We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, affordable Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Glenmoriston Town House
Ranked #15 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Scotland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean, affordable Hotel”
Reviewed 27 January 2011

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for one night and will definitley be returning. The price initially attracted us at £65 B&B we thought it was very reasonable. The room was spotless with lovely added extras of sewing kit, mouthwash, shortbread, etc which many 4 star hotels do not offer now. The bed was comfortable and the decor extremely modern and tasteful. We had a beautiful meal in the Contrast brassier. It is pricey, but you really do get a lovely meal. Well worth it. The Piano Bar is relaxing and we enjoyed some lovely cocktails. It is becoming more difficult to find a reasonably priced yet spotless hotel which offers class, but Glenmoriston House Hotel have really done well.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaileyScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    257
    132
    55
    41
See reviews for
66
423
42
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2010

one nights stay but even that was too much. The tiny little room above the air conditioning was noisey and had its own collection of ready made homes for any spiders that wanted to move in (not that they would want to!) the rooms are opposite the main entrance of the hotel so walking out in the pouring rain for your breakfast is no fun.
When you get back to the room you cant even have a cosy bath as none in the room and the power from the shower was so poor i had to run around to get wet under it!!! £95 for bed and breakfast!!!! it was very bad value, considering i headed the next day to the crown plaza in glasgow and paid £115 for a beautiful big room , stylish bathroom, 3 course dinner and fabulous breakfast for 2, I don't know who they think they are charging these laughable rates!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smargc1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockhampton, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2010

Lovely big room downstairs booked a twin and double room so we more or less had this dowmstairs back wing to ourselves. The twin room was bigger than the double room but both good sizes. The bathrooms were very big and refurbed well. Was very cold when we were there but the central heating worked well. Breakfast was very nice and included with our room. When we booked the rooms online it stated flatscreen TV;s in rooms but his was not true and had these very small TV's for the room sizes and there were not many TV channels, TV's were very dissapointing but that's about all that was. Free carparking and the hotel is right on the water Loch at the front and is beautiful. 5 minutes walk to city centre. The light outside the town house did shine through the window of a night even though there was a blind and was only a little bit annoying. The complimentary shortbread biscuits in the rooms were amazing and a great touch.
Wifi was 5 pounds for the day but the girl said don't worry about it when we checked out which was very nice of her. She also checked us in and out and was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rockhamptonplumbing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2010

I stayed at the Glenmoriston for 2 nights at the the start of the week with my boyfriend and I am sorry to say that for the price we paid we were very disappointed with the hotel. On arrival the receptionist was surly and unhelpful and be aware there is no lift in this hotel, so we had to carry our bags to our room, which was thankfully only on the first floor. The standard room was very small with too much large imposing furniture, leaving little room for our suitcases. The bathroom was large but a little bit dated compared to the decor in the bedroom. At night the music from the ridiculously expensive bar downstairs kept me awake as did the creaky corridor outside our room. The breakfast in the morning was very yummy but the service was terrible. There was only one, rather grumpy, waiter for the whole dining room and as a result had to wait too long for our breakfast. Also you have to pay £5 for wireless internet access and the connection is terribly slow. On the upside the location on the banks of the river is lovely. I wouldn't recommend anyone stay here, either stump up some more cash for a good 5* or stay in a Travel Inn, because at least you know what to expect there for your money.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2010

Prior to arrival, this hotel assisted me with a few questions and when we arrived, we were quickly checked-in. Going to their Piano Bar we were pleasantly surprised and impressed with the decor and charming bar staff; along with their cocktail and whisky list - which were extensive. Their food (of which we had some starters) was mouthwatering and due to the late hour, quickly served. Alas that was the highlight of our stay; with the service letting it down greatly in terms of forgetting to book our taxi to the airport (even though we had requested it and seen the receptionist write it down) to the lack of knowledge of the local area (was misinformed of where one of my town appointments was) to the horrendous one hour wait for our lunch on the Sunday and we had to push to get it within that time frame! So, be prepared for long waits between being sat down, given a menu, having your order taken and actually eating. If it wasn't for that, I would have thought about returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RDHGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2010

Let there be no doubt, the Glenmoriston is a very comfortable, hospitable, clean hotel - but you would expect it to be for £135 a night. Indeed that would be the absolute minimum for that kind of price.

However, the unwary traveller should beware of this hotel. The rooms are small, cramped and littered with furniture. Soundproofing is non-existant, and if you are given a room near the restaurant, you will hear immediately who the life and soul of the party is.

But the thing that got me most annoyed was the hidden charges for internet usage. The Wifi is available throughout the hotel, and most devices and laptops will detected the unlocked signal. However one has to sign in using a password and user name, available from reception. What reception fails to advise is you will be charged for internet use.

I have no problem paying for internet - I do have a problem paying for it when I am not told about that charge, and I am already paying a rate far in excess of similar rated hotels in the vicinity.

Breakfast is miserly. The staff at breakfast were not particularly welcoming, but maintaining consistency neither were the staff on reception when I checked in.

To summarise, the bed is comfortable, the room is clean, your stay will be far more expensive that it will need to be - and at the end of the day there are better cheaper places to stay in Inverness.



.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cnoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2010

Charming hotel, friendly and helpful staff. Great. The rooms are beautiful, clean and nice to relax in. The food is wonderful 'Abstract' Restaurant has a fantastic menu and Contrast is wonderful for lunch. I asked for a good place to go for walks and sightseeing the reception staff were very knowledgeable and helpful. An asset to the hotel

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheekymonkey177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
0.7 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#9 of 34 in Inverness
1,731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
0.5 mi away
pentahotel Inverness
pentahotel Inverness
#21 of 34 in Inverness
1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenmoriston Town House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenmoriston Town House

Property: Glenmoriston Town House
Address: 20 Ness Bank, Inverness IV2 4SF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Inverness
#8 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenmoriston Town House 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glenmoriston Town House Inverness is a stylish four star deluxe property on the banks of the River Ness, perfectly located within the heart of the capital of the highlands it provides an impressive contrast to the cities more traditional hotels. Experience unparalleled luxury in one of our 30 stylish bedrooms, designed with comfort in mind and boasting heavenly beds, delicious duvets, fluffy towels and luxury toiletries not to mention the impeccable service you'd expect! The hotel encompasses the finest in Scottish culture with luxury and style and provides an ideal base for those who wish to explore Scotland's abundance of unique landmarks. The Glenmoriston Town House is conveniently just twenty minutes from Inverness Airport and only ten minutes walk from the city main line station. Great food and wine are very much entwined in the Glenmoriston Town House experience and we offer an exceptional restaurant. For a memorable culinary experience, visit our chic and stylish Contrast Brasserie. In addition, the hotel's destination Piano Bar offers Scotland's finest whiskies from over 250 distilleries and our mixologists are constantly developing the most wonderful cocktails to tantalise even the most demanding taste buds. The Glenmoriston Town House will ensure a quality stay whether business or pleasure. Just over 3 hours from Edinburgh or Glasgow it is the perfect property for any number of occasions, be it family get together, sporting holiday, romantic escape, or just a break away from it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Glenmoriston Town House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenmoriston Town House Hotel Inverness
Glenmoriston Town Hotel
Glenmoriston Town Inverness
Glenmoriston Town House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing