We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
Ranked #12 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Good for a stopover”
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Stayed one night in April without pre-booking. We were given a nice room which was quiet and comfortable and of the standard typical of this chain. No real facilities for dining but there is a Harvester pub a few yards away where we ate which was good value for money. Breakfast was a help yourself buffet but steer clear of the hot food (scrambled eggs and sausages) I wish I had, poor quality and tasteless, the rest was fine.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moray1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Inverness, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Thank you for your review concerning your stay in April. We are always looking at ways in which to improve our products and services and will certainly pass on your comments to the relevant persons
I hope that you will consider our hotel when visiting the beautiful highlands again
Kind Regards
Cathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    391
    147
    35
    8
See reviews for
207
318
35
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013 via mobile

Pretty standard as a holiday inn express. Very clean and comfortable. We stayed on two separate evenings on a business trip. Our Friday evening welcome was a little brusque but otherwise a very good couple if stays. The fabulous Snow Goose bar and restaurant was across the car park and was brilliant. The service and menus were of a very high quality and not the usual brewers fayre type of place. Hotel is a wee bit away from the city centre along a busy dual carriageway but for a business trip it was a great option. Also only 5 miles from the airport.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ewen77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Inverness, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Thank you for you review and for taking the time to let us know how you enjoyed your stay in Inverness
I hope that you will stay with us again while on business or pleasure
Regards
Cathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bingley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013 via mobile

Room very clean and functional. Staff were helpful and friendly. Pretty much what you would expect from a HI Express. Good basic accommodation without the frills but more than adequate for overnight business trips.

Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Cath D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Inverness, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property and we are glad that you found your stay to be enjoyable
Regards
Cathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013 via mobile

As always very clean,very friendly staff (especially with our energetic two boys!), ample on site free parking, everything you would expect, this is our fifth time in this particular Holiday Inn whilst travelling north and we'll definitely be back!

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank BigDaddyWebb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Inverness, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Delighted that you choose to stay at our hotel and look forward to welcoming you on your next visit
Regards
Cathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santarem, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Stayed for one night at the Holiday Inn Express and, as always, Holiday Inn excellence. The room was huge and very confortable. The staff was impecable. Great breakfeast. The only problem is that you need to have a car, because it is a little bit far from the centre of Inverness. But since we had one, no problem, and it is a good base to explore the region. It is near the retail park, so you'll have access to shops and cafés.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fadadolar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Inverness, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Thank you for your review and we are delighted that you had a very good nights sleep
I hope you will visit again soon
Kind Regards
Cathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We spent three nights at this HI Express over Easter.... We find the accommodation perfect for our thrice yearly visits. Staff pleasant, rooms clean, beds comfortable, towels better than some other establishments (I do like white soft towels) at least here they were almost white! Breakfast sufficient : fresh grapefruit setgments, yogurts, fresh fruit, variety of cerials; morning rolls, bread/toast etc. Fruit juices, teas and coffee. Hot food consists only of scrambled egg, sausage and beans. Taken in a pleasant dining room.

Only negatives:
1) we initially were given a room with an adjoining door. At the same time as we arrived in our room - so did our neighbours..young ladies - rather loud... We could hear them laughing/speaking/ doors opening - coathangers clashing around etc. We asked to me moved and there was no problem with this...We were given a nice quite room on the second floor. ~We have staid in other like HIExp Hotels wirth adjoining doors (Bath in Somerset recently) heard very little neighbourly noise there. So be aware of rooms with adjoining doors at this hotel.
2) TV's in bedrooms small and old fashioned (not a problem for us).

As someone has already mentioned - this hotel can be more expensive than other similar establishments..however we always enjoy our stay and car parking is free.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room...without an adjoining door - suggest you mention this on arrival.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruthruth_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Inverness, responded to this review, 14 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about the good and not so good points concerning your stay. I am glad that the staff dealt with your room change quickly.
The hotel is due for a refurbishment soon and we do listen to our guests concerning how to improve their experience
I hope that you will visit us again soon
Kind Regards
Cathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We have stayed at the Holiday Inn Express Inverness before, and it was the same, good old Holiday Inn Express experience.

The room was well maintained and clean and bed comfortable. Breakfast included some hot food, which is great.

The pub next to the hotel have a good selection of food and drinks at very reasonable prices.

We will definitely stay here when we visit Inverness in future.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mw_dewit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Inverness, responded to this review, 14 April 2013
Thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon

Regards
Cathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
1.7 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Inverness
Jurys Inn Inverness
#19 of 34 in Inverness
117 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#9 of 34 in Inverness
1,731 reviews
1.7 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
1.6 mi away
pentahotel Inverness
pentahotel Inverness
#21 of 34 in Inverness
1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Inverness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Inverness

Property: Holiday Inn Express Inverness
Address: Stoneyfield, Inverness IV2 7PA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Inverness
#15 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Inverness 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm welcome at the comfortable Holiday Inn Express Inverness hotel, 6 miles from Inverness Airport and 1 mile from Inverness city centre. Green surroundings make the modern Holiday Inn Express Inverness a pleasant base for your trip. Relax with homely touches such as free wireless Internet. We're 1 mile from Inverness city centre and close to the A96, with ample complimentary parking. It's a short taxi or bus ride from Inverness Airport to the hotel and you can reach Stirling and Perth via the nearby A9. Invite up to 30 people to seminars in Holiday Inn Express Inverness' meeting room, which overlooks the countryside. Delegates can relax in the breakout space and enjoy a business lunch prepared by our friendly staff. Visit companies in the Inverness Business and Retail Park next door. Enjoy your own snacks in our sociable Great Room and choose from the daily complimentary breakfast buffet which features a continental selection and hot items. Wi-Fi is free for guests who book directly with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Inverness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Inverness Hotel Inverness
Holiday Inn Inverness
Holiday Inn Express Inverness Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing