We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good deal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Highland Hotel
Ranked #19 of 36 Hotels in Inverness
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

Was here for an after christmas break, with my better half have been a couple of times. The hotel is lovely, yes a bit dated but clean. Part of our deal was a meal with wine on the first night. Great meal slightly rushed between courses but no problem. The breakfast is to die for ( and you probably would if you ate what was on offer every day ) but set you up for the day. Not too much to do in Inverness if you dont have a car. On the whole found staff very friendly. But especially breakfast staff. Read some comments about reception staff being rude. But also heard some guests being rude to them. They are only human if you want manners from staff working long hours, do the decent thing and and reciprocate manners work BOTH ways

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
culcabock, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Thank you very much for the kind review - we have noted the points and will take corrective action wherever necessary. Thank you once again and we hope to welcome you whenever you are in Inverness

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,882)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,177 - 1,183 of 1,882 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2014

love this hotel for it"s location and quirkyness right at the train station and being in the heart of the city.mostly stay in single rooms on 3rd floor being a smoker.rooms aren"t massive but has all the comforts you need and all ensuite.try and get a room at the back if you want peace and quiet.
great breakfast to suit all needs and you get 20% off your meal if you desire to eat in the ash bar and restaurant.staff are very friendly,especially on the front desk.could do with some updating,but with the hotel being as old as it is..what do you expect..overall.a great place to stay and will definitely return

Room Tip: higher rooms have less A/C unit noise and try and get a room at the back being quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iandundee1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
culcabock, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Thank you very much for the kind review - we have noted the points and will take corrective action wherever necessary. Thank you once again and we hope to welcome you whenever you are in Inverness

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We had a 2 night stay and enjoyed everything about it. The room was lovely and spacious, the food in the Ash Restaurant was wonderful, the breakfast was excellent and the staff were so helpful and friendly.
We took our small blind dog with us and we were made to feel so welcome with her.
We enjoyed it so much we re-booked for another 2 night stay in March before we left. Thank you to all staff and a special thank you to Janice for being so nice and helpful. We would reccomend this hotel without hesitation.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
culcabock, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Thank you very much for the kind review and we are looking forward to welcome you in March.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

This is an old fashioned hotel which could do with some renovation. The hotel is well situated being attached to the railway station. Parking is very limited, but I was fortunate there was a space available. The room was reasonable with a good bed and nice TV. The room was on the 3rd floor and the ceiling height was restricted due to the sloping roof. There was lots of noise whenever the neighbouring room used water or flushed the toilet. The food in the restaurant (Ash) was excellent and reasonably priced. The restaurant staff were very friendly and attentive.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
culcabock, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Thank you very much for the kind review - we have noted the points and will take corrective action wherever necessary. Thank you once again and we hope to welcome you whenever you are in Inverness.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

myself and my partner stayed here as part of a "works night out". As we were attending one of the hotels murder mystery nights and live approxiamately 30 miles away, we felt a stay over at the hotel would be the easiest option.
The hotel itself is a large, old building and the room was spacious, comfortable and clean...... so far so good. However our evening was spoilt by the general feeling of the hotel, the poor quality of the food and the attitude of the staff.
Firstly the murder mystery evening itself; the meal can only be described as unappetising. We were given a three course meal of very plain food which was accompanied by either a glass of (bad) wine, pint of lager or soft drink. When 2 of my party asked for an extra bread roll the waitress appeared blank and had to check with her management - only one of these requests was fulfilled. When another member asked for a shandy (rather than a pint of lager) this also caused a problem. When further wine was requested for the table this also caused a quandry for the inexperienced staff- even though it was to be paid at this time. This would have been acceptable for £30 a head - but not for £55 a head. I appreciate that actors and entertainment were part of the package but I feel the value for money of this evening was poor.
The room in which the evening itself took place felt clinical, too big and lacking in character - this could have easily have been rectified by dimming the lights and possibly playing some music? The actors involved in the murder mystery however did a good job.
When we attended for breakfast the following morning, our room number was taken as expected then the lady then looked away - prompting me to ask her whether she just wished us to choose our own table or whether we should wait to be seated, a small point, but yet again a further indication to us that the staff seemed disinterested.

To some up my feelings of my stay at the Royal Highland Hotel, I would say I was disappointed that such a grand old building at the heart of Inverness is not showing its full potential, as it really could be special, stay here by all means - but avoid the food!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
4  Thank easylifeInverness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
culcabock, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Thank you for the review and, at the outset, we apologise for any inconvenience. This is the tenth year of our organising the Murder Mystery events during the weekends of December in our heritage Grand Wallace Ballroom and this time also almost 480 guests attended the event. While we are disappointed that the associated services did not come upto your expectation and we shall definitely look into these, however, you will be happy to know that the general feedback from the guests had been extremely satisfactory. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 1 night and was surprised at how nice it was. The staff were friendly and helpful in the hotel itself but I would strongly advise against using the adjoining bar/restaurant called Ash. The hotel is clean with large rooms. The bathroom was spotless and monsoon shower excellent. At £32 for a single room the value is outstanding. The hotel itself is part of the building that houses the train station and the bus station is 2 minutes walk away. There are loads of bars, restaurants and shops nearby. Tip for a room would be to get an internal facing window, no view but as the windows are single glazed it will stop noise from the busy road outside.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank paul0107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
culcabock, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Thank you for the kind review - it had always been our intention to offer our guests the most competitive rates that can be offered in Inverness at various times of the season. We hope to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

I stayed here in a twin room whilst working nearby it was warm and cosy and the single beds were very comfortable the breakfast wasnt the best to be fair and quite overpriced but there are some nice cafe's nearby the bathroom was small but nicely appointed and although we overlooked the train station there was very little noise even with the window open staff were lovely and served us drinks til the we small hours and apart from some questionable modern art here and there it is a lovely period hotel in the Highlands

Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
culcabock, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Thank you for the kind review - it had always been our intention to offer our guests the most flexible rate choices and you may kindly note that if you opt for the Breakfast inclusive rates at the time of booking, a substantial saving can be made.Also, all our guests are offered a voucher that entitles them to have the second order at half price in the Ash Bar of the hotel and which is widely appreciated. We hope to welcome you again and wish you a Very Happy New Year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
0.1 mi away
pentahotel Inverness
pentahotel Inverness
#21 of 36 in Inverness
1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Mercure Inverness Hotel
Mercure Inverness Hotel
#29 of 36 in Inverness
1,181 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#7 of 36 in Inverness
1,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Highland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Highland Hotel

Address: 18 Academy Street, Inverness IV1 1LG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 36 Hotels in Inverness
Price Range: £57 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Highland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Highland Hotel is the oldest hotel in the centre of the Highland capital, Inverness. In 2000, the property was carefully restored, retaining its unique character associated with the bygone age. As soon as you enter the hotel you will appreciate this. In the foyer the grand staircase, the inspiration for the Titanic's staircase, leads to the 84 spacious refurbished bedrooms - all with very high ceilings. The decor is rich with traditional furniture and deep colours. The rooms all have soft furnishings and antique style furniture. The excellent bathrooms are generally medium to large in size. For over 151 years, the hotel has been looking after travellers from all over the world. Perhaps its popularity stems from the fact the hotel is a grand place to stay. Large bedrooms, large lounge areas, quiet meeting rooms, good food, prime location and friendly staff all play their part. All local amenities close to hand, but within a 5 minute drive you are out into the dramatic Highlands. Lochness is only 7 miles from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Highland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Highland Inverness
Hotel Royal Highland
Royal Highland Hotel Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing