We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed Browsing, Shopping, A Meal in Ghillies Restaurant and discovered One Direction Goods!”

James Pringle Weavers
Ranked #10 of 26 Shopping in Inverness
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Part factory tour, part outlet: find out how some of Scotland's finest woollen wares are made, then buy what you like.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Enjoyed Browsing, Shopping, A Meal in Ghillies Restaurant and discovered One Direction Goods!”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Location: Situated on Dores Road, approximately 1.5 miles from the city center on a bus route. Parking for coaches and cars. Toilets are in a separate block located in the car park. These premises are on a steep slope.

Typically a large Scottish Tartan Retail Shop with lots of interesting and unusual gift ideas. Tartans, blankets, whiskies, food, suitcases, dishes, jewellery, golf equipment, books, videos, clothes, shoes etc. I enjoyed a good rummage through the large clothing section and there are good bargains to be had. The clothing has a varied age range but not really so interesting for teens.

Ghillies Restaurant serve, breakfast, lunch and high tea. It had a nice selection of main meals for around £5 and coffee for £2, on a special offer. I had a baked potato with tuna and salad (£5.50) and the rest of the family had the bacon and lentil soup with roll (£3.65) which was enjoyable and we found it very good value for money. There is also an area with sofas for a more relaxed cup of coffee.

Staff: Friendly and helpful.

Also next to this shop is Ponden Mill Shop where I discovered One Direction duvets, cushion, blankets etc. There is also bedding, Yankee candles, home-ware, bake-ware etc.

There is a small weaving exhibition.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Sherrel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    13
    14
    10
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arras, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A store of good bargains”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

This store proposes a large number of different articles (clothes, shoes, souvenirs, whisky, golf equipment, kiltmaker items .....) to prices often interesting.

Very large choice.
This store well deserves a visit.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Gilles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
798 reviews
100 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 491 helpful votes
“Tired and weary”
Reviewed 11 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

This place is geared for an older market. Lots of clothing and things for sale that should have been thrown out. Some bargains though if you look hard enough.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Donald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
89 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“PLENTY TO BUY”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Depends what you are looking for here, we like shopping, it is split into sections, there is what you would expect the Scottish gift section, there is a small selection of whiskies, some upper market gifts, a bit of a kids book section, also a very small nauticalia section also some Hornby trains, plenty of clothes and that kind of thing, also shortbreads, jams and the ususal Scottish fare you would expect, there is a café/restaurant alough we didn't go into that, then outside there is another building for the Pondon Mill with the biggest selection of Yankee candles I've ever seen in my life, I was like a kid in a candy shop, if you like Yankee candles, I promise you, you will NOT come out of this part empty handed, the only negative thing I would say is this place is a bit mish mash and I would recommend you look round a couple of times before leaving, because you keep seeing different things, if you are ever in Wales in Anglesey LLanfairPG the James Pringle there is much better organised, much better, but yes have a look around, and look again before you leave it's worth a visit specially on a rainy day

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ValerieMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham, UK
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Gravely disappointing. Now trades as "Holm Mills Shopping Centre".”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

My wife was looking forward to a shopping expedition to Holm Mills Shopping Centre after seeing it mentioned in a holiday brochure. It purports to be a high class shopping centre on the site of the original James Pringle Weavers at the edge of Inverness. We were shocked to find a ragbag of sheds that would not have been out of place at an industrial site. The staff were surly and unhelpful. The whole experience was a grave disappointment and left a bitter taste in the mouth. Cannot recommend.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
13 Thank foto2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed James Pringle Weavers also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to James Pringle Weavers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing