We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love it” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Inverness

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
Ranked #12 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Love it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

It is a budget hotel so do not expect any frills.

It is located little away from the city center, but great location. There is a huge Tesco across the road, so you can go and shop for even night clothes there. There is a very nice, quaint English pub in the hotel compound, which is really impressive.

Loved staying here. would visit again for sure.

Room Tip: not many floors (2 or 3 storied), so try to book the one on highest floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Juhi_KS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Inverness, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Delighted you enjoyed your recent stay with us and hope that you will visit again.
We would like to wish you a happy and prosperous 2014
Kind Regards
Cathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    365
    137
    33
    7
See reviews for
183
295
33
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort William, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

Decided to stay her after driving back from Aberdeen on route to fort William.
Checked
In swiftly, staff was great at the reception and couldn't do enough.
Room was very nice. No complaints.
Great for a night stop, would stay again.
Many thanks.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Jamesstu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Inverness, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon
Kind regards
Cathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

As a platinum member of the priority club I have stayed in many IHG properties and found them to be mainly of an excellent standard.#
I did find the hotel clean and tidy with a good sized room and with the room just finished being renovated it had a good shower above the bath and a new television.
I found the reception staff on check in very helpful but on check out I got the couldn't care less attitude.
Breakfast, although I was late down the selection was limited with no fruit in the bowls the croissants that were in there looked like they had been there all week. So I stuck to toast.
The main thing I was not happy with was firstly I got up early to do some work and the internet that was advertised as available in your room cut off every two minutes and when I was washing and shaving again in the morning the hot water didn't last long before running dry. So I had to wash and shave in cold water.
When I reported it to the reception desk on check out I got a half hearted apology and told why didn't I report it and she would of given me a new room. It was said as though it was my fault. How could I get a new room when the main problem occurred in the morning? The receptionist said the internet did not work because other people in the hotel were on and the system was overloaded - Was this also the case with the hot water?
Would I stay there again, probably not - I found the staff a non caring and did not appear to worry that I will not come back

Room Tip: Ask for one with Internet that works and hot water that runs
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KenM553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Inverness, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property and I am disappointed to hear that some aspects of your stay were not up to standard. Of course it is easier for our team to deal with issues that guests have experienced when they happen rather than afterwards when they are unable to make your experience better. we do understand that it is not always easy for guests to let us know of issues at the time and I would like to assure you that we do care about our guests and would hope that you would consider staying with us again in the future.
Kind Regards
Cathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Skye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

I stayed at this hotel on my way home to the Isle of Skye from a long trip down south. Knowing it is close to the main road out of the city to a large retail park, the airport and Elgin/Aberdeen, I put a polite request on my online booking for a quiet room away from traffic noise. That's normally enough at most IHG hotels. Not this one - I was allocated probably the closest room to the road! On asking a rather unhelpful receptionist if I could move, I was told all rooms were allocated but was reluctantly offered a twin room opposite the lift, but as I could tell that this was really too much trouble, I couldn't be bothered.
On leaving in the morning, I was advised that I should have rung on the morning of my arrival to request a quiet room. So what's the point of having a special request box on the booking form?? It's not always convenient to ring up. If other hotels can manage it, why not here?
Apart from that, the room was clean and comfortable with a decent mattress. Just a shame the traffic noise prevented me from making the most of it. No sleep....if this was a Premier Inn I would have got my money back.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the retail park are quieter but you try requesting one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rupert_allison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Inverness, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thank you for your comments concerning your recent stay at our hotel and I am extremely sorry that our staff were unable to allocate you to a different room on the evening of your stay. As our hotel is away from the main A96 we did not realise that this was an issue but we will most certainly keep this in mind when allocating rooms in the future. Thank you again and I hope that you will visit us again
Kind Regards
Cathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
344 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

Just like other Holiday Inns, this one at Inverness also is a basic, to-the-point accommodation, with all required facilities, and no fancy stuff. We were on a drive holiday through Scotland, and stayed here for a night. Check-in etc was smooth, beds comfortable, room and bathroom neat. The breakfast was typical holiday-inn style -- though I found it cold and crowded. Some items finished mid-way and took a long time to replace. Though the spread was decent, some amount of speed in refilling would have helped the matters. Other than that, hotel offers decent parking (really helpful if you are driving on your own), and is decently located. We had to drive for about 10 minutes to reach to main town area near the river and bars. Would I recommend -- Yes, if you are in Inverness for a short time (1-2 days) and do not plan to spend much time in hotel anyway. No--if your idea of holiday is to enjoy the hotel facilities and surroundings.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank indiavoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug463, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Inverness, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We do advise guests what times are likely to be busiest at breakfast and also open up our meeting room for extra space for breakfast when it is not in use. It is only through feedback such as this that we are able to improve our service. We hope to welcome you to the highlands again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow Scotland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

I stay at this hotel regularly and it provides adequate accommodation with easy parking and a good location if you have a car.
On this visit however, I notice a few cost-cutting signs that causes me to drop it to 3 stars, and point out a few shortcomings.
Firstly breakfast. A decent free breakfast is one of the features of Holiday Inn Express, but I notice a more restricted choice than my last visit. No more orange segments, restricted everything although I did notice scrambled egg and baked beans. Thanks a lot, can we have more fruit and extras please. Also, they have taken away the trays you use to carry your breakfast to your table. I mean really, how mean can you get? So now you have to trek back and forward with your various cups, glasses and plates. I hope the trays found a good home, probably the nearest bin!
Secondly, the free internet. It's terribly slow, I mean really slow. If you are going to provide free WIFI make is usable please, and do not try to force guests to pay for the faster speeds that are available at a cost.
Small details spoiling a good budget choice in Inverness.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank ScotsRoad555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug463, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Inverness, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Thank you for your review. It is only from feedback from our guests that we are able to improve our service. All comments are passed to both the team & senior management. The removal of the trays is something that is currently being trialled across several of our properties. We have found that it does cut down waiting times, however your comments have been noted. Thank you again for taking the time out of your day to write the review & we hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ullapool
Level Contributor
128 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights last weekend for Xmas shopping trip in Inverness. The rooms are spotlessly clean as is the Bathroom which is compact but adequate. Good quality picture on the 32" LG TV. Breakfast was good with a wide choice of cereals, toast and a hot selection of sausages, scrambled eggs and beans.
Walked across to the Snow Goose for an evening meal.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug463, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Inverness, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thank you for taking time to write your review. We're all really pleased you enjoyed your stay & look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
1.7 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#19 of 34 in Inverness
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,714 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#8 of 34 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,607 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Inverness
Jurys Inn Inverness
#16 of 34 in Inverness
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Inverness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Inverness

Property: Holiday Inn Express Inverness
Address: Stoneyfield, Inverness IV2 7PA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Inverness
#15 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Inverness 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm welcome at the comfortable Holiday Inn Express Inverness hotel, 6 miles from Inverness Airport and 1 mile from Inverness city centre. Green surroundings make the modern Holiday Inn Express Inverness a pleasant base for your trip. Relax with homely touches such as free wireless Internet. We're 1 mile from Inverness city centre and close to the A96, with ample complimentary parking. It's a short taxi or bus ride from Inverness Airport to the hotel and you can reach Stirling and Perth via the nearby A9. Invite up to 30 people to seminars in Holiday Inn Express Inverness' meeting room, which overlooks the countryside. Delegates can relax in the breakout space and enjoy a business lunch prepared by our friendly staff. Visit companies in the Inverness Business and Retail Park next door. Enjoy your own snacks in our sociable Great Room and choose from the daily complimentary breakfast buffet which features a continental selection and hot items. Wi-Fi is free for guests who book directly with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, IHG, Agoda, Hotel.de, Ebookers and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Inverness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Inverness Hotel Inverness
Holiday Inn Inverness
Holiday Inn Express Inverness Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing