We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“August Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Highland Hotel
Ranked #18 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Carrbridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“August Stay”
Reviewed 21 December 2013

On the most part my stay was pleasant. The room which I was in (on the first floor) looked over the rear of pizza express skips but the interior was bright and airy. The bathroom was of a good standard and the shower pressure and water temperature probably the best I have ever had in a hotel. I do have a few gripes though. I arrived at about 1:30pm and tried to check in early, whilst I appreciate that for whatever reason, I may not have been able to check in early, the way that my enquiry was dealt with by reception was less than satisfactory, and reading some other reviews other folk have had similar experiences. I couldn't connect to the wifi on my smartphone once I had finally checked in and after my previous experience there, I wasn't about to ask them for help. All that said the breakfast, rooms and housekeeping cleanliness were very acceptable.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
culcabock, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thank you very much for the kind review and we have noted the contents very carefully. Being an hotel of heritage stock but located in the city centre has its factors of convenience as well as the view of our neighbours from a very few of our 86 rooms. We hope that you will not find the problem with the wifi connectivity in your next visit as we have upgraded to the very best system since then and we shall definitley take corrective action over the communication incident you have mentionned. We hope to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,824 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    448
    689
    387
    161
    139
See reviews for
263
888
148
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
edinburgh
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We spent an evening here and were blown away by the hospitality of all the staff we came into contact with.Our room was pleasant,spacious and warm.Well stocked hospitality tray and squeaky clean bathroom with complimentary toiletries and oodles of fresh,fluffy white towels.The food was of excellent quality,well presented and reasonably priced.Lounge and bar areas were cosy and comfortable.Breakfast was excellent with a wide range of items on offer and breakfast room staff were polite and helpful.Have to say,the beds in room 207 were incredibly comfy and had a superb nights sleep.Despite some other reviews we found all the staff polite ,helpful and keen to please.5 star it isn't, but for the price and the ambience of this central highland hotel,I would recommend a stay if visiting Inverness.It is right on the doorstep for train station and shopping with many nice bars and restaurants within a stone's throw.Perhaps people who complain would be better in a Travelodge/Premier Inn?This hotel exudes old world charm and is in good nick considering it's age and cost of upkeep.For me,it provides a quaint experience of highland hospitality from days gone by,and the staff do a wonderful job.

Room Tip: 207 was warm,clean,comfortable and spacious with view over main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank birdswhobrunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
culcabock, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thank you very much for the kind review which the Team Royal Highland feels the best Christmas Gift that they can have - we do try to provide all our guest so that they have a pleasant stay experience, but , at the end of the day, we also are human beings and do slip up on the expectations some time - but our efforts remain the same.Thanking you once again and wishing you a Very Merry Christmas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Can"t say enough about this hotel. My partner and i just came back last week after spending a 2 night stay, our third visit and i am booked to go back in January. I have read bad reviews on this hotel and can"t understand why. The location is excellent, staff have always been so helpful and attentive, reason for us always returning for visits, on each occasion we always had a lovely bedroom and could not fault the cleanliness. Breakfast selection was plentiful and the service in the restaurant for dinner in the evening was wonderful. Just visiting the hotel for a coffee just to see the fabulous staircase is a must. .

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank helen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
culcabock, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thank you very much for the kind review which the Team Royal Highland feels the best Christmas Gift that they can have - we do try to provide all our guest so that they have a pleasant stay experience, but , at the end of the day, we also are human beings and do slip up on the expectations some time - but our efforts remain the same.Thanking you once again and wishing you a Very Merry Christmas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garve
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Called in for morning coffee. Good polite service but sugar bowl and milk jug in need of a good wash, showing coffee stains . Waitress apologised but very interestedly. Same applied to receptionist when brought to her notice. A bit tightening up to make this a very nice stop

Room Tip: Rooms not applicable here
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MurdochMacPhail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
culcabock, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Thank you for the review though it is very, very rarely do we find any of our guests asking for tea/coffee in room as we have an elaborate Complimentary Hospitality Tray in every room which not only gives a choice of tea/coffee/hot chocolate as well as a variety of shortbreads and confectionery titbits and of course a bottle each of still and sparkling water - we would sincerely request you to get in touch with us by emailing info@royalhighlandhotel.co.uk with you date of stay etc so that we can investigate it fully as we do not find any record of serving hot beverages in room from our room service records. We hope to welcome you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wick, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Stayed for one night on a very reasonable rate so was prepared to get what we paid for, which we did. Room was small but warm and had everything you could need, hospitality tray, hairdryer, iron and safe. Slept well in the bed even though it was small, heavy curtains were bit tatty but did the trick in keeping out the light. On first glance bathroom appeared spotless but relaxing in the bath, your eye was drawn to the disgustingly dirty toilet rim and heavily flaking ceiling.
Breakfast was adequate, just the usual fare but the black pudding was delicious.
However I have to agree with other reviewers about the staff. Check in guy was ok, not over friendly but polite enough. It was in my opinion the breakfast restaurant staff who let the side down. I witnessed a delightful elderly lady clearly struggling with self service for herself and her disabled husband, ignored by three staff including a woman in black which I assume was a manager. The restaurant was not busy so they could not have that as an excuse. I eventually took pity on her myself and helped her out, this should not have been left to happen.
So in summary, if you want a central hotel at a reasonable rate and you are fit and healthy then this could be the place for you but if you are a pensioner I'd think again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bank66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
culcabock, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thank you for the review - we normally have a very high standard of housekeeping and breakfast services which can be seen by the user driven reviews in this sit as well as others and we shall definitely investigate the deviation reported by yourself and we apologise for any inconvenience caused. Wishing you a Very Merry Christmas and we hope to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Harris, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We stayed here for three nights as two families and we have never been treated so badly by Reception Staff- From check in to check out - their behaviour was appalling. We had booked three rooms, 1x family, 1 x twin and 1x double room - the double room you could hardly move in and the window was covered with frosted glass so no view at all, and the twin room was almost as bad no view - looking out the back of hotel. We complained and they told us to wait - took about 30 minutes of standing about reception for them to finally come and offer us another two rooms, the young boy said that they had upgraded us to a better room - "you could not get any better room in the whole of the hotel" and that they upgraded us at no extra cost, well if that was the best room, no towel rail working, toilet seat kept coming off - the twin room we were moved to didn't even have a view over looking the cement foyer and no shower working. This was bad enough. We had prepaid our stay - so on check out we where shocked to find that we had been charged supplement after supplement, the older woman at reception was rude, would not let us explain that we had prepaid everything - she continued to tell us that we had this to pay and to pay up - we asked to speak to management and she told us he was on a day off and would not be in and that we had to pay up and as she said "you could not get any higher than her" - the surcharges were - for two of our children both under 3 - should have been no charge as stated on their website - surcharge for the upgrade of the double room which was done by them not us - also stating that we had not paid for the final night. We had. Eventually saw the Manager come in and spoke to him - which sorted the matter out - was told this was an isolated incident - I hope so for other guests - The Manager can apologise - but the fact of the matter was this incident should never have happened in the first place, and as front of house staff they should be polite, helpful and welcoming- which they certainly where not, We were offered free accommodation to come back - but the way we were treated we will not be staying there again. I will mention the lovely Gail and her staff who worked at Breakfast - what a delight, could not do enough for us- perhaps Reception staff should take a look at her and then they might get it right.

Room Tip: I would add a tip but as told by reception staff all rooms are subject to change so even if you woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DB112013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
culcabock, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thank you for the review - we have reviewed the incident and have already clarified to you the reasons for the confusion and we apologise once again if our earlier apology was not sufficient. We have also passed on your kind appreciation to Gail and we definitely hope that we will get another opportunity to offer you the stay experience which majority of our guests take back with them. Wishing you and family a Very Happy Christmas from all of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Inverness hotels

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Several years ago I stayed at this hotel and was very impressed.Recently my partner and I spent the night.It was as good as I remembered it to be.A very helpful receptionist checked us in and guided me to a free parking space just outside the front door.
The Royal Highland is right in the centre of the city next to the train station so central for some great shopping if required.This is a hotel built when the railway came to Inverness and the grand elegance it must have had then is still very much retained.The Grand staircase and lobby is an echo back to the past which fits nicely into this modern world of today.
The room was a comfortable double with a bathroom almost as big as the room itself.Breakfast in the Victorian ball room is a must when you visit.The evening meal in the restaurant (obviously contracted out) was in stark contrast to the hotel itself, modern with a staff who were rather curt and did not seem to care too much about customer service.A bit of a let down but we did get 20% off the bill as we were hotel guests so that helped cushion their manners.
It was very nice to be back and I would certainly return, if only just to walk down the staircase.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
culcabock, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thank you for the kind review and we hope to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
0.4 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
pentahotel Inverness
pentahotel Inverness
#22 of 34 in Inverness
1,223 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#9 of 34 in Inverness
1,726 reviews
1.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Inverness
Jurys Inn Inverness
#19 of 34 in Inverness
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Highland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Highland Hotel

Property: Royal Highland Hotel
Address: 18 Academy Street, Inverness IV1 1LG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Highland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Highland Hotel is the oldest hotel in the centre of the Highland capital, Inverness. In 2000, the property was carefully restored, retaining its unique character associated with the bygone age. As soon as you enter the hotel you will appreciate this. In the foyer the grand staircase, the inspiration for the Titanic's staircase, leads to the 84 spacious refurbished bedrooms - all with very high ceilings. The decor is rich with traditional furniture and deep colours. The rooms all have soft furnishings and antique style furniture. The excellent bathrooms are generally medium to large in size. For over 151 years, the hotel has been looking after travellers from all over the world. Perhaps its popularity stems from the fact the hotel is a grand place to stay. Large bedrooms, large lounge areas, quiet meeting rooms, good food, prime location and friendly staff all play their part. All local amenities close to hand, but within a 5 minute drive you are out into the dramatic Highlands. Lochness is only 7 miles from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Highland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Highland Inverness
Hotel Royal Highland
Royal Highland Hotel Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing