We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Day”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bunchrew House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We had our wedding at Bunchrew on Sat 9th June, wow wow wow, my husband, his best man and family and friends from Vancouver stayed on the Friday night and the staff were so friendly to them, the groom was a wee bit nervous on Sat morning but with the kindness and support of the hotel staff they managed to make him relax. Everything about the day was amazing, staff are lovely and couldn't do more for you, it was a relaxed atmosphere, food was out of this world, every guest that was there commented on how good the food was, the rooms were lovely, everything was perfect, anyone thinking about getting married then this is the place, I can't wait to see the photos!

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely, we stayed in the Lovat Suite, wow!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (680)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

457 - 463 of 680 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2012

the bunchrew hose is a true gem situated a few miles from the city centre it is approached by a long drive down through the woods and along the shore to,attractive grounds and a fantastic position alongside the waters edge the house is a piece of old scotland the staff are very welcoming and helpful the room i had was very nice with a 4 poster bed windows on 3 sides overlooking the grounds reasonably sized lcd tv ,fridge,all the usual fascilities(resident ghost ect)nice bathroom just a point old house so no lifts here nice bar and drawing room leading to the dining room the food is set menu a la carte which was excellent but the icing on the cake is the fantastic scenery out of the large window, views across the water to the black isle and a sunset just over the distant mountains priceless, the hotel is especially ideal for honeymooners/romantic breaks or like me business trips a word of warning though the resident ghost an old women of challenging apearance whoose portrait hangs by the door, i made a derisory comment along with the receptionis,t and the front door banged loudly closed she said she must have heard us!you have been warned.

Room Tip: possibly ask for 4 poster rooms and water side view although grounds are attractive too
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank philip t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

What can I say!!!
My son's wedding 26th May at the bunchrew house hotel..
We arrived on the Friday afternoon and were quickly shown to our rooms-my younger son-well travelled- stated"this is the best hotel I've been in"..
What an atmosphere and what glorious weather too!!
Day two (wedding day) & my son and his wife to be were lucky enough to marry under the 400 year old tree...outdoors...no-one wanted to venture indoors so the entertainment came outdoors:)..after which a fantastic wedding feast- faultless from begining to end!
Delightful fairytale wedding ...staff very friendly& also happy with the extreme heat!
All in all a delightful weekend...
Yes could do with updating....though not at the expense of too much modernisation-
Thinking of a wedding in this beautiful location-a big thumbs up from a very happy mother/mother-in-law...

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank textmistress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

A stunning location and stunning service. The hotel is a little faded in places, and they really need to choose another colour for the exterior - pink really doesnt do it! The carpet is a bit threadbare on the stairs and our room could have done with a makeover. The bathroom especially was a wonderfully large space but with a standard sized bath, weak shower and plain toilet wasting the opportunity. It is crying out from some money spent on it. However the room was generally really nice, large, and comfortable for 2 adults and 2 kids. Plus the staff were uniformly amazing and the breakfast one of the best I've ever had. So definately recommend this place but please spend some money on doing it up!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Stayed at Hotel 17th May 2012 Room clean staff very helpful could not fault in anyway.Would love to return.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jay87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

We stayed only one night, hotel itself look quite isolated, but it is only 5 min by taxi or car to the first pub (or any sign of city). First impression after seeing room- slightly tired, but with great view, milk in the fridge, homemade shortbread and good bathroom our feeling went away. Bar and lounge are just wow: chimney-corner, lots of magazines and good whisky you can feel as at home.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 0lelukoie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Stayed 3 nights, went away for a while and went back for another 3 nights. We stayed in Coulmore and Cedar, both big and comfortable.Coulmore has an amazing view over the Firth, whereas Cedar has a four poster and we were able to pick up the Wifi signal from the drawing room.
The bar and the drawing room are both lovely areas to sit and read, have tea, a drink, play games etc. Not at all stuffy.
The staff at Bunchrew are outstanding. Everyone treats you so well and they seem to care that you are enjoying your stay. They are attentive but give you space. There is a guy from the Isle of Skye (I think his name is Steven) who is one of the best hosts I have ever met. Truely exceptional.
We found the hotel to be a good base from which to drive around and explore the Highlands. We left thoroughly relaxed and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LondonDj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
6.2 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 36 in Inverness
615 reviews
2.7 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
2.2 mi away
Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#7 of 36 in Inverness
1,841 reviews
3.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
2.8 mi away
Glenmoriston Town House
Glenmoriston Town House
#14 of 36 in Inverness
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bunchrew House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bunchrew House Hotel

Address: Bunchrew, Inverness IV3 8TA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Inverness
#2 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
#3 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
#6 Family Hotel in Inverness
#13 Business Hotel in Inverness
Price Range: £54 - £292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bunchrew House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 17th century Baronial mansion; lies in 20 acres of lawns and magnificent woodlands; only yards from the sea and 3 miles from Inverness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Bunchrew House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bunchrew Hotel Inverness
Bunchrew House Hotel Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing