We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort and Convenience in Inverness”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Glenmoriston Town House
Ranked #14 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Comfort and Convenience in Inverness”
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Spent three nights at the Glenmoriston during a business/pleasure trip. (My husband was working while I played tourist). We stayed in room #30 which is located in the annex adjacent to the main hotel building. There is no elevator in this building. The reward for the long climb up to the top floor (US 4th floor/UK 3rd) was an airy, albeit small, room with two large windows facing the river. The room was comfortable enough and nicely decorated although rather close quarters due to it's being tucked into what must have once been attic space. The bathroom was well appointed but small and had one of those glass shower stalls stuffed into a corner. We both had a hard time maneuvering around in there (we're fairly average sized humans) and found ourselves crashing into the glass and struggling a bit to position the shower hose at a useful angle. The room was spotlessly clean upon arrival, but daily maid service occurred somewhat late in the day for my taste (after 2 PM) and was rather cursory (bathroom surfaces given a swipe, but toiletry items left on the counter we left sitting in puddles). The queen sized bed was very comfortable. There was a feather bed topper and good quality linens.
As previous posters have mentioned, there is a charge for wifi of 5 pounds a day. We soon discovered that the day ended at 4 pm for everyone no matter what time you had signed on.
We had an excellent dinner one evening at the hotel restaurant and breakfast was quite nice. We visited the hotel lounge each evening for drinks and found the space cozy and the staff more than friendly and attentive.
The location is ideal. The river view is lovely and the walk to the downtown area easy and pleasant. There is a pedestrian bridge spanning the river less than a block away.
The neighborhood is quiet and very attractive. There is also ample parking available which is always a plus.
All in all, we enjoyed our stay and would probably stay here again if we find ourselves in Inverness in the future.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caesarsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    254
    129
    54
    39
See reviews for
63
413
41
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

The hotel was very comfortable and clean. It was located a bit from the center of town, but it was a nice walk along the river to the hotel. Breakfast was good with hot choices cooked to order.

The hotel charged for Internet access, which is a huge negative, especially given the cost of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoamingAround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banchory, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Wonderful view as the hotel is right on the river. Beautifully clean and relaxed atmosphere. Great breakfast with plenty of fresh fruit on the buffet and cooked breakfast done to order. Good value too!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alastair26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Hotel is over 2 buildings, one with reception, the other, an annex is across the car park and is accessed via a secure door to which guests are given the key code number. If you are a woman travelling alone make sure you request a room in the main part of the hotel.

The room we had was a little on the small side but we had a fantastic view over the river so it wasn't all bad. The bathroom was immaculate, it looked as if it was brand new, and the bed was very comfortable. The linen and pillows were of a good standard.

Unfortunately the breakfast was very poor, and not what I would expect from this standard of hotel. Cooked breakfast had to be returned as there was an item on the plate that was off, and large open bowls of cereal that have been sitting since the start of the breakfast service are most unappealing and makes you question the freshness of the contents.

The customer service was another area that was lacking and was not a great advert for the Scottish Tourist Industry.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MCBeattie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2011

Me and my mate walked in and got an excellent room straight away. When two men are staying together you can't be certain as to what kind of welcome your going to get, but the staff was charming and kind. The room was quaint and warm with a very comfy bed. We only wish we could have stayed longer but we will return.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jtbottomsuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2011

We arrived in Inverness frantically trying to find somewhere decent to stay, we had walked out of our previous accommodation and thank god we found the Glenmoriston Town house, the reception staff were very helpful and even let us choose from 3 different rooms. We choose a room that overlooks the front with a magnificent view of the river Ness. We ate in abstract restaurant which was very enjoyable, the food was fab but could improve very slightly in areas, I don't mean quality, but perhaps portion sizes should be a little smaller because the food was very rich. The only slight negative was we were served our tasting menu by the guy who serves behind the bar, he was very pleasant and professional within his drinks knowledge but lacked that silver service style of approach, we weren't looking for formal but it would have been nice to feel that presence. I would go back to this hotel again and I urge you to book it , however I shall not return to Inverness because I found it to be a dump with nothing to offer. Sorry Inverness

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daddyORchips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
102 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2011

We stayed at the Glenmoriston for a weekend with family in May 2011.
The staff were friendly and helpful, the room clean and adequate with dressing gowns.
However the highlight was the food.....................
Abstract restaurant serves a gourmet 8 course taster menu for only £55. This menu is a must, as it is truely sensational food at an exceptional price. This is an amazing find in a quiet backwater, take advantage, enjoy the Highlands.

Room Tip: Front facing the River Ness for best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smoboz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
0.7 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#10 of 34 in Inverness
1,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Waterside Hotel
The Waterside Hotel
#15 of 34 in Inverness
579 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
0.5 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#17 of 34 in Inverness
1,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenmoriston Town House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenmoriston Town House

Property: Glenmoriston Town House
Address: 20 Ness Bank, Inverness IV2 4SF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Inverness
#7 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenmoriston Town House 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glenmoriston Town House Inverness is a stylish four star deluxe property on the banks of the River Ness, perfectly located within the heart of the capital of the highlands it provides an impressive contrast to the cities more traditional hotels. Experience unparalleled luxury in one of our 30 stylish bedrooms, designed with comfort in mind and boasting heavenly beds, delicious duvets, fluffy towels and luxury toiletries not to mention the impeccable service you'd expect! The hotel encompasses the finest in Scottish culture with luxury and style and provides an ideal base for those who wish to explore Scotland's abundance of unique landmarks. The Glenmoriston Town House is conveniently just twenty minutes from Inverness Airport and only ten minutes walk from the city main line station. Great food and wine are very much entwined in the Glenmoriston Town House experience and we offer an exceptional restaurant. For a memorable culinary experience, visit our chic and stylish Contrast Brasserie. In addition, the hotel's destination Piano Bar offers Scotland's finest whiskies from over 250 distilleries and our mixologists are constantly developing the most wonderful cocktails to tantalise even the most demanding taste buds. The Glenmoriston Town House will ensure a quality stay whether business or pleasure. Just over 3 hours from Edinburgh or Glasgow it is the perfect property for any number of occasions, be it family get together, sporting holiday, romantic escape, or just a break away from it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Glenmoriston Town House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenmoriston Town House Hotel Inverness
Glenmoriston Town Hotel
Glenmoriston Town Inverness
Glenmoriston Town House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing