We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice to be back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Highland Hotel
Ranked #18 of 36 Hotels in Inverness
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Several years ago I stayed at this hotel and was very impressed.Recently my partner and I spent the night.It was as good as I remembered it to be.A very helpful receptionist checked us in and guided me to a free parking space just outside the front door.
The Royal Highland is right in the centre of the city next to the train station so central for some great shopping if required.This is a hotel built when the railway came to Inverness and the grand elegance it must have had then is still very much retained.The Grand staircase and lobby is an echo back to the past which fits nicely into this modern world of today.
The room was a comfortable double with a bathroom almost as big as the room itself.Breakfast in the Victorian ball room is a must when you visit.The evening meal in the restaurant (obviously contracted out) was in stark contrast to the hotel itself, modern with a staff who were rather curt and did not seem to care too much about customer service.A bit of a let down but we did get 20% off the bill as we were hotel guests so that helped cushion their manners.
It was very nice to be back and I would certainly return, if only just to walk down the staircase.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Davieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
culcabock, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Thank you for the kind review and we hope to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,957)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,260 - 1,266 of 1,957 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2013

Sitting bang right next to the station, it's an ideal base for touring the Highlands. Tastefully decorated reception area, reminiscent of days gone by, sets the tone for the rest of the hotel. The bedroom we stayed in (twin) was large, clean and had all the usual adornments one expects and requires, flat screen television with free view, desk, chairs, comfortable beds and a hospitality tray that had a good selection on it. Large bathroom with a bath and power shower with all the toiletries required plus double sink units. Dining was in the Ash Restaurant and was a little cramped. The food was very good and the service adequate. Whist the waiters, reception staff, bar staff etc were efficient they were not as friendly as I have experienced elsewhere in Scotland. The bar itself was expensive and with Mr Wethersoon just round the corner they need to review their prices. Good buffet breakfast served in a huge dining area with an excellent choice of all you could require to set you up for a day exploring. I certainly would consider staying again if in the area but would definitely drink in one of the many hostelries in the immediate area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fordhamfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
culcabock, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Thank you so much for your kind review and we shall share it withe Team Royal Highland. Being in the city centre, most of our guests prefer to have some exclusivity when they relax in the evening in the bar lounge area and not being surrounded with the normal weekend crowd and our bar pricing is geared towards that. We definitely hope to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

Just had a lovely few days in this hotel it's got a lovely feeling of days gone by . It's got a beautiful foyer to sit in have a read or just a cup of tea . The bedrooms ar very comfortable and warm some nice toiletrys I the bathroom also so just right at the station

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank AberdeenKaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
culcabock, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Thank you very much for the kind review - we hope to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

Ideally located next to Station in centre of town, excellent value for money. Good rooms, well appointed, clean and comfortable, and buffet breakfast is ideal, including kippers cooked to order if requested. Great fun sitting in the elegant foyer of late evening having wee dram as night cap. Strange set up in restaurant though, food good, but feel like sheep being penned behind a glass corral..Not allowed to eat in bar area. Ventured out every night as result .. there are some good options close to river not far away.. (found them on Trip Advisor)

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Nigel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
culcabock, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Thank you very much for the kind review. We are disappointed that you did not find the dining area in our Ash restaurant which has a seating capacity of 65 persons and majority of our guests prefer to have the food there rather than the Bar area. We hope that during your next visit we shall be able to explain you the arrangements in a better way and we definitely hope to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

stayed at the hotel many times before, no complaints, stayed last week and they have changed the wi-fi system. before it was free with just a key. now you have to log in create logon and password, then you only get 45mins free a day after that they want £5 per day.

Room Tip: ask about the wi-fi before you book, it's the only way it will change
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank busdriver398
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
culcabock, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Thank you very much for the kind review. We have recently upgraded our WiFi system to the latest standards which will give a better internet experience than ever before as the usage of WiFi enabled equipments like smart phones, tablets etc have multiplied in a big number in the recent times. However, in order to prevent unnecessary wastage of bandwidth so that the serious users can get a quality service, we have decided to offer 45 mins /day of wifi absolutely free of charge and then a nominal £5 for 24 hours are charged which has not only been accepted but also appreciated by the majority of the serious wifi users. We hope you have understood the reason for the revised wifi usgae norms and we hope to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

stayed 2nights on a living social deal.Extremely comfortable especially the beds and the staff were so helpful and pleasant.A high standard of cleanliness was noted throughout the hotel and meals were excellent at all times. Only problem was car parking which appears to be limited at the hotel.

Room Tip: 1st floor overlooking square so you can watch for vacant space should you have a car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wilna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
culcabock, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Thank you very much for the kind review. The hotel has 8 free car parking spaces and the multistoried car park is 5 mins walking and 2 mins driving time away. We would definitely look forward to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

we booked this hotel through an ebay voucher and was a little wary after reading some other reviews, our worries were quickly eased as the hotel is lovely.
I had seen some complaints about early check in being a problem, and yes they are quite strict on the 3 0 clock check in time but staff were helpful and we stored our luggage at the hotel and took the opportunity to have a wander round the town , on our return the check in was smooth with no issues. We were in the smaller rooms at the top of the hotel, but the room was plenty big enough with a great bed and everything you may need, bathroom was great with classy toiletries.
The breakfast was excellent with loads of choice, loved having potatoe cakes and haggis on offer, coffee was great and plentiful
We didnt eat in the Ash restaurant but it looked very inviting, bar prices were a bit steep but you expect that from a hotel bar. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynn s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
culcabock, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Thank you very much for the kind review. We would definitely look forward to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
0.4 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Columba Hotel Inverness by Compass Hospitality
0.8 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#6 of 36 in Inverness
1,904 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Inverness Hotel
Mercure Inverness Hotel
#29 of 36 in Inverness
1,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Highland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Highland Hotel

Address: Station Square, Academy Street, Inverness IV1 1LG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 36 Hotels in Inverness
Price Range: £44 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Highland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Highland Hotel is the oldest hotel in the centre of the Highland capital, Inverness. In 2000, the property was carefully restored, retaining its unique character associated with the bygone age. As soon as you enter the hotel you will appreciate this. In the foyer the grand staircase, the inspiration for the Titanic's staircase, leads to the 84 spacious refurbished bedrooms - all with very high ceilings. The decor is rich with traditional furniture and deep colours. The rooms all have soft furnishings and antique style furniture. The excellent bathrooms are generally medium to large in size. For over 151 years, the hotel has been looking after travellers from all over the world. Perhaps its popularity stems from the fact the hotel is a grand place to stay. Large bedrooms, large lounge areas, quiet meeting rooms, good food, prime location and friendly staff all play their part. All local amenities close to hand, but within a 5 minute drive you are out into the dramatic Highlands. Lochness is only 7 miles from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Highland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Highland Inverness
Hotel Royal Highland
Royal Highland Hotel Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing