We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel in a Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Glenmoriston Town House
Ranked #15 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel in a Great Location”
Reviewed 4 June 2013

This hotel is *very* conveniently located to the pubs and restaurants in Inverness' town center (ex: ~4 minute walk from the Castle Tavern), which is really this hotel's main selling point. It is located right on the river Ness next to a few other hotels which offer additional restaurant options if you don't like the hotel's pricey bar/restaurant options.

The hotel's breakfast offers grilled-to-order options along with a buffet which is nice.
Being a converted house, the layout of the hotel is really bizarre and different rooms can be completely different. One of our rooms did not have a mounted showerheard due to the slant in the ceiling.

Room Tip: Avoid the room on the third floor, it has a slanted roof which prevents a shower head from being mou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingYarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    257
    132
    55
    41
See reviews for
66
424
42
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013 via mobile

Location is the highlight of this place, the sound of the flowing river Ness soothens your senses to no end. The hotel is at a short walk from the city center and yet is a quite place. The breakfast and service was good.

If I ever visit Inverness again, I would definitely look forward to staying here.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shabeer28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North West
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013 via mobile

Riverside hotel with stunning views from the front.
We were in the annexe which was fine. Wish I had requested a river view.
Room very clean and had everything we needed for our stay.
Would definitely stay again.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank travelaholic_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Skye, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We stopped here on our way to a holiday in Italy and again on our return from the airport. On both occasions we had a wonderful night's rest and super meals. The staff were all very friendly and attentive. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank E10Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We had our wedding at the Glenmoriston on the 20th April, and everything about the whole experience was just fantastic. We were looked after extremely well throughout the whole planning process by Ben, who continued his amazing service right through to the very end of the wedding day. We can't thank him enough. We were married in a gorgeous room of the hotel, and the hotel is in a beautiful location on the river. We had more guests than the hotel normally accomodates, but they pulled everything off without any problems. All the staff were very efficient and friendly. The food was AMAZING! We especially enjoyed the tasting day when we go try all of our ideas just the two of us - we were really looked after! We stayed in the honeymoon suite and it was a lovely, big room overlooking the river. Extremely comfy bed! All of our guests who stayed overnight also said their rooms were very nice and comfy too. Overall, the wedding was absolutely amazing - thanks to Ben and all the staff at the Glenmoriston. We couldn't have asked for it to be any better! :)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We decided to treat ourselves to a hotel break when we were unable to get accommodation in the serviced apartments we usually use. We knew the location of the hotel and after looking at the website pictures and reviews, decided to book Glenmoriston Townhouse Hotel for three nights.

We were allocated a room in the annexe which bore no resemblance to what we were expecting. Basically clean, the bed was very comfortable, the view of the river was lovely, albeit over the roof of the floor underneath, but I'm afraid that's all I can say in their favour.

Breakfast on morning one was a complete disaster which made us reluctant to use the restaurant in the evening, but they improved slightly by sticking to poached eggs for days two and three.

I wouldn't rush back.......

Room Tip: Not the annexe!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fishingvillage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ullapool
1 review
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Stayed overnight with wedding party and enjoyed every minute. Although check-in is late due to a late check-out policy they ensured the room was ready within the hour as promised on arrival. Spacious room (great shower) with a view over the river. All the staff were friendly and welcoming. If you are a malt whisky fan then you have to pop in and see the vast range in stock behind the bar. Great venue..great weekend.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhiteRose72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
0.7 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#9 of 34 in Inverness
1,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
0.5 mi away
pentahotel Inverness
pentahotel Inverness
#22 of 34 in Inverness
1,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenmoriston Town House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenmoriston Town House

Property: Glenmoriston Town House
Address: 20 Ness Bank, Inverness IV2 4SF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Inverness
#8 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenmoriston Town House 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glenmoriston Town House Inverness is a stylish four star deluxe property on the banks of the River Ness, perfectly located within the heart of the capital of the highlands it provides an impressive contrast to the cities more traditional hotels. Experience unparalleled luxury in one of our 30 stylish bedrooms, designed with comfort in mind and boasting heavenly beds, delicious duvets, fluffy towels and luxury toiletries not to mention the impeccable service you'd expect! The hotel encompasses the finest in Scottish culture with luxury and style and provides an ideal base for those who wish to explore Scotland's abundance of unique landmarks. The Glenmoriston Town House is conveniently just twenty minutes from Inverness Airport and only ten minutes walk from the city main line station. Great food and wine are very much entwined in the Glenmoriston Town House experience and we offer an exceptional restaurant. For a memorable culinary experience, visit our chic and stylish Contrast Brasserie. In addition, the hotel's destination Piano Bar offers Scotland's finest whiskies from over 250 distilleries and our mixologists are constantly developing the most wonderful cocktails to tantalise even the most demanding taste buds. The Glenmoriston Town House will ensure a quality stay whether business or pleasure. Just over 3 hours from Edinburgh or Glasgow it is the perfect property for any number of occasions, be it family get together, sporting holiday, romantic escape, or just a break away from it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Glenmoriston Town House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenmoriston Town House Hotel Inverness
Glenmoriston Town Hotel
Glenmoriston Town Inverness
Glenmoriston Town House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing