We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful view of the firth and a stool to climb into bed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bunchrew House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A wonderful view of the firth and a stool to climb into bed”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

A magical two night stay in the Wyvis suite, with a wonderful view over the firth. The bed required a the use of a footstool to climb into it!
The meals were delightful, especially the rhubarb cheesecake .
We will be back

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    372
    154
    38
    24
    12
See reviews for
104
341
9
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
124 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed here at the end of a long Easter week-end on Scotland.

Bunchrew House is a conversion of an old manor house on the shores of Beauly Firth. It is beautifully situated in a wood next to the water, with magnificent uninterrupted views across the Firth.

We had reserved two rooms at the front of the hotel with views across the Firth. Our room, the Wyvis, was large, windowed on two sides and with a large super king bed on a dais, requiring a step to climb on to the bed. Next door was a single room, the Red Castle for my mother – smaller, but again comfortably furnished. Both had well equipped bathrooms – no walk in shower, but a step in bath, with powerful and easy to control showers.

From the warm welcome when we checked in, through a delicious afternoon tea, and a truly excellent evening meal the service was friendly, attentive and appropriate.
We enjoyed walking in the grounds; sitting by the open fire in the drawing room; the superb view from the dining room whilst eating.

One to be recommended, I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Go for a room with a view of the Firth.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter_R_Smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed two nights as part of our whistle-stop tour of Scotland honeymoon in the Makay Suite. What a beautiful setting and impressive hotel. Breathtaking views across the sea from all of our windows. Lovely four poster bed and the jacuzzi bath was a must!

The staff were very friendly and could not help enough. The menu varied each night and was always delicious.

There was a conference on during our stay, but we were treated impeccably and private dining was given.

Very romantic surroundings and well worth a visit.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We held our daughters wedding here at Bunchrew House, it was the most perfect day. From the first visit to choose our venue till check out the day after the wedding we were looked after in a very professional and friendly way. The staff did an amazing job, making everything go smoothly with the emphasis on the Bride and Groom having the day they wanted. I can honestly say there is nothing I would have changed. Thank you to everyone at Bunchrew who helped make this happen.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaisyMay2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

What a wonderful place to stay. My husband and I spent three nights here celebrating our anniversary and couldn't have chosen better.
The setting overlooking the Beauly Firth was magical. The hotel itself, a 17th century mansion, was full of character and quirky features which added to its charm.
The food was always of good quality with lots of seasonal and locally produced ingredients featuring on the evening menu.
The staff, in particular the young Australian waiter made a great impression with his courteous and affable nature- he will go far. However, all the staff helped to make our stay a pleasant one, always asking how our day had gone and checking whether we had all we needed.
The room was very large and overlooked the water. My only suggestion here would be that it needs a little refreshing as some of the decor seemed slightly faded. That said it was not a major gripe and didn't affect the enjoyment of our stay.

Room Tip: Overlooking the Beauly Firth would be my personal choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay here. What a fantastic hotel. Food was great and breakfasts were vert filling. The room we stayed in was awesome, with a great view and on suite lounge. The location was excellent and I can see what there are so many weddings here.

Staff were very helpful and friendly, they provided useful local information.

We will stay here again :-)

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BillyK777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
471 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Expect great service, a circa 1600 home, a beautiful view, a truly relaxing atmosphere, delicious dinner and breakfast, carpet that probably could use updating, warm and fluffy towels, not so fluffy pillows, spacious rooms, beautiful grounds, and did I mention the great service? We loved it!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichiganTess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
6.2 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
2.2 mi away
Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park
2.7 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#8 of 34 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,653 reviews
2.8 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bunchrew House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bunchrew House Hotel

Property: Bunchrew House Hotel
Address: Bunchrew, Inverness IV3 8TA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
#3 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
#6 Family Hotel in Inverness
#13 Business Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bunchrew House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 17th century Baronial mansion; lies in 20 acres of lawns and magnificent woodlands; only yards from the sea and 3 miles from Inverness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Bunchrew House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bunchrew Hotel Inverness
Bunchrew House Hotel Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing