We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A few days in the Highlands”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Highland Hotel
Ranked #17 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“A few days in the Highlands”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

Let me first of all speak about the very positive things in this hotel:-
• The Staff, The Staff and the Staff. Everyone was friendly and nothing seemed too much trouble for them- no matter who they were or what we wanted
• The rooms We saw quite a few rooms (more about this later later) and each room was ultra spacious (our first had two massive queens beds and the final one had two massive single beds)) and they were all immaculate. The bathrooms were pristine with a great supply of toiletries and towels that were large, fluffy and sparkling white. Each room came with extras that sometimes you are struggling to find in 5 star establishments and included free use of a safe that was simplicity itself to set, an umbrella should the weather turn inclement, a trouser press, an iron and ironing board , a coffee/tea tray with ample sugar, milk, biscuits etc and even some delicious sweets.

• We only ate breakfast in the hotel and some previous reviewers seemed to find problems with the selection etc.. All I can say is we found a myriad of hot very tasty items along with cold meat cheese etc. In addition there was a wide variety of bread items (rolls etc) and also cereals. Comment has been made that you had to make your own coffee/tea but this was a positive thing as far as we were concerned as we were able to get it exactly as we liked it. Comment has also been made about making your own toast but this only took a minute or two and again you were able to get as much as you want and could go back for fresh hot toast
• The only downside we had was the first room we were allocated (Room 218) was above the platform of the railway station and about 3 a.m.on the first night a diesel engine started up under the window and continued to drone/rumble on for hours causing the windows of the room to vibrate. Try as much as we could we could not get back to sleep and about 6 AM. I went and explained the problem to the night porter (an absolute gem of a man). He allowed us to look into a couple of other rooms but again we could still hear the drone of the engine and eventually we found the perfect quiet room in room 204 where we remained for the rest of our stay (this is the reason I can speak with authority about the fantastic quality of the rooms in the hotel)
• Apart from the noise in the first room we can say nothing but good things about this hotel and we are in hotels about 50 nights per year all over the world and this one particularly for staff has all the rest beat.

Thanks staff and management and we will be back

Room Tip: Choose one near the front of the hotel - room 204 etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carniejim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,742 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    427
    656
    372
    155
    132
See reviews for
243
848
141
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013

We stayed at the Royal Highland from the 1st to 3rd March. It was a Great Deal Offer. This hotel is indeed in an ideal situation. My husband’s case didn’t arrive with us when we arrived at Inverness bus station. The receptionist who dealt with us was very helpful indeed, all the paperwork we needed was in the case. Eventually it turned up.
It is a nice hotel, the rooms are old traditional style but nice and very clean and the beds very comfortable. The bathrooms have been modernised, very nice and the showers are marvellous. We were above the function hall and just before 12 o’clock midnight a Ceilidh started up from a wedding reception in the hall below. OMG I have never heard anything like it. My husband went down and asked could we be moved, and indeed we were. The fire alarm went off while he was down speaking to the receptionist. The other room was also nice on the top floor with a queen sized bed, once again very clean and very comfortable. The following morning we went down for breakfast which was really very nice and piping hot, no complaints.
We were asked to move back to the room we first had as we were told by the receptionist that someone else had booked and requested that specific room for that night!!! We asked if there was going to be another wedding but were assured there wouldn’t be and all should be quiet.
We had a meal in the hotel’s restaurant on the Saturday evening and have to say that it was absolutely delicious. All the waiters were friendly, helpful and polite and the menu had a good variety to choose from.
At just before 1am on the Sunday morning, the fire alarm went off again. We, along with some other guests started to make our way down to exit the hotel, we didn’t quite make it, as one of the staff told us it was it was a false alarm and we could return to our rooms.
I did like this hotel, it was comfortable and the staff helpful when asked anything. If I were to come back to Inverness and to this hotel, I would request not to stay in any of the rooms 121 -130 which were above the function room or ask if there was going to be a wedding on during my stay, otherwise these rooms would be just fine.

Room Tip: Find out if there are any weddings on, if there is ask for a top floor room, certainly not a first f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

We stayed here courtesy of a Groupon deal and it proved excellent value for money. We had looked at staying here in the past so this was a great way to try it out. We were not disappointed. After looking at others reviews, can't understand why they complain about the views - are they just there to look out the windows all the time? There's only so many can look out the front, and that's just on to a car park and main street! Yes, some parts of the hotel could do with a lick of paint, but it was clean, good size rooms and bathroom and staff helpful.
The negatives - a function went on till 1.00am and friends in a room above couldn't sleep, so perhaps more soundproofing, fire alarm is very, very sensitive went off twice during our stay and breakfast a little disorganised, simple things such as cruet sets on the tables and pots of tea/coffee brought out would save much traffic between rooms.
We came to explore Inverness and the area and found the immediate vicinity compact for shopping, and good places to eat and drink.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SmiffyNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

I was really looking forward to a weekend away in Inverness with my best friends, we love the city and had heard some good reviews on the hotel. The prime location was excellent for us, right next to the station and just by luck we managed to get parked just outside (which we realise was very lucky as there are very few spaces!). The room was really nice, and the reception/foyer area seemed very grand!

We went out for a bite to eat and came back to the hotel around 11pm for an early night as we had lots planned the next day and we were tired from the journey. Imagine our disappointment when we got back to the room and the music was blaring from a function downstairs! The walls were literally shaking with the music, we could hear full conversations and everything! We complained to the night porter who was really nice and told us that the function would be over soon. It was still going at 2am!

We woke up the next day after hardly any sleep to go down for breakfast which was terrible. People crammed in, queuing up for cold and unappetizing cooked breakfast which looked like it had been sitting out for a long time. Not a good start to our second day!

We had a lovely day spent in Inverness and were out for drinks at night. We had just got into bed and the fire alarm went off! Obviously a false alarm..another sleepless night!

All in all a disappointing experience. When checking out on the Sunday we explained the situation with the first night and us being directly above the function room. We were met with terrible customer service from the 2 ladies on reception, saying 'well it was a function, I'm sure you have been to one yourselves before!' yes we have! But we paid for a hotel room and weren't at the function. The supervisor didn't even make eye contact and basically said that no one else had complained and that as we had booked online through an agency they couldn't give us a refund. We hadn't asked for a refund, we wanted an apology but customer service is obviously lost on these two...perhaps a change of career is in order.

Oh they did eventually offer a discount off our next stay...no good for us thanks, we won't be back and neither will our friends and family who regularly go to Inverness!

Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Ethan177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Inverness hotels

Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

We have just got back from a long weekend family stay at this hotel. I will start with positives and it has a few. The buffet party lunch was superb. The rooms again lovely. The staff very good. The negatives Fire alarms went off on both nights both times false alarms. NO explanation of why!! not on!! I have had this on previous visits in other hotels with full letters of explanation with in some cases refunds not here!! Once you are awake it is hard to get to sleep. This is the other negative the noise from the street tooooooooo much we were in a room facing the main street. So we are now back and off to bed for sleep. Would I go back mmmmm we will see.

Room Tip: Try to go to the back and not above the function rooms as our boys were in a room there and said it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grumpyclacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
171 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights and we love Inverness but this hotel was awful. We could not park as the taxi rank had the places and there was only 8 places for the guests!!!!!!!!!!!
The breakfast was the most awful I have had to experience in all my life. Huge cold barn of a room with 3 staff only there to clean up and serve you cooked food. You had to make your own toast, get coffee/tea from a vending machine and the hot buffet was dire. I dont eat meat so I asked for a cheese and onion omelette. It was disgusting. I ate a little and 2 hours later I was sick and I can't remember when I was last sick. The next morning I asked for boiled eggs medium as I knew I would be safe with them. It took 3 attempts to give me eggs that were not raw. I always look to give praise when I review but I am sorry this hotel need to train their staff better, upgrade their breakfast policy as we are not all business men who "eat on the run" and remember that people will only return if they have a good experience and I will never darken this door again!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scottiewanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lossiemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

Room was clean and the bed was comfortable, nice bathroom, friendly staff. The food was very good and I had exceptionally good breakfast which was the haggis and tattie scone. However my Dad couldn't get served in the bar because the pumps were switched off for cleaning at half past 9 on Sunday 17th February 2013 Ridiculous!!! ( Which was a good job at £3.85 per pint).Couldn't get WIFI in our room which was 108 but if we went down to the lobby it had worked.
Car parking was not very good as we were next 2 the Train Station and the car park was full of Taxi's. I had a good weekend but these few disappointing points let down the Hotel slightly.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 375WhiteP12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
0.4 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#8 of 34 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,637 reviews
3.4 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Highland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Highland Hotel

Property: Royal Highland Hotel
Address: 18 Academy Street, Inverness IV1 1LG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Highland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Highland Hotel is the oldest hotel in the centre of the Highland capital, Inverness. In 2000, the property was carefully restored, retaining its unique character associated with the bygone age. As soon as you enter the hotel you will appreciate this. In the foyer the grand staircase, the inspiration for the Titanic's staircase, leads to the 84 spacious refurbished bedrooms - all with very high ceilings. The decor is rich with traditional furniture and deep colours. The rooms all have soft furnishings and antique style furniture. The excellent bathrooms are generally medium to large in size. For over 151 years, the hotel has been looking after travellers from all over the world. Perhaps its popularity stems from the fact the hotel is a grand place to stay. Large bedrooms, large lounge areas, quiet meeting rooms, good food, prime location and friendly staff all play their part. All local amenities close to hand, but within a 5 minute drive you are out into the dramatic Highlands. Lochness is only 7 miles from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Highland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Highland Inverness
Hotel Royal Highland
Royal Highland Hotel Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing