We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bunchrew House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 35 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2011

My boyfriend and I came here for a quiet getaway from work, and it was definately worth the journey! We had a warm welcome as soon as we arrived and were shown to our room - Lovat - which was gorgeous and had a very cosy feel about it. The hotel is set right by the water, and you can walk around the lovely gardens and along the pebble beach - all very romantic! We had dinner in the restaurant that evening, and the food is the best we've eaten in a very long time. The food was amazing - beautifully presented, and i had duck for a main course which was melt in the mouth divine! The service was efficient and friendly, and not stuffy or pretentious at all. We spoke to the restaurant manager and found out that it the hotel has recently come under new management - and from what we experienced he is doing a good job! All the staff (they were different at breakfast and for dinner) were very friendly, and happy to provide info for sight seeing and where is good to go. It's a small hotel, and the surroundings and staff make you feel very at home. We would definately come again, and will be recommending it to friends and family!

Room Tip: The Lovat is very romantic!
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunworshipper86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (641)
There are newer reviews for Bunchrew House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

460 - 466 of 641 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2011

We got married at Bunchrew House in June 2010 and had the most wonderful wedding day we could ever have hoped for.
From the first e-mail enquiry and subsequent visit to view Bunchrew, Anne and Deborah were friendly, professional and hugely helpful, nothing is ever too much of a problem for them and no question is too trivial.
Our wedding day was just what we wanted it to be, relaxed and laid back with 45 of our close family and friends around us. We had exclusive use of the hotel for the day and everybody felt so comfortable and so welcome, you really do feel at home when you are at Bunchrew.
We got married outside under the Loving Tree and had a beautiful wedding meal including the most delicious spicy parsnip and apple soup, melt in the mouth beef and a real showstopper of a pudding in the form of choux pastry swans! Again devising our menu was no problem and we were given lots of options and allowed free reign making our own suggestions.
The night before the wedding my mum, my two bridesmaids and I stayed in the Mackay suite and a walk around the gardens, some wine and crisps, a good giggle and a soak in the whirlpool bath was the best way to prepare for what was to come the follwing day! We asked if we could just have a light meal about 7pm, as nerves prohibited a big feast, and Walter came through and had a wee chat with us and then rustled us up a beautiful meal of pasta and chargrilled vegetables with huge shavings of parmesan and freshly made foccacia bread mmmm!
My mum and I visited a couple of times before the wedding and were always greeted like old friends and sat down with Anne in front of the fire for a natter and a cup of tea. We also went through at christmas for a lunch and it was absolutely delicious!
My husband and I have just come back from spending a night at Bunchrew to celebrate our first wedding anniversary, Although we only booked a standard room Deborah upgraded us to the Craigatin suite, where we spent our first night as a married couple! This meant a lot to us, as did the lovely warm welcome from Deborah and Anne and we enjoyed a long chat with them in the drawing room and a look at our wedding photographs.
A fabulous hotel with wonderful staff, comfortable and beautifully appointed rooms, amazing views, fantastic food and two absolute gems in the form of Anne and Deborah. We will be back soon, just try and keep us away!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank enchantedtoadstool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2011

As I only ate at the restaurant and (regrettably) did not stay at the hotel itself, I can't comment on the rooms themselves, however if the quality of service and food in the restaurant is anything to go by I am sure the rooms themselves are also outstanding. The tranquil setting and beautiful views over the Beauly Firth make for an extremely enjoyable and relaxing evening of fine dining and fine whiskey.
I will certainly be returning upon my next visit to Inverness.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SimonBargielowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

We enjoyed our time here very much. A great romantic location with stunning grounds and amazing views and wildlife.
Inverness is not far at all which has loads of local restuarants and activities .

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gurb1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2011

The hotel was in lovely location and public rooms were outstanding. The bedroom was disappointing and the bathroom was nothing special.
The food was prepared by a top chef, but portion size was laughable.
Whilst we were at breakfast the maids prepared the room for the next customers and we returned to our room to find our belongings on the floor! Why they couldn'd wait another 10 minutes, I have no idea.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KathyDUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2011

The hotel is lovingly positioned on the banks of the Beauly firth and overlooks the Black isle. The rooms are especially comfortable with amazingly comfortable pillows.

The dinner is heavenly with the hospitality being warm and traditionally Scottish. The restaurant is intimate with only 9 tables and it overlooks the waterfront. Post dinner, take a dram and it in front of the fire and enjoy the night and quiet surrounds before heading to bed.

The overall hotel is more like a home and feels like a home when you stay there.

Room Tip: Book the turret room and stay for 2 nights.
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J0JP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2011

Just returned and had to add our praise.
Lovely room (Mackay), very comfortable and spacious, under floor heating in the bathroom was a luxury. Fantasic view over the Firth. Cleanliness was of a very high standard.
Food was good.
Staff were all very friendly and attentive

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank getawayandrelax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
6.2 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 35 in Inverness
596 reviews
2.2 mi away
Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park
2.7 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
3.5 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#10 of 35 in Inverness
1,758 reviews
2.8 mi away
Glenmoriston Town House
Glenmoriston Town House
#13 of 35 in Inverness
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bunchrew House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bunchrew House Hotel

Address: Bunchrew, Inverness IV3 8TA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
#3 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
#6 Family Hotel in Inverness
#13 Business Hotel in Inverness
Price Range: £145 - £386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bunchrew House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 17th century Baronial mansion; lies in 20 acres of lawns and magnificent woodlands; only yards from the sea and 3 miles from Inverness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Bunchrew House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bunchrew Hotel Inverness
Bunchrew House Hotel Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing