We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Room was fine but don't miss the Abstract” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glenmoriston Town House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Glenmoriston Town House
Ranked #14 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Castro Valley, California
Level Contributor
112 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Room was fine but don't miss the Abstract”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Our room looked out over the river and was more than adequate.The highlight of the stay was dinner at their restaurant Abstract. The food, and service, was much more than I expected from a small hotel. With over 200 bottles of whisky to choose from I was in heaven. Our only complaint was with breakfast. Our receipt when we checked in had the breakfast hours printed on the form, so we ate there the first two days. On the third day we sat down for breakfast, and after giving our room number, we were informed that our room rate didn't include the meal. At 17 pounds each our bill increased considerably. If you stay here be sure to clarify if your breakfast is included. The location of the hotel is excellent, and don't miss a walk to the islands in the middle of the River.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuck D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    242
    120
    52
    39
See reviews for
62
392
36
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

As ever, I will review my stay at the hotel honestly and as I found it.
Location: Excellent location looking over the river Ness and a couple of minutes from the town centre
I arrived at the hotel and was booked in quickly by a friendly member of staff and directed to the annex section of the hotel. The room was clean however on the small side, which wasn't a problem to be honest, however I found the bed to be to small. I was staying on my own so didn't present a great issue but for two people would have been cramped. The lighting in the room was poor with only the light from two lamps. Getting drinks at the bar late was not a problem.
Breakfast, I have to say very poor: 1 Sausage, 1 rasher of bacon, 1 Scone, I piece of black pudding (no beans). The guy serving was bordering on rude. One member of the group ordered Poached eggs on toast and gave up waiting and left.
I never moan unnecessarily however for £137 for one night is excessive

Room Tip: Ask for a room over looking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
319 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Where do I start to rave about this little hotel? Let's see...the staff. Everyone, and I mean everyone, at this hotel was friendly and service oriented and there wasn't any request that they didn't try hard to meet. Josh, at the front desk, was especially helpful and he even went so far as to pen a farewell letter to me since he was not working when I checked out, and he included 3 tea packets that he knew I especially liked! Now that is service! The breakfast is wonderful, with lots of variety.

I stayed in the deluxe king room in the new addition, just steps away from registration, the restaurant and the main building. The bed and bedding were great, it has a large closet (and they brought me extra hangers), the towels are great (the towel warmer is wonderful), and the shower was great with good water pressure and temperature and easy controls. The amenities include shampoo, body wash, soap, body lotion, shower cap, robe, ironing board and iron. There is no hair dryer or slippers, or cotton swabs or conditioner. There is also no tub. I had laundry done in a day and the service was fine.

The internet was fine and the TV worked great. The lighting in the room was fine.

This hotel is just on the River Ness. It is a little gem, not perfect, but the service is so good that I would stay here again in a minute. They made me feel welcomed and cared for. This staff could teach many of the 5-stars I stay in a thing or two about real service. Don't hesitate to stay here.

Room Tip: Get a room with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christmas2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHtlGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Glenmoriston Town House, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
All the team really appreciated your very kind review and join together in looking forward to welcoming you back. With all good wishes, Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights while attending a wedding in Inverness. Very nice hotel, situated on the banks of the Ness and 5 minutes walk from the town centre. Our room (8) was very comfortable and tastefully decorated, with a hint of tartan! Free wi-fi is provided. The small bathroom had a shower only. Good supplies of shower gel etc were provided, which we were relying on, having travelled with hand luggage only! Bathrobes were also supplied.
The room overlooked the car park, but this didn't cause any noise, although you were certainly aware pf people speaking in the corridor outside.
Breakfasts were very good: an extensive selection of fruit, cereals, pastries etc, and a choice of 5 or 6 items cooked to order. There is a bar and restaurant within the hotel, but we didn't use either. All staff were very friendly without being intrusive.
Checkout was a very civilised midday. Although we didn't avail ourselves of this, the hotel would have looked after our luggage on the day we checked out until wevleft the city.
I must give particular thanks to a member of staff called Claire. We arrived by car from the airport late on a Friday night, (having left the sat nav at home,) to discover road closures and diversions in the city. Our attempts to find the hotel were spectacularly unsuccessful and we ended up phoning the hotel to ask how to find it! Claire stayed on the phone and talked us through the journey, (about 5 or 7 minutes) step by step!
If we visit the city again, we would certainly consider staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrs Picky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHtlGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Glenmoriston Town House, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
I cannot begin to tell you how much your review means to each and every member of the team - a huge thank you. Kind regards, Jon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
Level Contributor
116 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

I had not realised this was a 4star hotel and agree it is probably a good 3 star. Having spent the previous week at different hotels and locations (with varying degress of comfort) on a trip from Inverness to Skye I was so pleased to finally stay in a comfortable and quiet room with an excellent bath and shower. I found all the staff extremely pleasant, especially our waiter (from Alicante) at breakfast. Only downside for older/less abled guests, there is no lift.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sib1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHtlGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Glenmoriston Town House, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Thank you for your review. We pride ourselves on excellent service from friendly staff and I am so pleased to know that we made your stay special, and look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit. Kind regards, Jon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkwall, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Booked 2 nights in executive room with laterooms. That evening I received an email to say the the price was wrong on laterooms but I could have the room and a higher price. I reluctantly replied stating that I would take the room at the higher price. Next day I get a phone call to say that the room isn't available. They did offer us a standard double for night one and 2 x single rooms for night two. Needless to say we booked a proper hotel elsewhere.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHtlGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Glenmoriston Town House, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
On this occasion we simply have to put our hands up for the issue with your Laterooms reservation for which I apologise most sincerely. I know that I myself had direct contact with you however you had made alternative arrangements, that said, I remain sorry for the disappointment we caused you. With all good wishes, Jon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
135 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel sits close to the river Ness. Easy 15 minute walk from the train station. Very comfortable bed and great pillows. Room #9 view of the river is across car park. Full Scottish breakfast available.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank marymorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHtlGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Glenmoriston Town House, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am truly delighted that you enjoyed your experience here. everyone here works so hard to make sure that our customers get the most from time here! We hope to see you in the not too distant future. Kind regards, Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
0.7 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#8 of 34 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Waterside Hotel
The Waterside Hotel
#16 of 34 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenmoriston Town House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenmoriston Town House

Property: Glenmoriston Town House
Address: 20 Ness Bank, Inverness IV2 4SF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Inverness
#7 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenmoriston Town House 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glenmoriston Town House Inverness is a stylish four star deluxe property on the banks of the River Ness, perfectly located within the heart of the capital of the highlands it provides an impressive contrast to the cities more traditional hotels. Experience unparalleled luxury in one of our 30 stylish bedrooms, designed with comfort in mind and boasting heavenly beds, delicious duvets, fluffy towels and luxury toiletries not to mention the impeccable service you'd expect! The hotel encompasses the finest in Scottish culture with luxury and style and provides an ideal base for those who wish to explore Scotland's abundance of unique landmarks. The Glenmoriston Town House is conveniently just twenty minutes from Inverness Airport and only ten minutes walk from the city main line station. Great food and wine are very much entwined in the Glenmoriston Town House experience and we offer an exceptional restaurant. For a memorable culinary experience, visit our chic and stylish Contrast Brasserie. In addition, the hotel's destination Piano Bar offers Scotland's finest whiskies from over 250 distilleries and our mixologists are constantly developing the most wonderful cocktails to tantalise even the most demanding taste buds. The Glenmoriston Town House will ensure a quality stay whether business or pleasure. Just over 3 hours from Edinburgh or Glasgow it is the perfect property for any number of occasions, be it family get together, sporting holiday, romantic escape, or just a break away from it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelsClick, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Glenmoriston Town House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenmoriston Town House Hotel Inverness
Glenmoriston Town Hotel
Glenmoriston Town Inverness
Glenmoriston Town House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing