We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Highland Hotel
Ranked #18 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

stayed 2nights on a living social deal.Extremely comfortable especially the beds and the staff were so helpful and pleasant.A high standard of cleanliness was noted throughout the hotel and meals were excellent at all times. Only problem was car parking which appears to be limited at the hotel.

Room Tip: 1st floor overlooking square so you can watch for vacant space should you have a car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
culcabock, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Thank you very much for the kind review. The hotel has 8 free car parking spaces and the multistoried car park is 5 mins walking and 2 mins driving time away. We would definitely look forward to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,785 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    438
    673
    381
    156
    137
See reviews for
253
871
144
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

we booked this hotel through an ebay voucher and was a little wary after reading some other reviews, our worries were quickly eased as the hotel is lovely.
I had seen some complaints about early check in being a problem, and yes they are quite strict on the 3 0 clock check in time but staff were helpful and we stored our luggage at the hotel and took the opportunity to have a wander round the town , on our return the check in was smooth with no issues. We were in the smaller rooms at the top of the hotel, but the room was plenty big enough with a great bed and everything you may need, bathroom was great with classy toiletries.
The breakfast was excellent with loads of choice, loved having potatoe cakes and haggis on offer, coffee was great and plentiful
We didnt eat in the Ash restaurant but it looked very inviting, bar prices were a bit steep but you expect that from a hotel bar. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynn s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
culcabock, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Thank you very much for the kind review. We would definitely look forward to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grangemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Stayed for 2 nights on a Living Social Deal. The hotel was old and somewhat dated but nicely presented and well located in the centre of town. The evening meal was lovely in the Ash Restaurant and the breakfast was good with plenty of choice however, the fruit juices were diluted and tasted of water! Smart comfortable room but sadly towel rail heater in the bathroom didn't work so it was freezing in there! The shower was non adjusting, low on pressure and the water wasn't very hot. In spite of that the deal was great value for money.

Room Tip: We had room 223 which had a non existent view other than the roof of the adjacent train station. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 805janer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
culcabock, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Thank you very much for the kind review. As can be seen from the various reviews in this forum, the room sizes vary in view of the age and evolution of this 160 year old hotel - but most of our rooms are either large or medium sized with a few smaller ones - on thing that is common is the modern facilities like wifi etc and the special and individual character that each of the room offers. We would definitely look forward to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
125 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We have just returned from a 2 night stay and we would recommend it. Arrived early at reception but our room was ready which was a bouns. The room however was a little disappointing. I know its a very old hotel + building and these will have little 'foibles', and that is actually something I usually love. This room however was quite small with a sloping down roof just to one side of the bed - and a sloping floor almost everywhere else:) The desk was quite genuinely at an angle ! Getting into bed meant manouvering enough not to bump into the wall mounted tv and avoid the roof :) On the subject of the tv, we also had just 5 channels (only mentioning as if you are not the type to go out of an evening, this may be worth knowing) Anyway, bathroom was also small, but was very clean.

We were there on a deal so had evening meal in adjoining restaurant Ash. Like someone else mentioned, the head waiter could be more welcoming, but the food was lovely as were the young waiting staff.

Breakfast staff were marvellous - nothing too much trouble and very efficient. Front of house staff also very friendly and welcoming.

Hotel is right next to railway station so very central for almost everythung else (bus station perhaps a 7 - 10 minute walk)

The small squinty room aside, we did enjoy our stay. Like stepping back in time in a beautiful way. Go - if only to see the magnificent staircase :)

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
culcabock, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Thank you very much for the kind review. As can be seen from the various reviews in this forum, the room sizes vary in view of the age and evolution of this 160 year old hotel - but most of our rooms are either large or medium sized with a few smaller ones - on thing that is common is the modern facilities like wifi etc and the special and individual character that each of the room offers. We would definitely look forward to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thurso, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Stayed here Monday 18/11, we were already in town but wanted to stay here for one night due to the proximity to the rail station. Check in not until three but the desk staff were happy for us to leave our luggage in the porters room at 10AM so that was convenient. I have stayed here before so knew what to expect - the public rooms are very grand & "old Scotland/ old rail company in style - all very nice. The bedrooms & corridors in all honesty could do with a bit of a refurb', the odd tile missing or loose - wobbly towel rail etc. A bit of attention to detail would make a huge improvement.
Bar was friendly with prices much as you would expect for a city center hotel, drank wine which was surprisingly nice because the beer,as in much of Scotland is just not good. Bar staff were friendly and attentive (even when the young lady serving had a bit of a mishap when opening a new bottle of wine - she still managed to smile as she turned her lovely white blouse into a red polka dot).
Breakfast is adequate but I don't see a reason for coffee machines when there are four staff on duty, have we forgotten all forms of service in this country?
Checkout was fast and easy - no surprises - no incorrect additions to the bill.

Room Tip: High up with a working window
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
culcabock, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Thank you for the kind review - we have noted your points very carefully and will definitely act on those - would look forward to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I have just returned with my sister after a two day break,from the moment we arrived,the way we were treated was amazing
the room was spacious lovely bathroom with everything we would want and more,food was of avery high standard as well as presentation.
I would like to give aspecial mention to gailteam leader at breakfast davidat reception and the head waiter /managerin resturant
Pat & joan mc Manus

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
culcabock, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Thank you for the kind review - we shall definitely share your comments with Gail, David, Anant and Panos as well as with the rest of the team - and would look forward to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thurso, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Just had a lovely night away in the Royal Highland. Very friendly reception, nice room, big bath! Breakfast was a treat, lots of tea (or coffee) cereal, fruit and lots of well prepared and cooked food nothing was too much trouble for anyone. Bed lovely and comfy but the pillows were horrid.
cosy and old fashioned - I half expected Miss Marple to appear.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Val A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
culcabock, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you so much for the kind (and humorous) review - will let you know when Mrs Marple visits us next! Looking forward to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
0.8 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#9 of 34 in Inverness
1,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
0.1 mi away
pentahotel Inverness
pentahotel Inverness
#21 of 34 in Inverness
1,190 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Inverness Hotel
Mercure Inverness Hotel
#29 of 34 in Inverness
1,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Highland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Highland Hotel

Property: Royal Highland Hotel
Address: 18 Academy Street, Inverness IV1 1LG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Highland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Highland Hotel is the oldest hotel in the centre of the Highland capital, Inverness. In 2000, the property was carefully restored, retaining its unique character associated with the bygone age. As soon as you enter the hotel you will appreciate this. In the foyer the grand staircase, the inspiration for the Titanic's staircase, leads to the 84 spacious refurbished bedrooms - all with very high ceilings. The decor is rich with traditional furniture and deep colours. The rooms all have soft furnishings and antique style furniture. The excellent bathrooms are generally medium to large in size. For over 151 years, the hotel has been looking after travellers from all over the world. Perhaps its popularity stems from the fact the hotel is a grand place to stay. Large bedrooms, large lounge areas, quiet meeting rooms, good food, prime location and friendly staff all play their part. All local amenities close to hand, but within a 5 minute drive you are out into the dramatic Highlands. Lochness is only 7 miles from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Highland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Highland Inverness
Hotel Royal Highland
Royal Highland Hotel Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing