We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice hotel in a wonderful park”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park
Ranked #9 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“nice hotel in a wonderful park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2009

We stayed 1 night in a junior suite (large sleeping room, little living room, and bathroom); very friendly welcome and good service, food was pretty good. the hotel lies a little outside of inverness (car recommended) in a wonderful garden. we have not seen the garden suite but this might be a romantic alternative to the junior suite. For a stay around inverness / loch ness we would recommend this nice, little hotel for a romatic break.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laska1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    361
    110
    34
    11
    13
See reviews for
122
269
9
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2009

Well, this hotels is briliant hotel we stayed in the jounior suite which had everthing two plasma tv's a big bathroom, wifi the lot and the landscape is just magnificant, breathtaking. with it's new renovation the place is lovely!!!

  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyingeagleScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bexhill uk
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2008

We stayed at the dunain park for 3 nights and we were in the bridal suite which was lovely. The staff and general feel of the hotel make you feel like friends staying in their home. the restaurant is very good but just some minor moans the food seems to generally be overcooked and they need Gordon Ramsey to show them how to make scrambled eggs tried them 3 mornings running yuck ! stick to fried. The wine list is superb and the desserts yummy. We would stay here again and if you have booked you wont be dissapointed

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petertc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2008

Stayed here overnight on July 19. This is a really lovely country house hotel in beautiful gardens. Very comfortable room. Very helpful staff. Excellent dinner in lovely restaurant. Good choice of wine at reasonable cost. Would thoroughly recommend this hotel. However would not pay rack rate of £225-250 pounds a night - we got a good rate for a late booking on the internet.

  • Liked — Lovely room. Excellent food. Beautiful grounds.
  • Disliked — Liked everything.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianliz71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2008

My family (there are four of us, kids 8 and 11) stayed in one of the two Garden Cottages on the hotel grounds. Overall, it was a wonderful experience. The cottage was really an apartment, which very comfortably housed our family. There was an upstairs bedroom that our kids slept in, which overlooked the stunningly beautiful gardens, and a downstairs bedroom with a king bed that had to be one of the most comfortable beds ever. Also downstairs was a dining room, a fully outfitted kitchen, a bathroom, and a living room, which had a brand new flat screen TV/DVD player. In fact, the whole cottage was newly updated. The bathroom plumbing was all new—none of that quaint old plumbing that doesn’t work when you want to take a shower. The views from every window in the light-filled cottage were of the gardens and countryside. The grounds were both manicured and natural, and very spacious.

Breakfasts were very good, served in a series of fancy but nice rooms. We ate dinner in the restaurant two nights. Both dinners were very good, but a little formal for my taste. The sitting rooms in the hotel are comfortable and overlook the grounds of the hotel. There you can get drinks or tea, and there is wireless Internet. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly.

The only drawback to staying at the Dunain Park is that it was a bit inaccessible without a car. It is about 2 miles out of town. We walked along the Caledonian Canal (about 40 minutes) from the hotel to the outskirts of Inverness—a very nice walk—but still had to take a bus to get into the town center. No bus lines go directly to the hotel. Hiring a car would have been best, but I was not comfortable driving on the right side of the road. A taxi to town costs about 5 pounds, and every taxi driver was a good conversationalist. The hotel kindly provided a ride to the airport when we departed, but the thought occurred to me that a complimentary shuttle to town in the mornings and afternoons would have been a nice service for the hotel to offer.

My family (two daughters, 8 and 11) all agreed that the Dunain Park Hotel was the nicest place we stayed at during our three-week holiday in the UK.

  • Liked — Spacious, comfortable accommodations in a beautiful setting
  • Disliked — Transportation to and from location
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank GiveandTake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2008

I just returned from a 5 day trip to Scotland and must admit I have fallen somewhat in love with the country. I dont know what they are putting in the water, but I think they may be the friendliest, kindest people of any place I have visited. I was a little put off at first and thought I was just encountering crazy people, but nope they are all ridiculously helpful, humorous, and nice. None more so than at the Dunain Park Hotel. An utterly charming country house hotel, it is straight out of a Jane Austen novel, which I know is an English reference but you get my drift. My best friend, my sister, and I had quite a spacious suite upon arrival, but when my sister (who is pregnant) asked about the paint smell, (they were painting a door in the hallway) they offered my sister her own room on the second floor at no extra charge. The next day, they offered us up the cottage at the bottom of the garden in case we all wanted to be together, and the option to hang on to the suite as well if we wished. It is remarkable the way the staff goes out of their way to make sure you are comfortable and happy.
For breakfast and dinner, you are assigned your own table in the dining room, and it is all very refined and yes, that word again, utterly charming and delicious. After dinner, we would go to the parlor and have our tea and coffee there, and play games that the hotel provides. Also nice, is to take a wander through the English garden that extends below the hotel.
On the last day there, we took a 3 hour stroll down through the garden and through the most gorgeous countryside to Loch Ness, it is actually only a half hour walk but we just kept going cause it was so stunning. It is a great location/base for exploring Loch Ness and the surrounding sights of the Highlands, and I doubt you can find better in the region. I was a bit worried when booking the hotel, knowing that a country hotel could easily mean musty rooms and run down furniture, but instead was pleased to encounter large bathrooms and the comforts of a modern city hotel, yet with all the atmosphere of the 18th Century house that it is. I found out about the hotel from 1001 Places to See Before You Die, and they were absolutely right in suggesting this place. I hope I am so lucky as to be able to make it back there one day.

  • Liked — The atmosphere
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Valesca77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford on Avon, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2008

We stayed here for 2 nights in early April with the children (aged 8 mths and 2 years) and it was fabulous.
We all had a wonderful welcome upon arrival and our 2 year old was promptly lent one of the hotel bears (Daisy) for her stay. Our suite was light, airy and very comfortable, and the girls had a soft bed and a cot bed (provided). Baby monitors were provided when asked.
Mealtimes were a pleasure. The girls were very well catered for (although you have to bring your own baby food, but it can be heated and warm milk can be supplied) and there were plenty of highchairs. I am vegetarian and although there is no specific meal on the menu, do not be deterred! The chef "loves a challenge" and seemed to be able to conjure up excellent veggie meals. I had 2 meals there and they were both superb (no risotto, hurrah!).
The venison was apparently fantastic according to my husband.
Our overall view of the hotel was that it was very comfortable and we were very well looked after by the friendly staff - nothing seemed too much bother. Special mention must go to Graeme who made our stay a very pleasant one and who helped us choose some fabulous whiskies.

  • Liked — friendly staff, excellent food
  • Disliked — no pool
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank veggiemummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
5.8 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
2.2 mi away
Bunchrew House Hotel
Bunchrew House Hotel
#6 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#8 of 34 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,637 reviews
2.3 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park

Property: Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park
Address: Loch Ness Road | Dunain Park, Inverness IV3 8JN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Inverness
#4 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
#4 Family Hotel in Inverness
#6 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Loch Ness Country House Hotel is set in 6 acres of mature gardens, the perfect destination for a peaceful and relaxing break. Just 2 miles from Inverness city centre and 6 miles from Loch Ness itself, we are the perfect base for exploring the Highlands of Scotland.Dine in style at our AA Rosette awarded restaurant serving Scottish cuisine prepared using the freshest local ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunain Park Inverness
Hotel Dunain Park
Loch Ness Country House Hotel At Dunain Park Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing