We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great ending to a bad day.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Glenmoriston Town House
Ranked #13 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A great ending to a bad day.”
Reviewed 30 October 2012

After experiencing a trying flight and an airport with no taxi's, it was a welcome relief when I pulled up to this hotel.
A walk welcome from the receptionist, and from what I could see, the hotel bar looked stylish and warm.
The room was tastefully decorated, modern but sympathetic to the period building. A spacious bathroom and a big comfy bed.
As it was late I ordered room service and my meal was delicious (but order a side as the portion wasn't that big). Breakfast was just as good with a nice meal and good service.
I stayed at this hotel through work, but I have already told hubby that I'm taking him up there for a weekend treat.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RuthandCraig75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations01, Guest Relations Manager at Glenmoriston Town House, responded to this review, 31 October 2012
Dear Ruth, many thanks for taking the time to leave such a lovely review of your recent trip to The Glenmoriston Town House and it is a pleasure to read how much you enjoyed your time with us. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best wishes

Jonathan McConnachie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    252
    125
    52
    39
See reviews for
63
406
40
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ellon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

My husband and I spent saturday and Sunday night in the Glenmoriston on a Xmas shopping weekend; have to say we were hugely disappointed with the whole experience beginning with no-one at reception when we arrived just after 4pm; room was nicely furnished but very small and no clock for some reason; we were advised when checking in that both restaurants were fully booked. In the morning after enjoying an extra hour in bed owing to the clocks going back we went down for breakfast only to be told the chef had disappeared; we waited 30 minutes and were then told he had overslept because he hadn't turned his alarm clock back (the clocks had gone back so technically he should have been early), breakfast eventually came a little cold and a little undercooked; following day we awoke to no hot water and on enquiring were told that the boiler had broken down; no update was given so we checked out and left the hotel having been asked to pay when we checked in - only two good things worth mention were the brother and sister working behind the whisky bar and the very comfortable bed; no point in asking us to contact the hotel we never saw any management during the whole stay; so too late now.This hotel has delusions of grandeur and gave little value for money.

Room Tip: Try and get the biggest room you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aileen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations01, Guest Relations Manager at Glenmoriston Town House, responded to this review, 31 October 2012
The hotel manager is attempting to contact you directly to discuss the issues you have highlighted in this TripAdvisor review. Should you wish to talk about this matter further, you will shortly have the opportunity to discuss your stay with him. Thank you for taking the time to write this review and bringing this matter to our attention.

Best wishes,

Jonathan McConnachie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
twin cities
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012

This lovely and romantic property is located in a beautiful setting directly on the River Ness, a five minute walk from city center.

Its 30 guestrooms are elegantly decorated with soft wool carpeting, comfortable beds, flat screen TV’s and Wi-Fi internet connectivity. The hotel’s Abstract restaurant is stylish and award-winning, and its piano bar offers a huge list of malt whiskies. The hotel is absolutely perfect. Call well in advance for reservations.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TwinCitiesBernie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations01, Guest Relations Manager at Glenmoriston Town House, responded to this review, 31 October 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to leave such a kind review of your recent stay at The Glenmoriston Town House. I am pleased to read how much you appreciated the service and how well looked after you felt during your stay. I am also pleased to read that you were able to enjoy dining in Abstract. I will share you feedback with the team and I looked forward to welcoming you back here again soon.

Best wishes,

Jonathan McConnachie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Stayed one night in the room pictured. Spacious room with huge, high, comfy bed and bay window with river views. Great location, quiet, yet only a short walk from the centre of town.
Staff all very friendly. The pre-theatre menu is very good value and the food is all of excellent quality. Hot breakfast cooked to order - a vast range on offer - also lots to choose from the breakfast bar (self-service). Ample parking around the hotel.
There is no lift so this could be a problem for some - though staff on hand to carry luggage.
On the way back from the Highlands we also stayed here but this time in an "executive" room. This was much smaller and situated in another building across the car park. Though OK for us, traipsing across to main building for bar and meals could be a nuisance.

Room Tip: Check whether you are in the main building or not. Superior doubles are spacious and have good river...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosemary b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations01, Guest Relations Manager at Glenmoriston Town House, responded to this review, 25 October 2012
Many thanks for your kind review of your recent trip to The Glenmoriston Town House. I am very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay and how much you enjoyed dinner with us. It will be a pleasure to share your review with the team here and I look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.

Best wishes,

Jonathan McConnachie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Ohio
Level Contributor
104 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

We thought the room was too small and we heard noise from the restaurant downstairs. The location was beautiful on the River Ness. We enjoyed the walking path along River. Downtown was just a short walk.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sdownhow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

This small hotel and restaurant was a real pleasure to locate ourselves at on this first trip to Inverness. The friendly staff were efficient helpful and although the restaurant looked a bit expensive the food was fabulous and therefore I was happy to pay the price (the breakfast was also very nice). More importantly was the location, right on the bank of the River Ness and a five minute walk into town centre, castle, etc. The rooms were nice if a bit small and needed a little freshening up but otherwise very good (not excellent hence the rating). I would be happy to go back again and hope to do so sometime very soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations01, Guest Relations Manager at Glenmoriston Town House, responded to this review, 26 October 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to leave such great feedback relating to your stay. It is very important to us that all guests feel at home and so I am delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your visit to The Glenmoriston Town House.

We look forward to welcoming you all back.

Best Wishes,

Jonathan McConnachie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 October 2012

We were really excited about our stay in what looked like a classy hotel............on arrival we were kept waiting while receptionist finished on the computer, we were then advised (for the first time) that we were not staying in the main hotel and our credit card was swiped for double the cost of the hotel room. When we entered our room we were extremely disappointed at the size and lack of light. We had an attic room and had to duck to walk at one side of the bed and when we phoned down about the lighting we were told there was only a bedside light in that room. The shower cubicle was tiny and leaked all over the bathroom floor. Also, at breakfast we had to wait ages for a slice of brown bread!!It was no better than a standard bed and breakfast and to be quite honest we were wishing we had simply booked to stay at the travelodge or something similar. However it did have a comfy bed, some nice staff and a nice location.

Room Tip: Make sure you are not in room 28!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations01, Guest Relations Manager at Glenmoriston Town House, responded to this review, 25 October 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback about your stay at The Glenmoriston Town House. I am disappointed to hear that your experience did not live up to your expectations. I would very much appreciate the opportunity to speak to you further; I invite you to contact me directly at your convenience.

Kind Regards,


Jon McConnachie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
0.7 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#9 of 34 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
3.6 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Waterside Hotel
The Waterside Hotel
#15 of 34 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenmoriston Town House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenmoriston Town House

Property: Glenmoriston Town House
Address: 20 Ness Bank, Inverness IV2 4SF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Inverness
#7 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenmoriston Town House 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glenmoriston Town House Inverness is a stylish four star deluxe property on the banks of the River Ness, perfectly located within the heart of the capital of the highlands it provides an impressive contrast to the cities more traditional hotels. Experience unparalleled luxury in one of our 30 stylish bedrooms, designed with comfort in mind and boasting heavenly beds, delicious duvets, fluffy towels and luxury toiletries not to mention the impeccable service you'd expect! The hotel encompasses the finest in Scottish culture with luxury and style and provides an ideal base for those who wish to explore Scotland's abundance of unique landmarks. The Glenmoriston Town House is conveniently just twenty minutes from Inverness Airport and only ten minutes walk from the city main line station. Great food and wine are very much entwined in the Glenmoriston Town House experience and we offer an exceptional restaurant. For a memorable culinary experience, visit our chic and stylish Contrast Brasserie. In addition, the hotel's destination Piano Bar offers Scotland's finest whiskies from over 250 distilleries and our mixologists are constantly developing the most wonderful cocktails to tantalise even the most demanding taste buds. The Glenmoriston Town House will ensure a quality stay whether business or pleasure. Just over 3 hours from Edinburgh or Glasgow it is the perfect property for any number of occasions, be it family get together, sporting holiday, romantic escape, or just a break away from it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Glenmoriston Town House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenmoriston Town House Hotel Inverness
Glenmoriston Town Hotel
Glenmoriston Town Inverness
Glenmoriston Town House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing