We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't waste your money” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glenmoriston Town House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glenmoriston Town House
Ranked #14 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't waste your money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2010

I stayed at the Glenmoriston for 2 nights at the the start of the week with my boyfriend and I am sorry to say that for the price we paid we were very disappointed with the hotel. On arrival the receptionist was surly and unhelpful and be aware there is no lift in this hotel, so we had to carry our bags to our room, which was thankfully only on the first floor. The standard room was very small with too much large imposing furniture, leaving little room for our suitcases. The bathroom was large but a little bit dated compared to the decor in the bedroom. At night the music from the ridiculously expensive bar downstairs kept me awake as did the creaky corridor outside our room. The breakfast in the morning was very yummy but the service was terrible. There was only one, rather grumpy, waiter for the whole dining room and as a result had to wait too long for our breakfast. Also you have to pay £5 for wireless internet access and the connection is terribly slow. On the upside the location on the banks of the river is lovely. I wouldn't recommend anyone stay here, either stump up some more cash for a good 5* or stay in a Travel Inn, because at least you know what to expect there for your money.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    242
    120
    52
    39
See reviews for
62
392
36
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2010

Prior to arrival, this hotel assisted me with a few questions and when we arrived, we were quickly checked-in. Going to their Piano Bar we were pleasantly surprised and impressed with the decor and charming bar staff; along with their cocktail and whisky list - which were extensive. Their food (of which we had some starters) was mouthwatering and due to the late hour, quickly served. Alas that was the highlight of our stay; with the service letting it down greatly in terms of forgetting to book our taxi to the airport (even though we had requested it and seen the receptionist write it down) to the lack of knowledge of the local area (was misinformed of where one of my town appointments was) to the horrendous one hour wait for our lunch on the Sunday and we had to push to get it within that time frame! So, be prepared for long waits between being sat down, given a menu, having your order taken and actually eating. If it wasn't for that, I would have thought about returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RDHGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2010

Let there be no doubt, the Glenmoriston is a very comfortable, hospitable, clean hotel - but you would expect it to be for £135 a night. Indeed that would be the absolute minimum for that kind of price.

However, the unwary traveller should beware of this hotel. The rooms are small, cramped and littered with furniture. Soundproofing is non-existant, and if you are given a room near the restaurant, you will hear immediately who the life and soul of the party is.

But the thing that got me most annoyed was the hidden charges for internet usage. The Wifi is available throughout the hotel, and most devices and laptops will detected the unlocked signal. However one has to sign in using a password and user name, available from reception. What reception fails to advise is you will be charged for internet use.

I have no problem paying for internet - I do have a problem paying for it when I am not told about that charge, and I am already paying a rate far in excess of similar rated hotels in the vicinity.

Breakfast is miserly. The staff at breakfast were not particularly welcoming, but maintaining consistency neither were the staff on reception when I checked in.

To summarise, the bed is comfortable, the room is clean, your stay will be far more expensive that it will need to be - and at the end of the day there are better cheaper places to stay in Inverness.



.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cnoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2010

Charming hotel, friendly and helpful staff. Great. The rooms are beautiful, clean and nice to relax in. The food is wonderful 'Abstract' Restaurant has a fantastic menu and Contrast is wonderful for lunch. I asked for a good place to go for walks and sightseeing the reception staff were very knowledgeable and helpful. An asset to the hotel

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cheekymonkey177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2010

This hotel was the only real disappointment on our 10 day trip through Scotland. We thought this was going to be a real treat, but the hotel was just mediocre. Our room was very small, very hot, and the bathroom was very dated. For over $200 a night, it was a very bad value. We expected a beautiful room and a modern bathroom. Warning -- the wake-up service doesn't work (we heard the manager say "again?") when the receptionist told him of our problem. Lack of wake-up call caused a great inconvenience (there are no alarm clocks in the rooms, either). On the positive side, the breakfast was good and the location is great.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sniper33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chepstow
Level Contributor
136 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2010

Very nice city center location next to the river bank in Inverness. Plenty of car parking & hotel looks nice. Did not try restaurant for evening meal & breakfast was OK.
Room I had was in an annexe & quite small; different to rooms you see on their web site....Room furnishings & bed were good quality.
TV in the room had poor picture quality & limited channels
Bathroom shower only & quite small with no window.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fivesheds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2010

Stayed at the Glenmoriston for one night in February 2010, and had a magic time. we had a superior room overlooking the river with modern furniture, an extremely comfortable bed, and a massive bathroom.

Breakfast was lovely, and also enjoyed a nice candlelit dinner at the Abstrakt restaurant downstairs. Would defintely stay here again, but would be paying the extra to stay in the superior room onve again.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tk53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
0.7 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#8 of 34 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Waterside Hotel
The Waterside Hotel
#17 of 34 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenmoriston Town House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenmoriston Town House

Property: Glenmoriston Town House
Address: 20 Ness Bank, Inverness IV2 4SF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Inverness
#7 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenmoriston Town House 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glenmoriston Town House Inverness is a stylish four star deluxe property on the banks of the River Ness, perfectly located within the heart of the capital of the highlands it provides an impressive contrast to the cities more traditional hotels. Experience unparalleled luxury in one of our 30 stylish bedrooms, designed with comfort in mind and boasting heavenly beds, delicious duvets, fluffy towels and luxury toiletries not to mention the impeccable service you'd expect! The hotel encompasses the finest in Scottish culture with luxury and style and provides an ideal base for those who wish to explore Scotland's abundance of unique landmarks. The Glenmoriston Town House is conveniently just twenty minutes from Inverness Airport and only ten minutes walk from the city main line station. Great food and wine are very much entwined in the Glenmoriston Town House experience and we offer an exceptional restaurant. For a memorable culinary experience, visit our chic and stylish Contrast Brasserie. In addition, the hotel's destination Piano Bar offers Scotland's finest whiskies from over 250 distilleries and our mixologists are constantly developing the most wonderful cocktails to tantalise even the most demanding taste buds. The Glenmoriston Town House will ensure a quality stay whether business or pleasure. Just over 3 hours from Edinburgh or Glasgow it is the perfect property for any number of occasions, be it family get together, sporting holiday, romantic escape, or just a break away from it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Glenmoriston Town House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenmoriston Town House Hotel Inverness
Glenmoriston Town Hotel
Glenmoriston Town Inverness
Glenmoriston Town House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing