We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not quite my cup of tea” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bunchrew House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bunchrew House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“not quite my cup of tea”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2011

I hotel me and my partner decided to book on a "spur of the moment" decision. Being one of the more expensive hotels we've stayed in whilst in scotland, it was a bit of a let down.
Gorgeous scenery and nicly located from Inverness. I found this hotel a little too "poncy" for a young couple.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gailblitzy222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    362
    146
    38
    24
    12
See reviews for
100
332
9
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2011

We didn't stay so please ignore our star rating for rooms. We live locally and enjoyed the Lunch Club special 2 course lunch for an amazing £10. The food is all home-made but first class attention to detail. Taste and freshness truly exquisite and although I found the service a bit stuffy it added to the atmosphere of baronial splendour so what else can 'one' expect? Views of Beauly Firth absolutely gorgeous.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bobandbetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2011

We stayed here for my husband's birthday and were upgraded to the Lovat Suite. It was very romantic with a 4 Poster Bed and open fire. We dined in the restaurant and loved the hotel's food and great service from the staff. I can't recommend this hotel more highly and can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FGSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
102 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2011

I stayed at this hotel for a wedding in January. The bride and groom had hired out the whole hotel for the day and evening so it was a very special feeling. Our twin room wasn't fancy but fitted the bill with a lovely view over the water.

We had lunch in the bar, the sun shinning through the window and onto the snow outside. It looked magical. Staff were friendly, the food for the wedding was lovely and the whole atmosphere was comfortable and relaxing.

I would be afraid to go back and stay when the hotel is open to other guests as i'm not sure the same magical feeling would exist again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonLassy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2011

I booked Bunchrew House Hotel for four nights over New Year 2011 for my husband and two children. It was extremely expensive, but I thought it would live up to my expectations and be a wonderful experience.
The hotel was tired, smaller than it appeared, most of the wines on the wine list were out of stock, the food was below average, the meal was rushed, the management were not on site at all times, the restaurant was freezing and lacking atmosphere.
We left after one night and were refused any refund by the Management and the owner. Unbelievable. I look at it as an expensive lesson - always read the worst reviews first before you decide to stay somewhere new.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank GeorginaTrue-May
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bunchrew-Manager, Manager at Bunchrew House Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2011
I am sorry that you were disappointed and cancelled your booking after only one night. Bunchrew House is a 16 bedroomed Baronial Mansion which has numerous photos on its website demonstrating the location, external appearance and style of rooms. Similar photos appear on Tripadvisor.
I was never aware of your complaint regarding the coolness of the restaurant. We had at the time recommended one of our lounges for the service of the children's early meal as the restaurant does not open until 7pm but you did insist on being served in the restaurant.
There were two wines unavailable out of a wine list of 70, this was due to the adverse weather disruption over the festive holiday period.
When your meal was delivered you were asked if it was satisfactory, you commented it was 'fine'. This is the best opportunity for the Chef to change/adjust/renew a dish and it is unfortunate you did not let us know your feelings at the time.
In the absence of the General Manager the hotel is always under the control of a Duty Manager.
You decided to depart despite the fact that the booking contract specifically stated there could be no refund in the event of late cancellation; we pointed this out not only at the reservation stage but also before you made your desicion to leave.
It is with regret that you did not stay as the rest of our Guests had a wonderul Hogmanay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2011

We arrived at the magical Bunchrew House Hotel on a frosty, wintry day at the end of December. The hotel is in a stunning location, and set amidst vast well-kept grounds. The staff were imediately welcoming, and so attentive. However, it was my 6 year old's comment that really summed up the joy of this hotel when he said "Mummy, I really like this home". Bunnchrew House is not like a hotel, but a country house to which you have had the good fortune to be invited.

The children and I spent time playing games in the cosy lounge, walking around the snowy grounds, and playing on the beach. The food was amazing, the wine was great and the service impeccable. We cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GsyAutumn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masticator
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2010

From the welcome to the departure, we were pampered. Recommend Bunchrew to all who travel to this part of Scotland.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Masticator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
6.2 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
2.2 mi away
Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park
2.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#8 of 34 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,603 reviews
2.8 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bunchrew House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bunchrew House Hotel

Property: Bunchrew House Hotel
Address: Bunchrew, Inverness IV3 8TA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
#4 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
#6 Family Hotel in Inverness
#13 Business Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bunchrew House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 17th century Baronial mansion; lies in 20 acres of lawns and magnificent woodlands; only yards from the sea and 3 miles from Inverness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Bunchrew House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bunchrew Hotel Inverness
Bunchrew House Hotel Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing