We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OUTSTANDING!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bunchrew House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“OUTSTANDING!”
Reviewed 10 August 2009

We had our wedding reception in the Bunchrew and i can honestly say that my expectations were very high and they surrpassed them in everyway. I have stayed in a lot of different hotels and never come across such friendly and supportive staff. They went well beyond the expected.

I could write about how fantastic every detail was, but to be honest i am just going to say that you have to go there and enjoy it yourself. It is trully magical from the moment you go down the drive and it just getts better.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BMCNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    390
    161
    42
    25
    13
See reviews for
111
354
10
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2009

I much prefer writing positive reviews than negative, but I'm having a hard time with this one. Bunchrew House is an Old Country Inn. It has been nicely cared for, and our room overlooking the Firth of Beauly was OK. The comforter, I swear was polyesther, as were the sheets. The mattress was uncomfortable. The dinner service was very ordinary, and not memorable, so that's hard to comment on. We felt after two days, that we didn't want to spend a third, so informed them we had done everything we needed to do in Inverness, and were moving on. I was informed by the manager they were going to bill me for the third night, even though I wasn't staying there. She did say if they managed to rent the room, she would give me a credit. I have only had this happen to me one other time in our travels, and was shocked they would do this. I tend to be non-confrontational, so didn't raise a fuss until I got here to TripAdvisor. I am advising you, it's not worth the money.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank grapdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2009

We went in FebruaRy and got a great deal. The food was really memorable and the service was very attentive but relaxed. The whole place had a chilled out unrushed feel. Great views of the loch and lovely open fires inside.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank whistlebare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South East England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2009

Bunchrew House folded us in like welcome family, but always with respect. A wonderful room overlooking the beautiful gardens. Traditionally styled but with modern touches like a neatly concealed bar fridge with fresh milk, quality teas, etc. The bathroom was slightly dated in decor but all perfectly functional and absolutely spotless.

The hotel were flexible and made provision for a small group to have an early dinner prior to a show which meant we were the only guests for the main sitting. That could have been a disaster with kitchen staff wanting to get going but instead we had simply incredible service. Chef catered to a dietary restriction, the food was the very best we had in two weeks of Scotland's finest, staff were attentive and friendly but not intrusive and we were given a table seated facing the firth. To top it off, staff banked up the fire for our comfort to have coffee in the lounge afterwards. And we noticed they had desserts ready for the other party when they returned at about 10pm.

Possibly not the best destination for children but fabulous for a romantic or relaxing weekend away. And stunning setting for a wedding. Fabulous gardens filled with bird-song (no traffic noise), outstanding food, lovely rooms, comfortable beds and a glorious location. All rounded off with excellent staff. We notice the detail and are picky customers but were entirely satisfied in every way. It was heaven. And we are planning our return already.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CheckTheDetail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2009

We loved the atmosphere of this hotel- like staying in a grand manor house with a view of the river. The public rooms are charming, with fireplaces, wood paneling, antiques throughout. Our room was large and comfortable, but there was a very unpleasant smell coming from an area of the carpet near the fireplace- it smelled like curry or cumin. It didn't ruin our stay, but it's hard to relax with a cup of tea and enjoy the spectacular view of the river and have a waft of spicy curry smell overcoming your nose. We enjoyed the Scottish breakfasts in the dining room, and the staff were kind enough to call us to remind us that we were late for breakfast one morning and we appreciated that. Staff were friendly and helpful. We had problems with the fixtures in our bathroom (knobs falling off etc.) but when we complained it was fixed promptly. The best thing about this hotel is the atmosphere.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shufflinalong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rural Cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2009

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights last week and were delighted with every aspect of this wonderful old house set in an idyllic location on the shores of the Beauly Firth. Like your previous reviewer, we stayed in the Craigton Suite and were afforded every luxury. The menu does indeed change daily and their excellent chef is now in the habit of providing a freebie taster at the start of the meal. The ingredients used were first-class and, although the menu only offers a choice of 3 dishes for each course, I found this concentrated the mind and was a distinct improvement on the ambitious range that some restaurants serve - often unsuccessfully. Every member of the staff, from the manageress to the gardener, was a delight to chat to and a glimpse of a deer in the grounds and an osprey overhead were thrilling bonuses. Nearby, Glen Affric has to be one of the most enchanting places in the Highlands. Finally, Bunchrew House is about a 15 minute journey by car from the centre of Inverness so you have the benefits of a rural, spectacular location but with the city close at hand.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2009

Stayed here for one night with my partner in April after looking at lots of other places. Our aim was to drive up to Dunrobin Castle and then, after staying overnight, to drive down to Fort William.
The location for us was perfect. We had the Caigton suite which has its own ground floor entrance. Was definately worth paying about £30 more to upgrade to a suite.
Food was very nice. Some will complain about lack of choice but we both found something we both loved and it looked like the menu was changed daily.
Staff were attentive but not overbearing.

We are both looking forward to returning one day.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller1971London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
6.2 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
575 reviews
2.2 mi away
Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park
3.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
3.5 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#9 of 34 in Inverness
1,737 reviews
2.8 mi away
Glenmoriston Town House
Glenmoriston Town House
#15 of 34 in Inverness
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bunchrew House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bunchrew House Hotel

Property: Bunchrew House Hotel
Address: Bunchrew, Inverness IV3 8TA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
#3 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
#6 Family Hotel in Inverness
#13 Business Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bunchrew House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 17th century Baronial mansion; lies in 20 acres of lawns and magnificent woodlands; only yards from the sea and 3 miles from Inverness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Bunchrew House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bunchrew Hotel Inverness
Bunchrew House Hotel Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing