We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Glenmoriston Town House
Ranked #13 of 36 Hotels in Inverness
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Stayed as part of an organised holiday. No lifts in either the main building or annexe - not suitable for disabled travellers. The rooms are excellent for a 3 star hotel but lacking for a 4 star. Breakfast on the first morning was a disaster as they could not cope with over 30 guests wishing to eat within 45 mins. The scrambled egg and smoked salmon was literally inedible. Breakfasts subsequently improved but how can you not have marmalade !.The food in the evening was definitely 4 star as was the bar with an amazing selection of malts.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Facchino46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (787)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

591 - 597 of 787 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2012

This was a comfortable hotel with ample parking. Two main buildings but no lifts in either. Help with baggage from staff will be needed for the more mature traveller! The food was absolutely brilliant, a wide breakfast choice and delicious evening menu. The desserts were to die for!
Wonderful views over the River Ness and a short walk to the town centre which offers many shops in the new Eastgate Centre and lovely Victorian market. We stayed for four nights as part of a Steam Rail holiday tour booked through Page and Moy. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShirleyBanbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

First, the good things--the food, the bar, the room including all the amenities expected from a 4/5 star hotel and good views over the River Ness if you are fortunate enough to have a river view room all of which contributed to a desire to award the hotel more than a 3* rating BUT be warned--the hotel has no lifts, so if you have mobility problems make sure the hotel knows well in advance.I was travelling with a friend as part of a package trip and we were placed in different buildings. On arrival, the reception staff were awash with problems as the trip included a number of people with mobility problems and the package operator/hotel had totally failed to establish who had problems in advance. Result:chaos as changes were made and at least 1 older lady ended up in tears. I think that perhaps the 'demands' of a large group also strained the resources as the food,though excellent, was slow to arrive (personally, not a major issue as presentation, quality etc was excellent, but a point to note--probably a different matter for individual travelers eating a la carte) and requests for salt etc tended to be forgotten in the general effort to provide the food,though this when it arrived was worth the wait and was served on hot plates with excellent presentation. taste etc.

Overall, a good place to stay and I would certainly consider going there again especially if travelling independently.Another plus was the provision of an excellent set of in room facilities--hot chocolate, filter coffee, biscuits (shortbread--what else in Scotland?) and a bottle each of still and sparkling water replaced daily

Room Tip: request river view and advise of any mobility problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gethyn60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

A lovely hotel - perfect location along the river and an easy walk to city center. The room was spotless, classy, comfortable, with a wonderful view of the river. Due to a miscommunication on my part, we were upgraded to this lovely room. When I questioned the additional charge, they honored the price I was quoted in booking.com. It was MY mistake - and they were so gracious. That says a great deal about this place. The breakfast was outstanding - a huge spread plus a menu of hot selections. First time for poached haddock -- and loved it. Even at the higher price, I think it is very well priced and would absolutely stay again and recommend it to others (and I would recommend you ask for a room with a view and pay the extra --- worth it!). Only issue - no elevator is the portion we stayed (a separate house)... ok for us but would be an issue for someone less mobile.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the river - worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SavvyTaveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Had lunch here yesterday. After an excellent starter (pate), the sirloin steak was very tough and unpalatable.The pudding was fair. All in all,a poor lunch in what has been one of our favourite Inverness restaurants.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank redpriest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012 via mobile

Arrived bank holiday stayed 2 nts had per theatre dinner lovely?!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali-ayr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Stayed here during a quick break exploring scotland after moving up from manchester.
We love inverness and the walk along the river to the hotel is lovely.
Our room was on the ground floor, over looking the river and huge in size.
Everything seemed very clean and breakfast was decent enough.
Not cheap, but would stay again

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stuart d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#6 of 36 in Inverness
1,846 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 36 in Inverness
617 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
0.5 mi away
Craigmonie Hotel & Leisure Ltd.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenmoriston Town House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenmoriston Town House

Address: 20 Ness Bank, Inverness IV2 4SF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Inverness
#7 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
Price Range: £49 - £327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenmoriston Town House 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glenmoriston Town House Inverness is a stylish four star deluxe property on the banks of the River Ness, perfectly located within the heart of the capital of the highlands it provides an impressive contrast to the cities more traditional hotels. Experience unparalleled luxury in one of our 30 stylish bedrooms, designed with comfort in mind and boasting heavenly beds, delicious duvets, fluffy towels and luxury toiletries not to mention the impeccable service you'd expect! The hotel encompasses the finest in Scottish culture with luxury and style and provides an ideal base for those who wish to explore Scotland's abundance of unique landmarks. The Glenmoriston Town House is conveniently just twenty minutes from Inverness Airport and only ten minutes walk from the city main line station. Great food and wine are very much entwined in the Glenmoriston Town House experience and we offer an exceptional restaurant. For a memorable culinary experience, visit our chic and stylish Contrast Brasserie. In addition, the hotel's destination Piano Bar offers Scotland's finest whiskies from over 250 distilleries and our mixologists are constantly developing the most wonderful cocktails to tantalise even the most demanding taste buds. The Glenmoriston Town House will ensure a quality stay whether business or pleasure. Just over 3 hours from Edinburgh or Glasgow it is the perfect property for any number of occasions, be it family get together, sporting holiday, romantic escape, or just a break away from it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Glenmoriston Town House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenmoriston Town House Hotel Inverness
Glenmoriston Town Hotel
Glenmoriston Town Inverness
Glenmoriston Town House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing