We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not value for money!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Glenmoriston Town House
Ranked #14 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Stirling, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not value for money!!”
Reviewed 14 October 2012

We were really excited about our stay in what looked like a classy hotel............on arrival we were kept waiting while receptionist finished on the computer, we were then advised (for the first time) that we were not staying in the main hotel and our credit card was swiped for double the cost of the hotel room. When we entered our room we were extremely disappointed at the size and lack of light. We had an attic room and had to duck to walk at one side of the bed and when we phoned down about the lighting we were told there was only a bedside light in that room. The shower cubicle was tiny and leaked all over the bathroom floor. Also, at breakfast we had to wait ages for a slice of brown bread!!It was no better than a standard bed and breakfast and to be quite honest we were wishing we had simply booked to stay at the travelodge or something similar. However it did have a comfy bed, some nice staff and a nice location.

Room Tip: Make sure you are not in room 28!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations01, Guest Relations Manager at Glenmoriston Town House, responded to this review, 25 October 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback about your stay at The Glenmoriston Town House. I am disappointed to hear that your experience did not live up to your expectations. I would very much appreciate the opportunity to speak to you further; I invite you to contact me directly at your convenience.

Kind Regards,


Jon McConnachie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    251
    125
    52
    39
See reviews for
63
405
40
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coatbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

We booked 2 nights in the Glenmoriston Town House hotel as the last of our honeymoon tour of a few Scottish cities (Glasgow, Edinburgh, Perth and Inverness) as it was our honeymoon we thought we would “splash out” and spend a little more on a nice hotel on the banks of the River Ness. Its location is spot on and on first impression it’s a beautiful hotel. The Piano bar is really nice and sophisticated (a little expensive) but hey you pay a little more for a bit of class eh!?(Bar staff were spot on) ..We were on the top floor facing the river so had 2 flights of stairs and no lift. So it was a pain trying to get our cases up the winding stairs. We got into our room at 4pm which to be fair was nice but I’m afraid was no bigger than a budget hotel room and not much better looking. We went out in Inverness that night and came home about 1am to be met with a rather grumpy night porter that I think we woke up as we couldn’t get the front door open. The bed was really comfy but I couldn’t work out why our feet kept on falling out the bottom of the bed and only realized when I put a drink on the bedside cabinet and it slide onto the floor that the floor was on a hill. Basically we were falling out of bed.
The breakfast on day one was lovely but on day two we waited 10 mins to be seen then 45 min to get our breakfast...I had to ask the girl if they had forgot about us as everybody had left the restaurant and we were the only people left and it was past the 10am serving time. When the food came it was a shambles. Nearly everything on the plate was under cooked or cold! I’m sorry if you think we are being picky here but I’ve not mentioned the fact we paid £310 for two nights and I’m afraid this was terrible value. (£155 was taken on arrival?? Could we not be trusted to pay on departure??).If this was a Premier Lodge or Holiday Express these things wouldnt be such a big thing but The Glenmoriston really wants to be a four star Luxurious hotel but is nowhere near that! We were in 4 other hotels in the two week period that we paid nowhere near as much that were so much better…We enjoyed Inverness, it’s a fantastic city but we left with a feeling of really not getting anywhere close to value of money. After a few days in it, it felt like a rather expensive Bed and Breakfast with a nice bar and restaurant below it.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nespa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations01, Guest Relations Manager at Glenmoriston Town House, responded to this review, 25 October 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your stay at The Glenmoriston Town House. We appreciate all our guests’ comments and will take this into account as we are always striving to improve our guests’ experience. I would very much like to speak to you further about your stay, and I invite you to contact me directly at your convenience.

Best wishes,

Jon McConnachie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen Scotland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

We stayed for one night last weekend en route to Isle of Skye. We requested a Superior room to ensure we got a view over the river. Room was large and comfortable. All facilities we expected were available within the room. The bathroom could be done with some updating but was clean with a powerful shower. The bar is lovely, modern but very comfortable. We dined out that night but previously have had lovely dinner within the hotel. Breakfast in the morning was fantastic - never had 'Fine Dining Breakfast' before! Staff were friendly and helpful. Would recommend and would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jockette67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations01, Guest Relations Manager at Glenmoriston Town House, responded to this review, 25 October 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to leave such a kind review of your recent stay at The Glenmoriston Town House Hotel. I am pleased to read how much you appreciated the service and how well looked after you felt during your stay. I am also pleased to read that you were able to enjoy dining in our award wining 3 AA Rosette Abstract Restaurant. I will share you feedback with the team and
I looked forward to welcoming you back here again soon.

Best wishes,

Jonathan McConnachie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
148 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Booked a last minute overnight stay with breakfast and got a fantastic deal on the price. Lovely room with double aspect windows looking out over the River Ness. The room was spotless, very well furnished and comfortable. The staff friendly and efficient and it had good car parking facilities. The breakfast choices were exceptionally good - catering for a wide variety of tastes.
One thing - the advertised prices are very steep so it's worth using a site like laterooms at the last minute - we got an upgraded room for a fraction of the price. Would definitely stay again if we got the same sort of deal.

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor room facing out over the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladyguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Great place to stay in Inverness, we had a room overlooking the river Ness, which was delightful. We had 2 nights there and the room/ en suite was clean and comfortable. Location could not be better.
Recomended.

Room Tip: Room 25, 2 windows overlooking the Ness
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emu15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottish Highlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

In May of this year I criticised the quality of the sirloin steak I was served at Glenmoriston Town House. The other day, I sampled the same dish again and thoroughly enjoyed my lunch. The steak was quite thick and as tender as you would ever expect for an inexpensive meal . It had a good flavour too. For £1.20 extra, I was served a delicious sauce. The chips were also very good.
The starter and pudding were fine, although not quite in the same league as the main dish, but all told this was a most enjoyable meal at a decent price. As an added bonus, the waitress was very helpful.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank redpriest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Stayed for the loch Ness Marathon, booked room number 10 which is down as a superior double room. I paid £175 for one night bed and breakfast, my expectations were pretty high given the price.
However the room size was poor, the lock on the bathroom door does not work, it was the type of lock you would put on your shed not in keeping with what it should be, room was clean except for the dust and wrappers under the bed but for the price no better than a premier inn. Ok I hear the manager saying, 'But you have the location' yes you do but so does the premier inn just along the riverbank. Lots of room noises during the night from next doors shower or fan.
Breakfast was not great but not bad, but not worthy of note.
I did mention to staff when I was there that I though the prices were way too high for the product and experience so not to hide behind trip advisor, they just said it was the best room.
On a positive not the bed was very comfy and the staff were just fine, needs a bit of spending the rooms to justify the very very high prices, I stay in London and you can get better deals with better accommodation than this, I feel that Inverness milks the tourists for what they can get expecially if there is an event on.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations01, Guest Relations Manager at Glenmoriston Town House, responded to this review, 2 October 2012
We are most disappointed to hear that your stay with us did not quite hit the mark. We are continually receiving high commendations for our service, but will of course take on board your comments to ensure we are consistently delivering to the levels expected of our guests.

The room you stayed in was in fact only one level above our cheapest room, these begin from a modest £145 for a room in a award wining four-star hotel, which is not the premium that your review may lead people to believe. I note that you where staying the weekend of the Lochness Marathon and naturally this is a peak date in the Inverness calendar and thus accommodation prices in the city are increased inline with our competitor set pricing.

Our breakfast offering is in the most part very well received, with our executive chef placing emphasis on maintaining the standards of the hotel at every fine dining experience that our guests sit down to.

Our hard-working team of staff constantly receive praise from our guests, so it was disappointing to read that you felt that were not reactive to your comments. - with all staff are encouraged to grow professionally and personally.

Kind regards,

Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
0.7 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#9 of 34 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
3.6 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Waterside Hotel
The Waterside Hotel
#15 of 34 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenmoriston Town House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenmoriston Town House

Property: Glenmoriston Town House
Address: 20 Ness Bank, Inverness IV2 4SF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Inverness
#7 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenmoriston Town House 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glenmoriston Town House Inverness is a stylish four star deluxe property on the banks of the River Ness, perfectly located within the heart of the capital of the highlands it provides an impressive contrast to the cities more traditional hotels. Experience unparalleled luxury in one of our 30 stylish bedrooms, designed with comfort in mind and boasting heavenly beds, delicious duvets, fluffy towels and luxury toiletries not to mention the impeccable service you'd expect! The hotel encompasses the finest in Scottish culture with luxury and style and provides an ideal base for those who wish to explore Scotland's abundance of unique landmarks. The Glenmoriston Town House is conveniently just twenty minutes from Inverness Airport and only ten minutes walk from the city main line station. Great food and wine are very much entwined in the Glenmoriston Town House experience and we offer an exceptional restaurant. For a memorable culinary experience, visit our chic and stylish Contrast Brasserie. In addition, the hotel's destination Piano Bar offers Scotland's finest whiskies from over 250 distilleries and our mixologists are constantly developing the most wonderful cocktails to tantalise even the most demanding taste buds. The Glenmoriston Town House will ensure a quality stay whether business or pleasure. Just over 3 hours from Edinburgh or Glasgow it is the perfect property for any number of occasions, be it family get together, sporting holiday, romantic escape, or just a break away from it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Glenmoriston Town House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenmoriston Town House Hotel Inverness
Glenmoriston Town Hotel
Glenmoriston Town Inverness
Glenmoriston Town House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing