We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Double room? More like oversized single!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Highland Hotel
Ranked #17 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Double room? More like oversized single!”
Reviewed 29 April 2011

Arrived and checked in no problems, staff were pleasant and helpful. Once getting to the room it became clear why the room was so cheap! One pillow on the bed! Like an overgrown single bed! One bath towel and one mug! Luckily we are both quite little so the bed wasn't a problem but we had to ask for another bath towel. Disappointed as it was our first night of a 4 day break. If booking it's maybe worth a upgrade of room to ensure plenty bed space. No other complaints the hotel is beautiful. Will be back but with an upgraded room

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lulu061183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
culcabock, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2011
Thank you for your kind review and while we appreciate your kind words, we have taken your review of the room very seriously and we assure you that corrective steps will be initiated. Being a heritage 150 Year plus old hotel, we do pride ourselves in offering room with characters rather than the usual monotonous designed rooms, however, since yours was a 4 night stay, if you had brought this to our attention, we would have tried our utmost to shift you to another room that meets your requirement. We do look forward to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,753 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    429
    661
    374
    156
    133
See reviews for
246
856
141
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, Scotland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2011

This was a conference (60 guests) in the Wallace Ballroom. For the business part one end of the room was set up theatre style while the other end had the tables for lunch (2 courses with tea/coffee) and later tea/coffee and biscuits. Lunch menu had a good selection of dishes with a vegetarian option. Quality of food was excellent with good presentation. Mr Sanjeev Kumar was an excellent host and he and his staff provided us with discreet and very efficient service. Very good value for money.
Thank you from the WRVS Assoc Scotland

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C_JF-M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
culcabock, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2011
Thank you for the kind review and we are extremely proud to be associated witha great organisation as WRVS association - we have also passed on your compliments to Sanjeev and who is delighted to hear it! We look forward to host many more of your Conferences with the Royal Highland Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
Level Contributor
91 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2011

As part of a rail tour we stayed three nights in this conveniently situated old Railway hotel. A traditional and elegant entrance lobby quickly faded when we went to the room where we found that the decor and amenities, while being adequate, were by no means in keeping with our initial impression of grandeur. The room we had overlooked the Train Shed of the station and was noisy and smelly with First Scotrail diesels being left to idle away all night, so we had to keep our window shut to reduce the noise. The room we had was set up to cater for people with physical disabilities and had a wonderful en suite walk in shower and was very spacious. But the floor was sloping (due to building settlement with age perhaps?) and it was a bit like being on a cruise liner until we gotten used to it. Breakfast service was not geared up for the large number on our tour and we had to wait along with others for crockery to be washed before we could eat! food was adequate with a variety of hot/cold on offer but not in keeping with the 'Royal' title! Staff did their best to cope and the duty manager was very busy and unflustered despite many customers descending together with their queries and requests.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms at the back (east).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ibrahim11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
culcabock, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2011
Thank you for the review. We have taken on board the points about your stay which you liked as well as about the areas that you felt require improvement. Regarding the noise, we shall shortly understake to double glaze the windows to avoid this and we have passed on your compliments to the Breakfast Duty Manager.We hope to see you again whenever you are taking another Highland Rail Tour or be in Inverness for any other reason.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keighley
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2011

I was booked into this hotel for 3 days in april with a confirmed booking for over 6 weeks.
Upon arrival I was told that I had been booked into the lower quality (but as it worked out more customer friendly Jarvis Ramada) for 2 days and back at the highland for the third. They claimed it was due to flood damage but as I was working for a travel client I know it was because they had overbooked for a larger party whos booking came in later. No thought was given to my inconvenience of having to carry luggage around whilst at work. The 1 night at the Highland was unmemorable with the room quality being very good, however the staff were totally uncommitted and I rang around 2000 for room service to the reception, and the phone was unanswered for 20 minutes. Having gone down to the bar to order the bar staff decided restocking shelves was more important than serving as I stood at the bar for about 6 minutes before even being recognised. Later I witnessed the same bar staff ignore an older couple who wanted serving at the bar for over 12 minutes, before they finally gave up. Overall the rooms are a good standard but the staff or poor. Traveller beware

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank a25marc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
culcabock, Front Office Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2011
It was unfortunate that you were offered alternative accommodation at Ramada Jarvis as by your comments "lower quality" did not meet with our Historical former Railway Hotel ambience. Being a listed building we do have a few areas that require planning permission and also specialist tradesman and we did indeed have a bit of water damage and felt we could not allocate the rooms in their current state and have not put back for use as yet until the maintenance and decorating have been completed. We have many groups of both rail and coach passengers all year round and many do in fact book a year or more in advance and our 85 rooms allow for both groups and individual travellers. I have raised your points with the relevant departments and would hope that you may return at a later date and enjoy our Royal Highland Hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Inverness hotels

Edinburgh
Level Contributor
98 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2011

This hotel is only meters away from Inverness central rail station. It is located in the heart of the Inverness and few meters away from everything. It has the Scottish Highlander taste and colour. The staff were fair in dealing with me during my visit . The only and probably major minus in this hotel is finding car parks close by.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alkhatnai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durness
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2011

If anybody out there is planning to stay in Inverness DO NOT stay in the Royal Highland Hotel. Looks lovely on the outside but when you break the surface, Oh dear!!! Given a room with a window that I was unable to close due to broken latches.Reported to reception and was given a lesson on how to open the broken window.Then came breakfast after a long sleepless night due to pigeons rosting outside broken window,3 tables around where I was sitting had to ask for cuttlery,cups milk,etc,etc,peronaly I was lucky and got a table with everything on it and recieved some tea and toast but when I went to pick up my cooked breakfast from the buffet my table was cleared thus starting the whole process over again. So people think twice!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dmac95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
culcabock, Front Office Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2011
We are sorry that your stay did not meet with expectations, however being a former Railway City Centre Hotel our central location beside the train station does have many advantages as well as disadvantages. We try to discourage birds such as pigeons from resting on our sills and we have deterrent spikes on such and this seems to have worked. The Railway station also undertake a project to discourage nesting on their glass roof.
Our breakfast service normally receives compliments as to the quality and quantity of the selection of both hot & cold items and it seems that you may have sat at a table that we were in the process of clearing and resetting hence the absence of items mentioned. Tables are cleared, cleaned and reset constantly to allow free flow of guests dining. We apologise that your table was cleared so promptly as instructions to reset may have been followed a little too efficiently and they believed that the job had not been completed hence the oversight.
We hope you may choose to return at a later date and that we can restore your faith in our establishmen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rothes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2011

Our room had two double beds on the second floor very central for both trains and buses.
car park 5 mins walk limited parking in front of station take a short cut through station to car park. friendy helpful staff enjoyed buffet breakfast everything from porridge to full scottish. Two minutes walk to shops with many places to eat nearby did not try hotel restrarant.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knockando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
culcabock, Front Office Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2011
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our central location and sumptious buffet breakfast met with your approval. We hope that you will return in the near future to enjoy our hospitality once again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
0.4 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#8 of 34 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,650 reviews
3.4 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Highland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Highland Hotel

Property: Royal Highland Hotel
Address: 18 Academy Street, Inverness IV1 1LG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Highland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Highland Hotel is the oldest hotel in the centre of the Highland capital, Inverness. In 2000, the property was carefully restored, retaining its unique character associated with the bygone age. As soon as you enter the hotel you will appreciate this. In the foyer the grand staircase, the inspiration for the Titanic's staircase, leads to the 84 spacious refurbished bedrooms - all with very high ceilings. The decor is rich with traditional furniture and deep colours. The rooms all have soft furnishings and antique style furniture. The excellent bathrooms are generally medium to large in size. For over 151 years, the hotel has been looking after travellers from all over the world. Perhaps its popularity stems from the fact the hotel is a grand place to stay. Large bedrooms, large lounge areas, quiet meeting rooms, good food, prime location and friendly staff all play their part. All local amenities close to hand, but within a 5 minute drive you are out into the dramatic Highlands. Lochness is only 7 miles from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Highland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Highland Inverness
Hotel Royal Highland
Royal Highland Hotel Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing