We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay and good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Glenmoriston Town House
Ranked #13 of 36 Hotels in Inverness
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed and ate at the restaurant and had an awesome meal. It is fun eating at the chefs table seeing them all work away. The bar is well stocked and the waiters are attentive and accommodating. We also had a great nights sleep in a big comfy bed followed by a good breakfast

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Angus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (815)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

436 - 442 of 815 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

The hotel is in a nice position by the river. We had a good room which was, however, extremely expensive. In general the hotel is OK, but just a little unprofessional. For example if the reception person has wandered away, there is nobody to deal with queries. In the room, it would have been nice to have had a better work space - I am sure many guests come here on business and would appreciate this. It would also have been good to have some alternative bedding (eg sheet and blanket) made available for warm nights.
The service at breakfast is not very good at all (for example, each day I think we were asked two or three times what we wanted for our hot meal, whereas one should only have to say once each day that one doesn't want one!). There was a lot of unnecessarily loud music noise from the bar at night, which prevented sleep, and we had to go to some lengths to request that it was turned down, when we asked on the second night.

Room Tip: A room at the front is nice, but expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ert53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Superb location, outstandingly comfortable rooms, plenty of parking, top-quality restaurant and bar on-site! Easy access to Inverness town centre and major roads leading in-and-out of the city. There are tables and chairs just outside the bar where patrons can sit and enjoy one of the many excellent single malt Scotch whiskys or beers available while enjoying the flowing River Ness bankside and views into Inverness town centre (just opposite).

Room Tip: There is no elevator, but the front desk staff will grab your luggage and assist in settling you in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Appinhighlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHtlGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Glenmoriston Town House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review. I hope this will be your first of many stays with us. With my good wishes, Jon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed for 1 night bed and breakfast. The hotel is stunning. Great location by the river, immaculate, spotlessly clean, stunning decor, lovely friendly staff but the food ?? Oh dear !! Because the hotel looked so nice we also booked dinner, SO DISAPPOINTED. I had smoked salmon for starter, it was tasteless, don't think it was seasoned at all, for main I had roast beef, the potatoes were under cooked, the Yorkshire pudding was over cooked, and I can't even describe how bad the roast beef was, I think all I ate was the carrots. My partners pork wasn't much better, very dry. The waitress could not apologise enough, she said she would speak to the chief and we were offered an complementary drink.My breakfast wasn't much better, I ordered pancake's and as it said on the menu "crispy" bacon, which it wasn't and only 1 rasher !! And the maple syrup was cold, and so would hardly come out the jug!! This hotel has SO much going for it, but the food really let's it down!!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Yvonne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Although we only stayed for one night in a "club room" overlooking the river, the reception could not have been more welcoming and also ample free parking. The room was large, with a very comfortable "huge bed", the en suite was more than acceptable with an excellent shower and bath, large fluffy towels, bathrobes and slippers.
The following morning was again an excellent experience, with a choice of fresh fruit, cereals and your choice of a freshly cooked breakfast. We were looked after by very friendly, professional, personable staff who cared for your breakfast preferences.
All in all a very pleasant, relaxing and stress free experience and we will look forward to returning.
The only downside was the poor wifi connection in the room and public areas.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHtlGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Glenmoriston Town House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Thank you for your fabulous review and, of course, for choosing The Glenmoriston Town House for your stay in the city. Your reference to our team being “friendly, professional and personable” is a wonderful compliment – a huge thank you. With kind regards and looking forward to your next visit. Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Be careful--this hotel is not that good. Some rooms do not have showers, and the one I had came with a bath and a shower type handle. Except a 'dormer' wall came right across the bath which made it impossible to stand up and wash off.

All rooms have no air conditioning and on a summer day the room heats up horribly. The bed in my room was so soft it was uncomfortable.

The main entrance smells of stale alcohol as the bar is on the right of the entrance. The restaurant is on the left when you walk in and the food is fair.

This hotel is not very good. The service was good but the accommodations below satisfactory.

Room Tip: Must ask for a room with a shower and also have them use a fan to help cool the room down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GoodFoodIsWhatIsGood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHtlGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Glenmoriston Town House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

The hotel manager, Benjamin Larsen, is attempting to contact you directly to discuss your TripAdvisor review. Should you wish to talk about this matter further, you will shortly have the opportunity to discuss your stay with him.

We appreciate that the room was warmer than normal due to the humid weather experienced. In room air-conditioning isn't something normally synonymous with hotels in the Scottish Highlands as is rarely required, that said we made efforts to comfort you with an in-room fan as well as opening both windows in your bedroom.

We would not wish this to be your lasting memory of The Glenmoriston Town House.

Kind regards,
Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We booked the Glenmoriston Town House based on the reviews and found it quite comfortable and pleasant. The room we ended up in had gorgeous views over the River Ness. The beds were excellent and the entire hotel was very clean and well kept. The only drawback to our room was the tub instead of a shower. The tub had a handheld wand for bathing so I managed, so if you want a shower make sure you ask for one.

The dinner was exceptional. The restaurant is lovely and the service and food is impeccable. My husband had the best lamb chops he's ever eaten, and my paella (topped by an enormous prawn) was delicious. We took a long stroll down the river walk after dinner and enjoyed the evening very much.

One final note -- the hotel puts a charge on your credit card when you check in that is substantially higher than the quoted rate for your room. Then when you check out they charge your card for what you have used. Maybe they think you'll drink lots of Scotch and run up a tab or something. Now you know so you don't think you're getting charged the wrong rate.

The front desk staff was helpful and friendly, and the breakfast was excellent, a piping hot Scottish breakfast served with tea and coffee, all while looking out over the stunning River Ness.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonnie_Ramthun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHtlGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Glenmoriston Town House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at The Glenmoriston Town House Inverness and many thanks for your kind words. It is great to hear that your experience with us was most enjoyable and that you truly appreciated a number of aspects of your stay. I will be delighted to share your comments with the rest of the team here and we very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#6 of 36 in Inverness
1,903 reviews
3.6 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 36 in Inverness
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
0 mi away
The Waterside Hotel
The Waterside Hotel
#14 of 36 in Inverness
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenmoriston Town House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenmoriston Town House

Address: 20 Ness Bank, Inverness IV2 4SF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Inverness
#7 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
Price Range: £54 - £425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenmoriston Town House 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glenmoriston Town House Inverness is a stylish four star deluxe property on the banks of the River Ness, perfectly located within the heart of the capital of the highlands it provides an impressive contrast to the cities more traditional hotels. Experience unparalleled luxury in one of our 30 stylish bedrooms, designed with comfort in mind and boasting heavenly beds, delicious duvets, fluffy towels and luxury toiletries not to mention the impeccable service you'd expect! The hotel encompasses the finest in Scottish culture with luxury and style and provides an ideal base for those who wish to explore Scotland's abundance of unique landmarks. The Glenmoriston Town House is conveniently just twenty minutes from Inverness Airport and only ten minutes walk from the city main line station. Great food and wine are very much entwined in the Glenmoriston Town House experience and we offer an exceptional restaurant. For a memorable culinary experience, visit our chic and stylish Contrast Brasserie. In addition, the hotel's destination Piano Bar offers Scotland's finest whiskies from over 250 distilleries and our mixologists are constantly developing the most wonderful cocktails to tantalise even the most demanding taste buds. The Glenmoriston Town House will ensure a quality stay whether business or pleasure. Just over 3 hours from Edinburgh or Glasgow it is the perfect property for any number of occasions, be it family get together, sporting holiday, romantic escape, or just a break away from it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Glenmoriston Town House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenmoriston Town House Hotel Inverness
Glenmoriston Town Hotel
Glenmoriston Town Inverness
Glenmoriston Town House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing