We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back to my roots - I'm Scottish!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
Ranked #12 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Back to my roots - I'm Scottish!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2010

Went with my mom. Went twice actually. Once in 2003 and again in 2005. LOVED IT! The most beautiful place I've ever been. Clean, peaceful, good people, (food was scarce and terrible....but everything else was AWESOME!) Some of the kindest people and most extraordinary scenery in the world to me.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank missylue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gminverness, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Inverness, responded to this review, 1 March 2010
Thank you for your comments relating to your visit to the hotel and your homeland of Scotland.
It is always a pleasure to read of positive experiences within Scotland and especially the Highlands.
I hope you will return again in the near future.
Kind regards

Ina Davies, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    370
    138
    33
    7
See reviews for
188
297
33
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2010

We chose this hotel based mainly on price, it seemed a good value.

We weren't disappointed, it was a clean, comfortable hotel and a welcome sight after a long day of driving. Check in was easy and service was good. Our room was clean and had all necessary ammenities.

We experienced only minor problems during our stay. First of all, the hotel proved incredibly difficult to find. Of course, this isn't the hotels fault. I highly recommend printing detailed directions to the hotel, or risk spending hours driving and looking for directions. It's not close to the city centre, but with a car it's not a long drive.

Secondly, my husband found the people in the next room incredibly loud. After trying himself to get them to tone it down, he went to the front desk to complain. Apparently, several other people had complained as well. After my husband complained, they promised to address the situation and it seems they did because the people quieted down.

Breakfast was pretty good, contiental but better than some others I've had.

Overall, I would return.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wtbwordly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gminverness, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Inverness, responded to this review, 1 March 2010
Thank you for taking the time to add your detailed comments.
As part of the programme to rebrand to the Holiday Inn Express brand we have replaced and improved the external signage to assist guests in finding us, so thank you for bringing this to our attention.
I see from your review we were able to help when you reported noise from another room, I am delighted our team were able to rectify this immediately.
Holiday Inn Express always includes breakfast at no extra charge and I’m pleased that you were able to take advantage of this. We look forward to welcoming you back soon, when you’ll be able to enjoy our improved hot breakfast menu.
Kind regards

Ina Davies, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Skye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2009

Arrived late afternoon, after travelling a long distance by car.
Check in procedure was warm and friendly.
Room was clean, BUT the offensive smells from the sink in the bathroom was quite off- putting. My husband and I were just too tired to complain, and at least my husband could wash his hands prior to administering his medication by injection.
However the following evening the sink became completely blocked, and all manner of offensive black, smelly detritus, was visible in the water which had backed up.
We reported this and a member of staff attempted to unblock the sink, to no avail.
We were offered another room, and had to repack our belongings, then unpack again, when we had moved into the other room. Not a pleasurable, thing to have to do at 9.30 at night, but safer than getting stomach bugs or even Swine flu, re- washing hands.
Checking out the next morning, we were not freely offered discount, and were amazed that we had to be assertive and request this. After much discussion we had a reduction, but felt that it was given as token gesture. Not as a matter of principal, or valuing their reputation.
The Manager did say that we could always try the Travel lodge !!!
I wonder whether this was because
a. The Health standards were better or
b. The Express by holiday Inn does not value their reputation.

I suggest that they employ a qualified plumber to inspect and maintain all sinks, and drains etc.
Or even request a visit from the Health and Safety Inspectorate.
We will be back, and expect this serious health hazard to be rectified

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NanandTed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gminverness, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Inverness, responded to this review, 11 December 2009
Dear Mr & Mrs Redhead
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us at Inverness, your feedback helps us to improve.
Our maintenance engineer was able to act quickly in this case and rectify the problem.
On departure we were able to offer a complimentary stay for one night for the inconvenience caused and I hope this was received as a positive response to your comments.
We have regular Health & Safety audits both externally and internally, records are available and I would welcome you to view this information to allow you to feel more confident whilst in our care.
I note from your review your intention to return and recommend us to a friend, please contact me direct to make your next reservation and again I thank you for your time and consideration.
Kind Regards
Ina Davies, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries
Level Contributor
202 reviews
174 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2009

The hotel is located close to the Junction of the A9/A96 and is the ideal base for touring this beautiful part of Scotland. This hotel is also only a few minutes drive from Inverness City centre.
A Vintage Inn is directly opposite the hotel and very convenient for an evening meal.
This hotel is identical to many in the chain and is furnished to a satisfactory standard. Breakfast is Continental style and fully meets our needs.
We have stayed at this hotel on many occasions in the past for both business and leisure and wholeheartedly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank legend14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2009

With the centre of Inverness apparently full at the week-end with various sports events we booked into the HIE knowing that it would be a bit "corporate". However we really did enjoy the stay with the nearby Snowgoose pub / restaurant being a pleasant surprise ( Very busy early evening) with a fine selection of real ales, wines, etc. The hotel rooms are spotless, the staff friendly and helpful. There was a bit of a scrum Sunday morning at breakfast but this was promptly dealt with and additional seating areas opened up. As mentioned in another review there's a large retail park a short stroll down the A96 (10 mins). Want to go into Inverness central - taxi costs just under a fiver (freephone from the hotel) or for the more energetic you could walk it in about 40 mins or take an 11 bus from the shopping mall. Overall we had a nice week-end of it

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
766 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 791 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2009

We needed to find a hotel at late notice and decided to try this as it was marked on our map. Hotel was located close to town and close to a very large shopping centre with eating options. Rooms were standard Express rooms - clean, bright and functional but hotel also had a very roomy bar area next to the breakfast cafe which was pleasant. Staff were courteous and helpful and wifi was an extra but easy to use. I would definately stay again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canberra_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2009

After stopping by at every hotel in Inverness city centre only to be told they were all full up, we rang the Holiday Inn. Thank god they could put us up and gave us a discount as we needed three twin rooms. Husband wanted a better deal but I was relieved someone had rooms. Really pleased with facilities and the shower was very nice. I am very fussy about cleanliness so I was surprised to find everything so spotless in our room. You even get two pillows unlike Travelodge.My only complaint would be about the temperature in the hallways and the room. We found that we had to sleep with the window open or else it was uncomfortable. Breakfast is basic but you are told that you only get continental. Perfectly adequate. Staff were all very nice and efficient. The housekeeping staff were not as one of the reviews had described. Yes, they were foreign, but they understood my English perfectly well.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Our_honest_opinion09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
1.7 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Inverness
Jurys Inn Inverness
#27 of 34 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
1.5 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#16 of 34 in Inverness
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,740 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#8 of 34 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Inverness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Inverness

Property: Holiday Inn Express Inverness
Address: Stoneyfield, Inverness IV2 7PA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Inverness
#15 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Inverness 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm welcome at the comfortable Holiday Inn Express Inverness hotel, 6 miles from Inverness Airport and 1 mile from Inverness city centre. Green surroundings make the modern Holiday Inn Express Inverness a pleasant base for your trip. Relax with homely touches such as free wireless Internet. We're 1 mile from Inverness city centre and close to the A96, with ample complimentary parking. It's a short taxi or bus ride from Inverness Airport to the hotel and you can reach Stirling and Perth via the nearby A9. Invite up to 30 people to seminars in Holiday Inn Express Inverness' meeting room, which overlooks the countryside. Delegates can relax in the breakout space and enjoy a business lunch prepared by our friendly staff. Visit companies in the Inverness Business and Retail Park next door. Enjoy your own snacks in our sociable Great Room and choose from the daily complimentary breakfast buffet which features a continental selection and hot items. Wi-Fi is free for guests who book directly with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Inverness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Inverness Hotel Inverness
Holiday Inn Inverness
Holiday Inn Express Inverness Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing