We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Highland Hotel
Ranked #19 of 35 Hotels in Inverness
Reviewed 25 March 2013

A group of us stayed here friday and saturday. Excelent location right next to railway station. Ate out on friday night(no27 across from castle, great food great staff) and ate in the hotels ash restaurant on saturday night. Extremely good food reasonably priced. Restaurant was busy,but didnt wait too long to get served. The hotels buffet breakfast was very good and plenty of choice.will go back again.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank normanjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,853)
There are newer reviews for Royal Highland Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,312 - 1,318 of 1,853 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2013

I bought both my daughters and their partners a group on deal for their Xmas present. 2 night stay b&b at this hotel. My first daughter went up in February and had to pay £60 for another room as the one she was allocated was awful, door did not lock was dirty looking etc, my other daughter has gone in march, wallpaper hanging of the walls, toilet was not flushed which probably means was not cleaned. Again wallpaper hanging of walls and dirty looking. Yes I got a cheap group on deal but this hotel is not as a rule that cheap. Shocked to say the least!

Room Tip: Watch what you pay as not good standards in the rooms.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
9  Thank tiddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Location is perfect - However, like other reviewers - I had booked this for my husband's birthday as a treat - on arrival we were spoken to by a very surly and rude young foreign receptionist who didnt have the good grace to look at me while speaking - we understood you cant check in until 3pm but she didnt even tell us we could put our bags into the luggage room (another guest showed us this). The room itself was excellent clean and really nice - the breakfast room was just like Faulty Towers with no one taking charge guests and several young staff milling about aimlessly - not enough cups or plates and large pieces of eggshell in the scrambled eggs when i pointed this out the waiter just shrugged and walked off - The toaster, for which you had to queue, burnt the toast rather than toasted it and the coffee and tea was lukewarm and disgusting. We like other diners headed for the nearest Costa coffee straight after breakfast to get a decent cuppa. Its such a shame because this hotel has so much potential but lacks anyone taking charge of anything - the lack of management shows.

Room Tip: Apparently all the rooms are good - we were on the front at the top and were really happy with our r...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank coffee052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

I stayed recently with friends on a weekend break. Could not fault location. City centre and next door to the train station and just around the corner from the bus station. Great for shops ,bars and restaurants. Rooms need a little bit updating . Breakfast buffet was all you could want in a great Scottish breakfast. Would definitely go back.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
Thank LochsideScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

A must if staying in Inverness. 20 STEPS from the railway station front door to hotel ( my type of distance). From the minute you enter and see the staircase you will love the place. Our room was facing eastgate shopping centre which could mean noise, but no noise, very restful area even at night! Best breakfast I have ever had in a hotel, buffet style, take my word for it you will not be able to go up for seconds the selection is huge. The staff are very helpfull. So pick this hotel and go enjoy!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frankaren95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Just stayed here again (our favourite hotel in Inverness ) as we travel by train and you literally come out of the station and straight in to the hotel. A lot of refurbishing has been completed in the last couple of years and the dining room is absolutely beautiful with original features enhanced particularily the fabulous ceiling decorations. The colour scheme of blue and gold for the carpet and chairs is really lovely. The bedrooms are being refurbished and they have individual character. The staircase is beautiful and the meals in the Ash restaurant are really delicious and excellent value . (I can recommend the Gammon and the Steak pie both are absolutely delightful and nicely presented. ) I always find the staff friendly and helpful nothing is too much trouble for them. The choice at breakfast must be a record as there are so many items to choose from. Will be returning again in June and December. Can't wait !!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kenhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

arrived by train,walked out of the stationand straight into the hotel.bedroom was lovely and the breakfast was fantastic.town centre is really good for shopping.the walks along the river are excellent and the countryside is absolutely beautiful.

Room Tip: all rooms looked ok
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank taximan16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
0.4 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
pentahotel Inverness
pentahotel Inverness
#21 of 35 in Inverness
1,256 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Inverness Hotel
Mercure Inverness Hotel
#28 of 35 in Inverness
1,162 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#10 of 35 in Inverness
1,758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Highland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Highland Hotel

Address: 18 Academy Street, Inverness IV1 1LG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 35 Hotels in Inverness
Price Range: £61 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Highland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Highland Hotel is the oldest hotel in the centre of the Highland capital, Inverness. In 2000, the property was carefully restored, retaining its unique character associated with the bygone age. As soon as you enter the hotel you will appreciate this. In the foyer the grand staircase, the inspiration for the Titanic's staircase, leads to the 84 spacious refurbished bedrooms - all with very high ceilings. The decor is rich with traditional furniture and deep colours. The rooms all have soft furnishings and antique style furniture. The excellent bathrooms are generally medium to large in size. For over 151 years, the hotel has been looking after travellers from all over the world. Perhaps its popularity stems from the fact the hotel is a grand place to stay. Large bedrooms, large lounge areas, quiet meeting rooms, good food, prime location and friendly staff all play their part. All local amenities close to hand, but within a 5 minute drive you are out into the dramatic Highlands. Lochness is only 7 miles from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Highland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Highland Inverness
Hotel Royal Highland
Royal Highland Hotel Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing