We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“think twice before getting married here!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bunchrew House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“think twice before getting married here!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2010

We were due to be married at bunchrew in november, but tragically my father passed away suddenly the day before the wedding.

We decided that we couldn't possibly go ahead with the wedding. We approached Bunchrew with the idea that we could maybe reorganise the weddding for Jan or Feb.
We were quite prepared to pay a reasonable amount for any food wasted, may I add we were having a small wedding with only 49 guests ( 6 of them children), we were having soup as a starter and a cheescake for desert how much would the ingredients for that have cost, no where near what they tried to charge!!

After speaking to management about our ideas to reschedule. We were shocked when they came back to us and said that they were going to charge us the full amount! They wanted us to pay for all the food, drink and rooms!!

The manageress had no compassion whatsoever, all she kept going on about was how she was going to have to pay her staff wages and she was going to have a loss of revenue!! What about our loss? we had just lost a close family member and our dream wedding day had been taken away! She even went onto to say, that this was something they had never had to deal with before, she then corrected herself and said that a couple had to cancel before as the groom had cancer, but they did give her a few months notice, not 24 hours!! I still can't believe she said that. I could go on all day about all the insensitive things she said, but i'd be here all day!

I just think that given the circumstances they could have done a lot more to help us. All the other local businesses involved, went out of their way to help.

My review isn't all negative, the two wedding co-ordinators Anne and Deborah are fanatstic at they're job nothing to much trouble for them.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank chellefin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bunchrew-Manager, General Manger at Bunchrew House Hotel, responded to this review, 26 January 2010
With reference to this review, we did express our sorrow on numerous occasions when discussing this unfortunate event.

We advise all wedding couples to take out necessary event insurance before they engage in a booking; it is unfortunate that this did not happen in this case. Under the circumstances we reduced the cancellation charge agreed to in the contract by 50% and then also offered to re-stage the wedding at Bunchrew House and thus avoid the cancellation charge altogether. However the couple chose to go elsewhere and pay the 50% of the cancellation charge. We refunded a significant portion of the monies prepaid.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    370
    149
    38
    24
    12
See reviews for
102
339
9
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toulouse
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2009

We arrived on a Friday evening and were welcomed by friendly staff who quickly settled us into our very comfortable room, Ardfearn, on the top floor of the hotel. The room, overlooking a park full of mature trees, was bright, spacious, and included a sofa-bed for our two kids to sleep in. The bed for the adults was very comfortable and spacious. We loved the thoughtful details in the room, such as a sampler of fudge, complimentary mineral water and tea. The large bathroom included a bathtub with a shower fixture, which was a great place to unwind before we headed down to the bar for a drink in front of the fireplace. Roaring fires were also going in the drawing room and dining room, all tastefully decorated. The meals we had at the hotel featured local ingredients cooked to perfection, such as Scottish beef and outstanding seafood. From the dining room, one has a fantastic direct view out onto the Beauly Firth. We had a great stay here.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fronton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, LA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2009

Nice hotel, located in its own grounds just outside inverness. Old worldy charm. Nice Staff. Good food - although the restaurant is almost to large and lacks that homey sense. Room was large and clean.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank southernbelle40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zwijndrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2009

We stayed here for one night in September. The house itself is very beautiful. Our room was very spacious with a stunning view and a very comfortable bed. The bathroom is not very impressive but the great location fully makes up for this. The garden is lovely and the setting at the Fyrth of Beauly is fantastic.
Dinner was okay but not outstanding. The total experience however - the location, the house, the room - was great and I will certainly go back whenever I have the chance.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skelmorlie
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2009

We booked out Bunchrew for 2 nights for our wedding in October 2009. We had high expectations, a 2-night wedding is never going to be cheap. Our expectations were utterly surpassed - and then some!

The welcome was warm (a big hug from Anne with whom I'd made all the arrangements!). The staff were organised and very well prepared. They seemed to know who was staying in which room without consulting a list!

The day went without a hitch, and the nice thing was that all our guests commented on what a good choice we made with the venue.

Also, Anne and Jill (the coordinator and manager respectively) made such a huge effort to make sure we (the bride and groom) were prepared, calm, knew what we were doing, and what was going to happen. It was just superbly organised and we can't thank Anne and Jill, and ALL the other staff, well enough. There was a chap (can't remember his name - sorry!) who was organising the meals and acting as MC for the speeches, and he was calm, discrete and very friendly.

Everything was budgeted in advance with Anne, who understood everything first time, prepared a discussion document and e-mailed it back to me. Pretty much the whole thing was organised by e-mail discussion (Registrars take note - it's not difficult!). The budget was kept to (except me extending the free bar!) and there were no gotchas or hidden extras. Anne was just fantastic from start to finish.

Oh, and I nearly forgot to mention the food - it was quite simply the most amazing wedding meal I've ever had! It wasn't extortionate by any stretch of the imagination. So many of our guests commented on the quality of the steak and the beautiful dessert.

If you're planning a wedding there, having exlusivity for 2 nights is thoroughly recommended - "it just feels like a big house party" one of our relatives said. And you really do feel like it's just a big party with all your close friends and family. I just wish I could do it justice in words.

But I have to mention the bad points - oh no wait I can't think of any. I can't imagine why anyone would think it could use some modernisation - it was beautiful, full of character and very well presented. It's a highland stately home - it's not meant to be chic!

And to the American gentleman who thought he had polyester sheets... are you sure it wasn't your pyjamas?

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LozAndGeorgina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2009

My best friend and I took a trip of a lifetime to Scotland in June 2009. From the time we pulled in the winding drive it was an amazing place. The hotel was tucked just outside of Inverness right on the Loch, very quiet, excellent service, and delicious food. Although it was the most expensive B&B we stayed at during the week, it was definitely worth it. If and when I return to Scotland I will absolutely be booking another stay at Bunchrew House.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelin_Gal2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2009

We had our wedding reception in the Bunchrew and i can honestly say that my expectations were very high and they surrpassed them in everyway. I have stayed in a lot of different hotels and never come across such friendly and supportive staff. They went well beyond the expected.

I could write about how fantastic every detail was, but to be honest i am just going to say that you have to go there and enjoy it yourself. It is trully magical from the moment you go down the drive and it just getts better.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BMCNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
6.2 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
2.2 mi away
Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park
2.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#8 of 34 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,637 reviews
2.8 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bunchrew House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bunchrew House Hotel

Property: Bunchrew House Hotel
Address: Bunchrew, Inverness IV3 8TA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
#4 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
#6 Family Hotel in Inverness
#13 Business Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bunchrew House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 17th century Baronial mansion; lies in 20 acres of lawns and magnificent woodlands; only yards from the sea and 3 miles from Inverness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bunchrew House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bunchrew Hotel Inverness
Bunchrew House Hotel Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing