We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old and Charming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bunchrew House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
487 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Old and Charming”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Expect great service, a circa 1600 home, a beautiful view, a truly relaxing atmosphere, delicious dinner and breakfast, carpet that probably could use updating, warm and fluffy towels, not so fluffy pillows, spacious rooms, beautiful grounds, and did I mention the great service? We loved it!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichiganTess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    387
    160
    42
    25
    13
See reviews for
110
351
10
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

This charming old house is right on the Beauly Firth so has magnificent views, Our room was extremely comfortable overlooking the gardens. The pretty dining room served a excellent dinner,
though the breakfast was a little disappointing after the quality of the dinner.
What makes this an exceptional place to stay is the staff who are delightful and extremely helpful.

Room Tip: Choose between the more expensive firth views or the lovely garden view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 828shuttles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
argyll
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

The room was clean but in need of a refurb. It was sold as a luxury hotel but did not live up to this description. From other reviews I assume that maybe other rooms are much better or that the hotel is undergoing a program of upgrading and hasn't been completed.

Staff were all lovely and breakfast was fine although choice was more limited than I expected.

I travel to Inverness regularly and I won't be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolyn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

our experience was so different from the previous reviewer, the house and the hospitality was second to none. we would go back again and spend longer than the one night we stayed this time if we visit the area again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank carolemickstevenage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

I'm pleased to say that our experience was completely different to the previous reviewer. The hotel looks like a little castle with turrets and looks over the estuary. Our room was large, clean and comfortable and definitely not shabby in any way. The restaurant was elegant and the food lived up to the 'fine dining' label. As we had let them know I'm vegetarian, they had made sure I had a choice rather than take-it-or-leave-it. The location makes a good base for exploring the surrounding area and the bar and lounge areas are a great place to relax before dinner. We will definitely consider staying here again if we are in the area.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Lemmus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We were terribly disappointed with this " luxury" hotel which, in our opinion, seems to be trading on history to a large extent. I swithered between a 2 and 3 rating but our room was so shabby that it was beyond disappointing that I've rated the whole experience accordingly.

The hotel is situated a few miles outside Inverness.

We had a fairly nice meal in the dining room one night but found the breakfast disappointing . A hotel like this should surely be offering a cold breakfast buffet spread with fresh fruits, meats, cheeses, pastries, morning rolls, yogurts, cereals etc. But no, you're merely offered a menu with supplementary charges of £5 (on top of what you've already paid for breakfast ) for what's regarded as standard breakfast ingredients in other establishments e.g. Eggs Benedict ( an egg, a muffin, small piece of gammon / ham and a little sauce).

Whilst the hotel sits in a secluded position overlooking the sea, they don't seem to do anything to the surrounding grounds ( no gardens as such) and even the wooden planters at the front door looked shabby and in need of either replacement or a good coat of wood preservative.

In our room, the bed cover was downright grubby and looked like it should have been binned years ago. We cast it aside immediately as it really wasn't something we wanted to lie either on or under. The pillows were the worst and thinnest we have ever come across anywhere ( again, probably years old too ). In fact, everything about our room was very tired, dog eared and pretty threadbare. The bathroom was equally in need of a refurb. Now we didn't expect, nor want, a sleek or boutique style room in a hotel like this but, our room bore no likeness to the "luxury & opulence" we were meant to be surrounded by (according to their website)

For the most part staff were pleasant to us though we did notice a bit of haughty "upstairs/downstairs" attitude from some older staff towards others who seemed more junior to them. Also, there didn't seem to be enough of them around at night when we were trying to get a drink in the bar - At one point we actually thought we were " home alone"!

Anyway, we'll be spending our money on one of the better hotels in the area next time we head to the Highlands as, generally, this hotel was very disappointing indeed.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anne8527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

On tour of Scotland, my wife and I parked late one afternoon on the banks of Loch Ness and flicked through a tourist book to find lodgings for the night. Celebrating our 60th birthdays we looked for hotel that was a little more expensive than we'd been used to. Bunchrew House Hotel was offering a special deal and, when we rang, had one room left so we took it.

An hour later we turned into a driveway winding through gracefully wooded gardens and arrived at, what to us, was a small castle. We knew we'd struck gold.

What we found on checking in was a comfortable country house – enchanting but not ostentatious. We unpacked in our upstairs room, sipped a late afternoon whisky while taking in the views across the bay then went down for downstairs to enjoy the wood-panelled sitting room and wait till dinner time. Dinner was unexpected – modern and traditional, enhanced by friendly, informative serving staff. It was the most enjoyable (but by no means the most expensive) meal we had in Scotland.

Bunchrew House helped us enjoy a special birthday that we'll long remember.

Room Tip: The bay view was nice, but looking into the gardens would've been good, too. I don't think y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
6.2 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
571 reviews
2.2 mi away
Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park
3.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
3.5 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#9 of 34 in Inverness
1,731 reviews
2.8 mi away
Glenmoriston Town House
Glenmoriston Town House
#15 of 34 in Inverness
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bunchrew House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bunchrew House Hotel

Property: Bunchrew House Hotel
Address: Bunchrew, Inverness IV3 8TA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
#3 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
#6 Family Hotel in Inverness
#13 Business Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bunchrew House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 17th century Baronial mansion; lies in 20 acres of lawns and magnificent woodlands; only yards from the sea and 3 miles from Inverness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bunchrew House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bunchrew Hotel Inverness
Bunchrew House Hotel Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing