We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok at best!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Highland Hotel
Ranked #18 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Ok at best!”
Reviewed 13 April 2013 via mobile

Booked ahead last minute yesterday - used online booking, usual preferences including non smoking room made. Upon arrival was told I was in smoking room! EH? was told that if I wanted to guarantee a non smoking room I must stipulate this in the online booking form! I thought i had by choosing non smoking room? Must have idiot tattooed on head, what a bloody stupid thing for a receptionist to say. Needless to say a non smoking upgrade was given. Left me fuming so to speak! Room 123 was ok, very noisy heating system. Clean and functional. Buffet breakfast served at 7, cold by 7:15! Good choice though. Hotel restaurant ash is slated in trip advisor and I can see why given the quality of hotel staff! Poor show really!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scott s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
culcabock, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2013
Thank you for the review and we apologise for the inconvenience faced. We would also like to mention that we do not appreciate phrases like 'bloody stupid thing for a receptionist...' as we feel that usage of such words will not help to resolve any issues. Also you have mentionned about 'reviews' of an aspect of the Hotel without actually experiencing it, which, unfortunately, we would have to point out. Thanks once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,786 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    438
    673
    381
    157
    137
See reviews for
253
872
144
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
glasgow scotland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Stayed here for a weekend in February wot a lovely hotel. The staff were helpful and very pleasant and the rooms were clean and will equipped every thing you needed for a weekend break. The hotel is central for everything you are in walking distance to all the shops and if you travel by bus it's less than a five minute walk and by train when you exit the train station your right at the entrance to the hotel all in all a great choice of hotel and location.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jandsmuldoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
culcabock, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2013
Thank you for the kind review - we will share it with the entire team and we shall always try to provide the best of services to our guests. We hope to welcome you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fraserburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Stayed 3 nights in Dec 12, couldn't fault the place, room was huge, breakfast brilliant, very central for everything, ok it is need of updating but still lovely, definitely going back this year to our favourite city and will definitely be staying at this hotel again. Hope I get the same room!!

Room Tip: Corner suites are very spacious, and beds are excellent!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
culcabock, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2013
Thank you for the kind review - we will share it with the entire team and we shall always try to provide the best of services to our guests. We hope to welcome you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013 via mobile



The bathroom window was rotting away, the holes were large enough to pass a finger through, this meant there was a considerably large draft of cold air. There was a blind covering the window (which also is broken as it cannot be pulled up) this is clearly there so as no one notices the window.

Dust on every visible ledge, i.e. picture frames, TV, etc.

Faulty socket for kettle (the plug didn't fully insert, clearly this is a major health and safety risk).

There were three of us staying in the room and yet we were only supplied with two towels, two mugs, two cups and only enough soap/shower gel for one person.

Also there was no detailed hotel information provided in the room, such as check out times etc.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank Hazel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
culcabock, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2013
Thank you for the review and we apologise for the inconvenience you mentionned. We have noted all the points for initiating appropriate corrective action and we would like to reassure you that majority of our guests take back with them a pleasant experience. We would be grateful if you stay with us again so that we get an opportunity to rectify the experience of the present stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Inverness hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

Had a 2 night break at this hotel with my daughter. Not our first choice but we had a pleasant stay. First impression wasn't good though. Hoping to check in we were greeted by a receptionist who slid a key for a luggage room whilst still on the phone. She didn't even ask if we had a room booked but told us check in was 3pm, we are still waiting for her to smile. Our twin room was at the back of the hotel with no view but no real disappointment there as we were using the room to sleep only. Decor was a bit tired but it was perfectly clean and comfortable. Our wee hospitality tray was replenished fully for our second day. The bathroom was spotless with a large round shower head which had fab pressure so good you didn't want to get out. Our towels and toiletries were replaced too for our next day. Breakfast was the usual buffet selection, plentiful and varied. Only disappointment here was the hot buffet was barely warm. Would expect a hot breakfast right to the end of serving. Don't like my tea from those awful self service machines, waiter service for this would be much more enjoyable. All in all more than satisfactory and would probably go back. If you are looking for a more picturesque stay, choose a hotel down by the river.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rufus_1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
culcabock, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2013
Thank you for the kind review - we will share it with the entire team and we shall always try to provide the best of services to our guests. We hope to welcome you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013 via mobile

Have just returned from a two night break at this lovely hotel. Perfect location, right in the middle of everything ! Walking distance from everything you need! Only problem was parking...we had to pay £12 to park our car for two days at a nearby car park. When we got to the hotel the receptionist was welcoming and friendly and talked to us about what we could do and see. Our room was big and comfy. It was a warm room but there was a fan provided which cooled the room down in no time. With our deal we got vouchers for cocktails, a bottle of wine and dinner. When we went for dinner we thought it would be a restricted menu because of te discount voucher but we were told we could order anything ! Amazing value, we got tempura prawns and chicken skewers for starter and both got an amazing sirloin steak each ! So good ! From the moment we got there until the moment we left everyone was helpful and friendly. We had a brilliant stay and it was great value !

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megadx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
culcabock, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2013
Thank you for the kind review - we will share it with the entire team and we shall always try to provide the best of services to our guests. We hope to welcome you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night on our road trip to Loch Ness. Nothing good that I can say for this hotel. Old building with all old furniture. Picture that you have of this hotel is totally fraud. Carpet in the lobby and room is so old & dirty. They said they have car park but only 9 spaces which is first in first serve & it's always full!! Shower pressure is no good. Very limited toiletries. We heard noise from our room. bathroom is too small. I couldn't wash my hair without hitting my elbows to the wall & I am only little! Receptionist was having a personal conversation on the phone with a boyfriend and let the guests waited and waited till we could check-in! I won't recommend to anyone! Seriously!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MissTjia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
culcabock, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2013
Thank you for the kind review - and we apologise for the inconveniences faced and let us reassure you that appropriate corrective action have been initiated. We hope to welcome you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
0.8 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#9 of 34 in Inverness
1,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
0.1 mi away
pentahotel Inverness
pentahotel Inverness
#21 of 34 in Inverness
1,190 reviews
1.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Inverness
Jurys Inn Inverness
#25 of 34 in Inverness
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Highland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Highland Hotel

Property: Royal Highland Hotel
Address: 18 Academy Street, Inverness IV1 1LG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Highland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Highland Hotel is the oldest hotel in the centre of the Highland capital, Inverness. In 2000, the property was carefully restored, retaining its unique character associated with the bygone age. As soon as you enter the hotel you will appreciate this. In the foyer the grand staircase, the inspiration for the Titanic's staircase, leads to the 84 spacious refurbished bedrooms - all with very high ceilings. The decor is rich with traditional furniture and deep colours. The rooms all have soft furnishings and antique style furniture. The excellent bathrooms are generally medium to large in size. For over 151 years, the hotel has been looking after travellers from all over the world. Perhaps its popularity stems from the fact the hotel is a grand place to stay. Large bedrooms, large lounge areas, quiet meeting rooms, good food, prime location and friendly staff all play their part. All local amenities close to hand, but within a 5 minute drive you are out into the dramatic Highlands. Lochness is only 7 miles from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Highland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Highland Inverness
Hotel Royal Highland
Royal Highland Hotel Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing