We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, intimate hotel with quaint rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bunchrew House Hotel
Ranked #8 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Small, intimate hotel with quaint rooms”
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Smaller, intimate hotel with quaint rooms that are individually decorated. Great location on the Firth. Quiet at night. Didn't see any ghosts, unfortunately. Loved the fireplace in the waiting area before going into dinner. The food was amazing! Still no ghost in the dining room with us. :*( So relaxing to sit near the fireplace, read a book, drink a cider and then were able to walk upstairs to go to bed. Loved the fact that each room had a small fridge; this was very convenient for many reasons! This is a place that I would go back to time and time again; I would return to Scotland JUST for this place!

Room Tip: I know which table the ghost likes to sit at in the dining room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Willingtotryanything
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    378
    156
    39
    25
    13
See reviews for
109
345
9
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2011

We had flown to Inverness from Bristol for just two days to see our new grandchild.On way to airport we came her for lunch .On seeing the set up (we had a 3 week old baby and lively 2 year old with us ) We decided the best option was to remain in the lounge and have sandwiches and soup and the children's menu .Nothing was too much trouble .The Christmas decoration was removed from table ,extra tables were brought and the atmosphere was so friendly and welcoming.Superb Scottish staff.The Scotch broth was lovely and the sandwiches too.The hotel and setting was magical.A great place for our lunch before getting the flight south.I would love to stay here on another trip up north

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsPumps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 23 November 2011

We had our wedding at Bunchrew last weekend and it was pretty much spot on perfect. The setting is amazing and many of our guests on their first trip to Inverness said they would be coming back. The relaxed atmosphere of Bunchrew meant that many said they didn't want to leave. The staff were very accommodating and the price was very competitive in comparison to other 'chain' wedding venues. The option of exclusive use is a must but only requires you to ensure all 16 rooms are filled by your guests.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RogerMcGilvray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

Anne & Vicki and the staff at Bunchrew House were amazing. We were luckily enough to have our civil partnership ceremony last Monday at the House. Anne & her staff were with me all the way throughout my planning. The day before the ceremony my partner and l visited the house to drop of the cake and some new plans and l was immediately greeted by Anne who gave me the biggest hug and warmest welcome ever which made me very happy and l knew from that moment we had made the right choice for choosing Bunchrew House.
The House is beautiful, the rooms all different and all have en-suite bathrooms, the rooms and facilities were spotless and the suites for myself and the best men were 5 Star quality. The food was top notch and the staff were beyond nice to me and my guests..we will come back again and if you are planning a wedding - do yourself a HUGE favour - do it here.

Room Tip: All rooms are adorable and the house is old but not at all cold.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnPGordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

We stayed two nights at Bunchrew after baling out from an unsatisfactory hotel nearby. The hotel is located right on the shore of Loch Beaully and about 10 minutes drive from the lovely Inverness. The room was large and comfortable, the public rooms warm (fires) and welcoming and the restaurant excellent. Staff were friendly and there were some nice short walks along the Loch shore from the hotel. Overall a positive recommendation and value for money.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwi077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

I was here for my cousin's wedding recently. The venue is gorgeous in a lovely setting. The staff are nice and pleasant. BUT the lamb in the wedding meal was barely cooked and no one was given the option of having theirs medium or well done and the drinks prices were robbery. £5 for a normal sized bottle of ale. As a mature student who can barely afford £3 a bottle most of the time, I stuck to diet cola or water for the rest of the night. Overall. a lovely place though - just take out a bank loan for drinks!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreedyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

My husband and I had 2 nights and a day at Bunchrew House Hotel and enjoyed every minute of it. It had been recommended by 2 different sets of friends, and we were very glad we took up their suggestion. We saw some of the loch from our room, (Beauly) and it was fascinating to see the water birds in the mud flats - ensuite was fine, twin beds were comfy. Both dinners were excellent, as was breakfast - all served in the elegant dining room. The lounge area with open fire was a welcome room for pre and post dinner drinks, and there was a separate bar as well. The manager was very helpful in discussing how far we could drive for our day touring around, and even checked his recommendations with another staff member and caught us before we set off to say we were probably taking on too much, and to change our route so we'd be back in time for dinner! Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MP48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
6.2 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
542 reviews
2.7 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
2.2 mi away
Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#10 of 34 in Inverness
1,675 reviews
3.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
2.8 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bunchrew House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bunchrew House Hotel

Property: Bunchrew House Hotel
Address: Bunchrew, Inverness IV3 8TA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
#5 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
#6 Family Hotel in Inverness
#13 Business Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bunchrew House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 17th century Baronial mansion; lies in 20 acres of lawns and magnificent woodlands; only yards from the sea and 3 miles from Inverness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Bunchrew House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bunchrew Hotel Inverness
Bunchrew House Hotel Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing