We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lots of character! A bit shabby though.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Highland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Royal Highland Hotel
Ranked #19 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
181 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Lots of character! A bit shabby though.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

I loved the atmosphere of this hotel, but I guess that's because I'm a bit romantic. There is a grand staircase, and everything has this old-style Scottish decor. However, the rooms are a bit mmm so so, and not very well kept...there were long hairs in the bed and on the bathroom floor, and the bed-spread was absolutely disgusting. I immediately took it away and there were stains of questionable liquids. Yuk. However, the lady at housekeeping told me they were getting rid of them

Apart from that, the rooms are ok. Just focus on the atmosphere and character of it! :-)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swissmex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
culcabock, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 8 October 2011
Thank you for the kind comments. While we apologise for the shortcoming you observed in the otherwise very high standards of cleanliness that we maintain, let me reassure you that we have throughly investigated the matter and the concerned staff member had been reccommended to go through a refresher programme. We hope you will visit us again and when we can offer you the complete Royal Highland experience for which we are better known.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,713 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    415
    649
    365
    153
    131
See reviews for
236
833
140
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

I've decided I like writing reviews for hotels - I want this job HA.

So i stayed here a while back overnight. I checked in late around 10pm - found a very helpful and freindly night porter who showed me the room before i agreed to stay (even though he seemed fairly busy). The bar is very comfortable as is the reception area.

The room was spacious had a nice hospitality tray and a lovely bathroom, one thing i would say is they could update the electrical stuff.. hairdryer, kettle and tv, all looked very old but useable nontheless. Comfy bed and very clean, apart from one spot on the conising - but with the height of the celing its understandle the high corners cant be cleaned every day.

I awoke late so couldnt enjoy a full breakfast although offered.. but i did grab a croissant on the way out which was delicious and the gave me a coffee to go in a take away cup.

Brilliant and will stay again when next in inverness.

Special mention the night porter: One of the frindliest and most polite me I have ever met absolute gem.. never let him leave!

Room Tip: Cant remember room number but was in the older part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
culcabock, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 13 September 2011
Thank you very much for the kind review . We shall definitely pass on your appreciation to our Night Porter and we hope to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

The only good thing about this hotel is the location and the lobby. The room was clean but in serious need of renovation. The staff didn't smile or talk and in some cases were rude.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank russef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
culcabock, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 13 September 2011
Thank you for the review. We are little confused as you mentionned 'The room was clean..' and the same review speaks about 'shabbiness'.We have a continuous maintenance programme going on round the year so that each of the 86 bespoke rooms can be redecorated at least once every 12 month cycle and being a 150+ year old building, we pride ourselves in offering almost all the rooms in good condition at all the times. You would be happy to note that the public areas of Reception, Lobby and the Grand Wallace Hall are due for a thorough redecoration as oon as the busy season comes to an end. We hope we would get another chance to serve you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Inverness hotels

Manchester
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

It’s difficult to know where to start. I suppose that most people looking to book this hotel will be looking at the photos and reading the reviews, a message to those is to ask yourself why there are none of the restaurants or dining areas! The lift or the corridors! Smiling staff or freshly baked bread! Don't be fooled by pictures of the staircase and bar! They are the only areas that have seen a paint brush for years!!

This place is honestly a disgrace. I’ve stayed in some bad hotels in my time, staying on a business budget of £60-£70 and getting rough places to sleep, but this cost us £120 per night and we expected a bit better than 1 star Blackpool boarding house quality! Boarding house? This place should be boarded up!

The Royal Highland welcomes (without a smile) guest from all over the world and if this is the impression they take back of Scotland and Britain as a whole, I’m ashamed. The staff are uninterested to say the least, the rooms are old and worn out, the food (we only eat breakfast) was over cooked then left to congeal and get cold. Housekeeping left dirty bed sheets in the corridors all day. Dozens of staff mill around talking to themselves in dirty uniforms, open neck shirts and ties half done up like rebelling school children.

This hotel is in desperate need of renovation, not a face lift. But one simple thing could make it bearable up until then, a manager! I simply cannot believe that any manager experienced in the hospitality industry couldn’t improve this business, with little money! We didn’t see any sign of any senior staff. No one seemed to care.

Three telling signs, one, a receptionist managed to check us out without uttering a single word! I don’t just mean that she forgot to ask me how my stay was! She didn’t even manage the words “can you enter your pin”! Secondly, check out the completely knacked Jag sign written by the hotel, outside. That should tell you something, then lastly, let’s see if a manager is bothered enough to read this review and make a comment!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
culcabock, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2011
Thank you for the review. We apologise that you did not enjoy ceratin aspects of your stay this time and we shall definitely keep your points in mind while organising our next team briefing. I hope you have left your comments and observations in the guest Feedback forms that are available in your room as well as at the reception counter so that we can get back to you with a suitable reply. We would also like to inform you that we always have a Duty Manager to attend to ou at all the times and had the points been raised with him/her, we are confident that we could have taken a more appropriate note of the same. Apologises once again and we do hope that we will get another opportunity to serve you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

We had the unfortunate pleasure of staying at this hotel for a friend’s birthday last week-end and if they hadn’t been staying there, I would’ve checked out!

We were greeted (I use this word lightly) by a receptionist, who refused to move and sat slumped on her chair to check us in & made it apparent she had no training in customer service. They say 1st impressions count, how right they were.

The hotel rooms were extremely tired, drab in design, gave you a sense of uncleanliness, so much so I refused to sit on the cover on the bed. Windows in the bathroom and bedroom wouldn’t open, toilet roll holder broken and toilet paper “delicately” placed on the floor.

The staff…..I don’t know where to start, not one of them had a friendly word to say. Everything seemed too much trouble, they’re uniforms were always dirty and in general they were extremely unprofessional. Has any training ever been given in this hotel? I seriously doubt it.

Breakfast was a disgrace, the safest option was to choose a slice of toast, you knew how long that had been there!

They classify this hotel as 3star and I would recommend the AA & other rating boards visit this hotel immediately. This hotel should not be allowed to portray the image they do on the websites, at best it’s a 1star and if you’re looking for a nice hotel in Inverness, don’t go to this one!

Room Tip: Doubt there is one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
culcabock, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2011
Thank you for the review and we apologise for the inconveniences caused to you this time. While we take pride in the claenliness and the upkeep of our rooms as can be seen from the majority of the reviews here and other forums, we do take your observations very seriously.We have a continuous renovation programme of our rooms and we plan to take another lot of 20 rooms out of our 86 rooms from the last week of this month - I hope you understand that we could not do the same duirng the peak summer monmths when our occupancy was rarely below 95% mark, and we are thankful to our guests for the same.Regarding the breakfast,we could have investigated had the observation been more specific, but we hope that you enjoyed some of the 40+ items - hot and cold - that we offer in the Full Scottish Breakfast Buffet that offer. We apologise once again and would look forward to get another opportunity to serve you aagin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

My husband had surprised me with a trip to Inverness for my birthday as I was born there. The excitement and surprise element was soon shattered when arriving at the hotel. Being greeted by a lazy receptionist who could not even be bothered to stand up to give us the great news that there had been rain and more then likely our room would be unhabitable so would possibly be relocated to the "classy" Ramada down the road! As it turned out we didnt have to move, but on opening the door to the room, maybe we should have done. Tatty, "foosty", old bed linen and a shoddy window that didnt stay open which meant the room was so hot after having a shower because there was no extractor fan. The tap on the sink spun around when you went to turn it on, generally , the hotel gave the feeling of being built 100's of years ago, and no work been done since!!
The staff topped it off, when asking for any drinks in the bar, the couldnt understand and just looked blankly and walked off. Mrs overall from acorn antiques would have fitted in very well and won waitress of the year! Breakfast was always over cooked and coffee served cold. Generally poor quality for the amount of money they were charged. The photos are very misleading!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kirsten D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
culcabock, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2011
Thank you for the review and we apologise for the incovenience of getting a room that was partly affected by the unwarranted heavy and unseasonal rains - this being a 150 year old hotel, the building do need more attention attention than a younger building, but the character such old buildings have is sometime the factor that keeps us in business. We fully agree that the Receptionist on duty should have explained to you in a better way that we have arranged an alternative accommodation just across the road at no extra cost - which we do whenever such unwarranted situations unfortunately occur- but possibly she did not want to offend you when you insisted on being accommodated here. However, we apologise once again and we do hope to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weatherford, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

We were excited to get to Inverness. Our excitement was somewhat squelched when we got to our hotel. The photos and reviews were a bit misleading. The grand staircase was the only accurate item. This hotel must have been something once but with the ultra tiny rooms that had torn wallpaper, very worn linens and paper thin windows in a very very busy are of town-major bummer. Staff was helpful but all in all we were very disappointed in this location

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
culcabock, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2011
Thank you for the review and we apologise that the stay did not come up to your expectation. While we understand that we do not have all our rooms uniformly sized, but being a heritage building built more than 150 years old, this factor contribute to this buiding possessing a character. While the photographs do represent the majority of the faciilities that we have, we have no comments to make on the good to excellent reviews that have been seen in this as well as other user generated forums as we humbly accept these as authentic responses - probabaly your reaction proves the point that any review of a hotel is the review of one room and one experience rather than the entire hotel and the complete services that it offers.We apologise once again and please be assured that we take all comments extremely seriously and we would look forward to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
0.4 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#7 of 34 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,606 reviews
3.4 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Highland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Highland Hotel

Property: Royal Highland Hotel
Address: 18 Academy Street, Inverness IV1 1LG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Highland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Highland Hotel is the oldest hotel in the centre of the Highland capital, Inverness. In 2000, the property was carefully restored, retaining its unique character associated with the bygone age. As soon as you enter the hotel you will appreciate this. In the foyer the grand staircase, the inspiration for the Titanic's staircase, leads to the 84 spacious refurbished bedrooms - all with very high ceilings. The decor is rich with traditional furniture and deep colours. The rooms all have soft furnishings and antique style furniture. The excellent bathrooms are generally medium to large in size. For over 151 years, the hotel has been looking after travellers from all over the world. Perhaps its popularity stems from the fact the hotel is a grand place to stay. Large bedrooms, large lounge areas, quiet meeting rooms, good food, prime location and friendly staff all play their part. All local amenities close to hand, but within a 5 minute drive you are out into the dramatic Highlands. Lochness is only 7 miles from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, SpeedyBooker.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Royal Highland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Highland Inverness
Hotel Royal Highland
Royal Highland Hotel Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing