We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A big improvement since May!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Glenmoriston Town House
Ranked #14 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Scottish Highlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A big improvement since May!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

In May of this year I criticised the quality of the sirloin steak I was served at Glenmoriston Town House. The other day, I sampled the same dish again and thoroughly enjoyed my lunch. The steak was quite thick and as tender as you would ever expect for an inexpensive meal . It had a good flavour too. For £1.20 extra, I was served a delicious sauce. The chips were also very good.
The starter and pudding were fine, although not quite in the same league as the main dish, but all told this was a most enjoyable meal at a decent price. As an added bonus, the waitress was very helpful.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank redpriest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    247
    122
    52
    39
See reviews for
62
399
39
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

Stayed for the loch Ness Marathon, booked room number 10 which is down as a superior double room. I paid £175 for one night bed and breakfast, my expectations were pretty high given the price.
However the room size was poor, the lock on the bathroom door does not work, it was the type of lock you would put on your shed not in keeping with what it should be, room was clean except for the dust and wrappers under the bed but for the price no better than a premier inn. Ok I hear the manager saying, 'But you have the location' yes you do but so does the premier inn just along the riverbank. Lots of room noises during the night from next doors shower or fan.
Breakfast was not great but not bad, but not worthy of note.
I did mention to staff when I was there that I though the prices were way too high for the product and experience so not to hide behind trip advisor, they just said it was the best room.
On a positive not the bed was very comfy and the staff were just fine, needs a bit of spending the rooms to justify the very very high prices, I stay in London and you can get better deals with better accommodation than this, I feel that Inverness milks the tourists for what they can get expecially if there is an event on.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations01, Guest Relations Manager at Glenmoriston Town House, responded to this review, 2 October 2012
We are most disappointed to hear that your stay with us did not quite hit the mark. We are continually receiving high commendations for our service, but will of course take on board your comments to ensure we are consistently delivering to the levels expected of our guests.

The room you stayed in was in fact only one level above our cheapest room, these begin from a modest £145 for a room in a award wining four-star hotel, which is not the premium that your review may lead people to believe. I note that you where staying the weekend of the Lochness Marathon and naturally this is a peak date in the Inverness calendar and thus accommodation prices in the city are increased inline with our competitor set pricing.

Our breakfast offering is in the most part very well received, with our executive chef placing emphasis on maintaining the standards of the hotel at every fine dining experience that our guests sit down to.

Our hard-working team of staff constantly receive praise from our guests, so it was disappointing to read that you felt that were not reactive to your comments. - with all staff are encouraged to grow professionally and personally.

Kind regards,

Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

Well presented, nicely furnished, well stocked bar.....but let down by slow service and lack of staff. Breakfast bar was nothing special and there was no grapefruit!! Bread for toasting was straight from the freezer with the choice of marmalade and one variety of jam. Cooked breakfast took almost forever to prepare but when it arrived it was tasty. Just half a wardrobe for 2 people, we lived out of the suitcase. It may have been an 'off weekend' but it was very expensive for what we got. The receptionist was helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginge59_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations01, Guest Relations Manager at Glenmoriston Town House, responded to this review, 30 September 2012
We were disappointment to read that you were left feeling displeased with your stay at The Glenmoriston Town House Hotel. We encourage all of guests to raise any issues with the members of staff on duty, which not only maintains our reputation for four-star luxury but also ensures that every guest has an unforgettable experience.

Kind regards,

Jonathan McConnachie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

We stayed here on Sunday evening. The only room left was room number 5 a double superior room costing £155 pn.
The room was very small certainly not a superior size in my eyes. Bathroom was a good size though.
The room was right above reception so we heard everything the front door was banging constantly until 2.40 am with a lot of noise of people shouting and running up and downstairs.
We could also hear the floorboards creeking of the rooms above/beside us.
We had to ask for towels as there was only one bath towel in our room.
Breakfast was a total disaster. We sat at the table for 10 minutes before a waitress came and acknowledged we were even there. Other guests were also complaining about the wait. We ordered our breakfast which arrived 35 Mins later. We had to ask for butter and some kind of fresh juice as all the jugs were empty. One other guest asked for fresh fruit and the waitress replied it over in the other building at the wedding breakfast. Not a great reply. The staff were very young and didnt seem interest their guests. On the plus side the hotel was spotlessly clean and our room did have a lovely view over the ness, but we wont be recommending it.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations01, General Manager at Glenmoriston Town House, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
We are so very sorry to learn of your disappointing visit as we receive so many positive compliments of the hotel, however be assured that as with all guest feedback corrective steps will be taken. Our team are usually so very helpful and are aware that it is vital to maintain a relaxed environment and ambiance for all our guests to enjoy, so we thank you for your comments that help us to continually monitor and so improve the services we provide.

Kind regards,

Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maplewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

We stayed here one night in late August. The room was modern, clean, and comfortable. The room was a little on the small side but it's in an old building so that didn't come as a total surprise. The hotel was very quiet for sleeping at night and not too far from the city center. Perfect distance for strolling to dinner and back. We didn't get a chance to eat at either of the hotel's restaurants but they looked very nice and will try next time we go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sailgirl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations01, Guest Relations Manager at Glenmoriston Town House, responded to this review, 8 September 2012
Firstly, thank you for choosing The Glenmoriston Town House as the destination for your stay in Inverness.

While it is slightly disappointing that you felt the bedroom was small for your needs l am nonetheless pleased to read that you overall enjoyed your stay with us. The team at The Glenmoriston Town House works diligently to ensure our guests receive the highest standards of service, and would ask that you call ahead of your next visit and we will do our utmost to allocate a larger bedroom for you.

Furthermore as we offer a choice of dining and as a destination establishment we are the only hotel to own a 3 AA Red Rosette accolade I would urge you to dine with us and enjoy a great culinary experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Glenmoriston in the near future.

Kind regards,

Jonathan McConnachie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pfaeffikon, Switzerland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

Booked a superior room and upon arrival got a room above recepcion that was very small and with a mini double bed. Asked recepcion about the situation and the only comment was that the bed had been replaced because it had broken and was not queen size, but no other room was available. This first night we spent in a room that is definitely not superior.
On the next morning I asked to change rooms and it was no problem, we got "the best superior room in the hotel" in the other house and the room was twice a big as the first one, and to be honest very nice.
All in all the hotel is good but it is surprising to get "downgraded" when you have payed for a superior room without financial compensation.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaco1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations01, General Manager at Glenmoriston Town House, responded to this review, 9 September 2012
Dear guest,

We are sorry that your initial experience didnt meet with your expecations or our usually high standards, however the initial room allocated was one within our Deluxe category albeit the bed had been replaced with a larger wrought iron one which till now has been well received. This however shouldnt have had any impact on your experience and we hope this will not deter you from staying with us in the future.

Kind regards,

Jonathan McConnachie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
321 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

This is a nice clean hotel, great staff and very central, it is near the river and the center of town. The restaurant is top class, great menu and service, good quality local produce. nice breakfast too

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimbo367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations01, Guest Relations Manager at Glenmoriston Town House, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
It is always wonderful to read feedback from our guests, many thanks for taking the time to post this review on TripAdvisor. I hope that you agree that we provide an impressive contrast to the cities more traditional hotels.

Great food and wine are very much entwined in the Glenmoriston Town House experience and we are delighted that you enjoyed a memorable culinary experience, as we hold the accolade of being the only 3 AA Rosette hotel restaurant in Inverness!

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Glenmoriston Town House.

Kind regards,

Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
0.7 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#8 of 34 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
3.6 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Waterside Hotel
The Waterside Hotel
#15 of 34 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenmoriston Town House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenmoriston Town House

Property: Glenmoriston Town House
Address: 20 Ness Bank, Inverness IV2 4SF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Inverness
#7 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenmoriston Town House 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glenmoriston Town House Inverness is a stylish four star deluxe property on the banks of the River Ness, perfectly located within the heart of the capital of the highlands it provides an impressive contrast to the cities more traditional hotels. Experience unparalleled luxury in one of our 30 stylish bedrooms, designed with comfort in mind and boasting heavenly beds, delicious duvets, fluffy towels and luxury toiletries not to mention the impeccable service you'd expect! The hotel encompasses the finest in Scottish culture with luxury and style and provides an ideal base for those who wish to explore Scotland's abundance of unique landmarks. The Glenmoriston Town House is conveniently just twenty minutes from Inverness Airport and only ten minutes walk from the city main line station. Great food and wine are very much entwined in the Glenmoriston Town House experience and we offer an exceptional restaurant. For a memorable culinary experience, visit our chic and stylish Contrast Brasserie. In addition, the hotel's destination Piano Bar offers Scotland's finest whiskies from over 250 distilleries and our mixologists are constantly developing the most wonderful cocktails to tantalise even the most demanding taste buds. The Glenmoriston Town House will ensure a quality stay whether business or pleasure. Just over 3 hours from Edinburgh or Glasgow it is the perfect property for any number of occasions, be it family get together, sporting holiday, romantic escape, or just a break away from it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Glenmoriston Town House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenmoriston Town House Hotel Inverness
Glenmoriston Town Hotel
Glenmoriston Town Inverness
Glenmoriston Town House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing