relation to this matter and hope that you will visit us again in the future

Kind Regards
Cathy Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2012

This is a pretty standard Holiday Inn Express; it's located next to a big shopping mall on the edge of town - so as stated elsewhere it can be a pain to get around if you don't have a car.

The rooms seem to be the very standard design - the slightly odd arrangement in the bathroom where one door functions as a separate bathroom and toilet door. The room was all fine - the bed was comfortable. Everything was perfectly clean. The heating in the room seemed a little hit and miss - I was only able have the room too cold or too hot - the system seemed to be capable of being 'on' or 'off' no matter how I messed with the controls - but maybe that's just me.

The 'premium' internet service was fairly slow - and the cost is ridiculously expensive at more that £12 a night. (When will UK hotels realise that ripping people off is never really great for customer loyalty...).

The breakfast is poor in my opinion; the orange juice tasted watery & nasty - probably some sort of reconstituted powder and the yoghurts tasted very cheap. It is free I suppose - but even then.

All of the staff that I spoke to were both friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jasecl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Inverness, responded to this review, 28 December 2012
Thank you for your review and I am glad that you found our hotel to be what you expected
I do hope that you will visit us again in 2013
Kind Regards
Cathy Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
1.7 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Inverness
Jurys Inn Inverness
#27 of 34 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
1.5 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#16 of 34 in Inverness
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,740 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#8 of 34 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Inverness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Inverness

Property: Holiday Inn Express Inverness
Address: Stoneyfield, Inverness IV2 7PA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Inverness
#15 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Inverness 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm welcome at the comfortable Holiday Inn Express Inverness hotel, 6 miles from Inverness Airport and 1 mile from Inverness city centre. Green surroundings make the modern Holiday Inn Express Inverness a pleasant base for your trip. Relax with homely touches such as free wireless Internet. We're 1 mile from Inverness city centre and close to the A96, with ample complimentary parking. It's a short taxi or bus ride from Inverness Airport to the hotel and you can reach Stirling and Perth via the nearby A9. Invite up to 30 people to seminars in Holiday Inn Express Inverness' meeting room, which overlooks the countryside. Delegates can relax in the breakout space and enjoy a business lunch prepared by our friendly staff. Visit companies in the Inverness Business and Retail Park next door. Enjoy your own snacks in our sociable Great Room and choose from the daily complimentary breakfast buffet which features a continental selection and hot items. Wi-Fi is free for guests who book directly with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Ebookers, Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Inverness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Inverness Hotel Inverness
Holiday Inn Inverness
Holiday Inn Express Inverness Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing