We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park
Ranked #11 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Superb Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2009

We stayed overnight at the Dunain Park Hotel during August of 2009. The service was exemplary in every aspect. The rooms were clean and airy, the grounds superb, food excellent - but it was the service and attentiveness that made the difference. From the moment we arrived, nothing was too much trouble.
I would recommend this hotel whole heartedly.
Although we and the Sat Nav did struggle to find it

Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank TimWUK13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    360
    110
    34
    11
    13
See reviews for
122
269
8
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Wales
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2009

Right from the moment we drove up we were impressed. We booked to stay one night meeting my parents for a family dinner .. The room is very pleasantly decorated with lovely views of the grounds. The hotel is 2 miles outside Inverness but worth it as its so quiet and feels like you are staying in a stately home. From the hotel you can take a lovely walk down to the canal and then back for a glass of wine on the deck. Dinner was fantastic with a menu of good locally sourced food. There is no bar but a really lovely lounge to relax in. Breakfast is good too as you get a choice which is cooked to order rather than buffet style which has become so common in the larger chain hotels. Really worth a visit for a short stay - it is quite pricey though!
Also handy for taking a boat tour of near by Loch Ness.
Enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouisNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2009

We stayed at the hotel while visiting Scotland last month. We spent 3 nights at Dunain. It is a truly a hidden treasure. We stayed in the Junior suite Macdui overlooking the garden. It was a fantastic experience. The room was very clean, bathroom spacious with nice toiletries, very friendly and hospitable staff ever so courteous. The location is perfect about 10 minutes from Loch Ness and the city centre as well. They served very nice breakfast in an amazing ambience. You do need a car as it is a bit away from the city but if you are willing to pay for the taxi it's perfect too. It's not too expensive to get into the city centre in a taxi as we did so in the evenings. All in all, an incredible experience and would love to go there again and recommend it to everyone especially honeymoon couples, it's spendid!

  • Liked — The beautiful locationm
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MumbaiSonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2009

This is a really excellent hotel, we stayed in the Honeymoon Room which was lovely, really beautifully decorated, nice and big with views over the gardens. The terrace is lovely for pre dinner drinks and the food was excellent - service first class. All in all a real luxury experience.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajw26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kew, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2009

We returned to this hotel after a gap of several years. The previous owners were truly eccentric: little (him) and large (her) - patron (him) chef (her). But the food was truly superb, brilliant. In those days the hotel was 'quaint', almost a genuine 'old fashioned' country house hotel.

It has changed. The decor even if not to my taste, is very much improved. Gone is the awful shack of a nearly insanitary indoor pool. It tries to bridge between a businessman's enclave and the highland country house: not altogether successfully. But I fear the warmth (in all senses) of the old hotel has gone - it is just more clinical. However the staff are charming and definitely an asset.

The cooking was poor for the price. They tried to make up in presentation what they lacked in culinary ability. It was edible but no longer a reason to visit the hotel. If all you want is half board and are you are not particularly fussed about the food you eat then it is fine, but my request for a 'rare' steak produced no evidence of 'blood' and little evidence of 'pinkness'. The veg was overdone, the pudding glutinous.

Would we return: open verdict. Reasonably good quality rooms and service, but is it worth being that far out of Inverness if you don't have a culinary reason ... probably not.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kewfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2009

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay in one of the garden cottages. The restaurant was superbly decorated with stunning views-the breakfast was brilliant and we ate in for an evening meal which was excellent. The location of the hotel is stunning and the staff were all very friendly and helpful. We would highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 333Julie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2009

I was visiting Inverness for one night only and found the delightful Dunain Park Hotel through the AA website. The prices quoted on the AA site were very high and turned out to be substantially wrong. I was quoted a very sensbile rate for DB and B without having to hassle. The hotel is just outside Inverness to the south west side on the Loch Ness road and is ideally situated for city visitors or Loch Ness regional tourists. The building has great presence and is set in it's own beautiful grounds at the end of a long drive directly off the main road. Decorative order and furnishings are very tasteful and the whole place has just undergone a substantial refurb.

As most will know a lone traveler and diner does not generally have a great deal of status but my welcome from Valerie could not have been kinder or warmer or more Scottish. I was shown to a large and immaculately furnished room overlooking the terraced grounds to the rear.

Dinner was first class and beautifully served, the wine list reasonably priced. In the morning breakfast maintained the high standards and the very reasonable bill contained no surprises.

All in all Dunain Park was a delightful experience at a very reasonable cost. Immaculate and high quality premises and genuinely friendly and professional staff. I understand that the hotel accepts well behaved dogs. I will return with my wife and our Westie. Top marks and not to be missed.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HarryIzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
5.8 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
2.2 mi away
Bunchrew House Hotel
Bunchrew House Hotel
#5 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#8 of 34 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,634 reviews
2.3 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park

Property: Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park
Address: Loch Ness Road | Dunain Park, Inverness IV3 8JN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Inverness
#4 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
#4 Family Hotel in Inverness
#6 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Loch Ness Country House Hotel is set in 6 acres of mature gardens, the perfect destination for a peaceful and relaxing break. Just 2 miles from Inverness city centre and 6 miles from Loch Ness itself, we are the perfect base for exploring the Highlands of Scotland.Dine in style at our AA Rosette awarded restaurant serving Scottish cuisine prepared using the freshest local ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunain Park Inverness
Hotel Dunain Park
Loch Ness Country House Hotel At Dunain Park Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing