We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Be careful--not as good as they say” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glenmoriston Town House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glenmoriston Town House
Ranked #14 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Be careful--not as good as they say”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Be careful--this hotel is not that good. Some rooms do not have showers, and the one I had came with a bath and a shower type handle. Except a 'dormer' wall came right across the bath which made it impossible to stand up and wash off.

All rooms have no air conditioning and on a summer day the room heats up horribly. The bed in my room was so soft it was uncomfortable.

The main entrance smells of stale alcohol as the bar is on the right of the entrance. The restaurant is on the left when you walk in and the food is fair.

This hotel is not very good. The service was good but the accommodations below satisfactory.

Room Tip: Must ask for a room with a shower and also have them use a fan to help cool the room down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GoodFoodIsWhatIsGood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHtlGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Glenmoriston Town House, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
The hotel manager, Benjamin Larsen, is attempting to contact you directly to discuss your TripAdvisor review. Should you wish to talk about this matter further, you will shortly have the opportunity to discuss your stay with him.

We appreciate that the room was warmer than normal due to the humid weather experienced. In room air-conditioning isn't something normally synonymous with hotels in the Scottish Highlands as is rarely required, that said we made efforts to comfort you with an in-room fan as well as opening both windows in your bedroom.

We would not wish this to be your lasting memory of The Glenmoriston Town House.

Kind regards,
Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    242
    120
    52
    39
See reviews for
62
392
36
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Erie, Colorado
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We booked the Glenmoriston Town House based on the reviews and found it quite comfortable and pleasant. The room we ended up in had gorgeous views over the River Ness. The beds were excellent and the entire hotel was very clean and well kept. The only drawback to our room was the tub instead of a shower. The tub had a handheld wand for bathing so I managed, so if you want a shower make sure you ask for one.

The dinner was exceptional. The restaurant is lovely and the service and food is impeccable. My husband had the best lamb chops he's ever eaten, and my paella (topped by an enormous prawn) was delicious. We took a long stroll down the river walk after dinner and enjoyed the evening very much.

One final note -- the hotel puts a charge on your credit card when you check in that is substantially higher than the quoted rate for your room. Then when you check out they charge your card for what you have used. Maybe they think you'll drink lots of Scotch and run up a tab or something. Now you know so you don't think you're getting charged the wrong rate.

The front desk staff was helpful and friendly, and the breakfast was excellent, a piping hot Scottish breakfast served with tea and coffee, all while looking out over the stunning River Ness.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie_Ramthun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHtlGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Glenmoriston Town House, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at The Glenmoriston Town House Inverness and many thanks for your kind words. It is great to hear that your experience with us was most enjoyable and that you truly appreciated a number of aspects of your stay. I will be delighted to share your comments with the rest of the team here and we very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Booked this online , knowing Inverness well, and knew the location to be good. Was impressed by the charming and attentive wait staff and bar people and the room, inan annexe , was small , but perfectly clean and adequate. We ate I the A bus tract restaurant and it was immediately clear that it was slick and professional. My only small gripe, and I've noticed this from other reviews is the contrast of service at breakfast. The people serving were attentive and pleasant ( bar one !) however, what is going wrong with the service standard .? There seems no communication between anyone as to who has prepared the table, taken hot food order, offered tea/coffee, toast etc. and it seems an eternal bombardment of mis - communication regarding " would you like tea / coffee ? Has someone taken your hot order to the customer having to say can I have some toast ! All needing simlyfied by an overseer , which is so in stark contrast to the evening experience ! Also, inconsistency in the quality of the buffet - even early on, no fruit, dishes needing topped up etc. it's all ok, but somehow doesn't sit right with the overall standard impression of the rest of the hotel.would I return ? Yes, but after comparing similar options nearby.

Room Tip: Please ignore my points on fitness centre and swimming pool - typo ! - it's non - applicable
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHtlGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Glenmoriston Town House, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
All the team really appreciated your very kind review and join together in looking forward to welcoming you back. With all good wishes, Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

we stayed overnight on a last minute booking where we got a great deal......getting there was a bit of a nuisance due to roadworks and one way traffic. the room was very nicely finished and very comfortable and the breakfast the next morning was spot on.

would definitley stay again if we can get a price like the last time.

Room Tip: river side views are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gartrac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHtlGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Glenmoriston Town House, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review. Please come back and see us again soon but, in the meantime, happy travels. With all good wishes, Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

This hotel is reasonably priced given that it is situated right on the river bank. The staff could not have been more attentive - eg bar service was prompt and charming, reception staff always helpful and informative. Wonderful breakfasts, gracefully cooked and served with lots of smiles. The hotel is let down by its appearance - those uPVC windows are horrible and spoil what must have been a gracious building. My room was very small and cramped with a shower room that had been squeezed into one corner and the lounge area has too much furniture in it, all of it ugly (someone bought a job lot of dark red leather tub chairs).

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHtlGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Glenmoriston Town House, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Every guest who stays at The Glenmoriston Town House is special to us and your review means a great deal to us all – thank you so much. With all good wishes, Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castro Valley, California
Level Contributor
112 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Our room looked out over the river and was more than adequate.The highlight of the stay was dinner at their restaurant Abstract. The food, and service, was much more than I expected from a small hotel. With over 200 bottles of whisky to choose from I was in heaven. Our only complaint was with breakfast. Our receipt when we checked in had the breakfast hours printed on the form, so we ate there the first two days. On the third day we sat down for breakfast, and after giving our room number, we were informed that our room rate didn't include the meal. At 17 pounds each our bill increased considerably. If you stay here be sure to clarify if your breakfast is included. The location of the hotel is excellent, and don't miss a walk to the islands in the middle of the River.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuck D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

As ever, I will review my stay at the hotel honestly and as I found it.
Location: Excellent location looking over the river Ness and a couple of minutes from the town centre
I arrived at the hotel and was booked in quickly by a friendly member of staff and directed to the annex section of the hotel. The room was clean however on the small side, which wasn't a problem to be honest, however I found the bed to be to small. I was staying on my own so didn't present a great issue but for two people would have been cramped. The lighting in the room was poor with only the light from two lamps. Getting drinks at the bar late was not a problem.
Breakfast, I have to say very poor: 1 Sausage, 1 rasher of bacon, 1 Scone, I piece of black pudding (no beans). The guy serving was bordering on rude. One member of the group ordered Poached eggs on toast and gave up waiting and left.
I never moan unnecessarily however for £137 for one night is excessive

Room Tip: Ask for a room over looking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
0.7 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#8 of 34 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Waterside Hotel
The Waterside Hotel
#17 of 34 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenmoriston Town House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenmoriston Town House

Property: Glenmoriston Town House
Address: 20 Ness Bank, Inverness IV2 4SF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Inverness
#7 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenmoriston Town House 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glenmoriston Town House Inverness is a stylish four star deluxe property on the banks of the River Ness, perfectly located within the heart of the capital of the highlands it provides an impressive contrast to the cities more traditional hotels. Experience unparalleled luxury in one of our 30 stylish bedrooms, designed with comfort in mind and boasting heavenly beds, delicious duvets, fluffy towels and luxury toiletries not to mention the impeccable service you'd expect! The hotel encompasses the finest in Scottish culture with luxury and style and provides an ideal base for those who wish to explore Scotland's abundance of unique landmarks. The Glenmoriston Town House is conveniently just twenty minutes from Inverness Airport and only ten minutes walk from the city main line station. Great food and wine are very much entwined in the Glenmoriston Town House experience and we offer an exceptional restaurant. For a memorable culinary experience, visit our chic and stylish Contrast Brasserie. In addition, the hotel's destination Piano Bar offers Scotland's finest whiskies from over 250 distilleries and our mixologists are constantly developing the most wonderful cocktails to tantalise even the most demanding taste buds. The Glenmoriston Town House will ensure a quality stay whether business or pleasure. Just over 3 hours from Edinburgh or Glasgow it is the perfect property for any number of occasions, be it family get together, sporting holiday, romantic escape, or just a break away from it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Glenmoriston Town House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenmoriston Town House Hotel Inverness
Glenmoriston Town Hotel
Glenmoriston Town Inverness
Glenmoriston Town House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing