We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Talk about value for money!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Highland Hotel
Ranked #18 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
glasgow
Level Contributor
200 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Talk about value for money!”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed here for one night, and talk about value for money! The hotel is old, but I found the character very quaint and almost cute in parts, like an old house with character and charm. The location is ideal.The room was a very good size, as was the bathroom and it was spotlessly clean. The bed and bedding was very comfortable. All the amenities you could need were in the room - toiletries, kettle and refreshments tray, couple of bottles of water, hairdryer, iron and ironing board, electric fan, and much more! We got breakfast delivered to our room, full Scottish and full Scottish vegetarian, coffees, juice and toast (top marks for doing full vegetarian cooked breakfast).
The hotel has a 3pm check in and 10.30am check out - whilst the check in seems a bit later than most, the 10.30am check out is surprising. However, for an extra £10, you can get a 12 noon check out.
I would have no problem recommending this hotel and we will definetely stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lovetravelling18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
culcabock, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you for the kind review - we all look forward to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,786 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    438
    673
    381
    157
    137
See reviews for
253
872
144
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

My husband and I had an overnight stay here on 4/4/14, we booked a City View room which on arrival we didn't receive, after going to reception with our request for the room we booked and payed for in advance the young man laughed and advised us there was no double rooms left but we could have a twin room if we liked the look of it, he abruptly gave us another key and told us to look at room and let him know what we wanted to do, very unprofessional and disappointing. The double room was very small, twin room was bigger but we didn't pay £80 to push two beds together. Very dated looking hotel and it was mostly residents 50+ that were staying here! we would not return mostly because of the staff but really because the rooms pictured online are nothing like the rooms on arrival. Inverness is a lovely City, just a pity the staff don't reflect it.

Room Tip: Avoid 228 as it is tiny!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandybabyGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
culcabock, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you for the kind review - we apologise for any inconvenience and will definitely initiate corrective action - also, we are slightly confused as we do not have a category of 'City View Room' - however,all look forward to welcome you again to give you the pleasant stay experience which a majority of our guests take back with them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I had a lovely weekend stay here with my fiance which was actually an engagement present from my aunt who bought us a voucher.
The hotel was lovely and the staff were all very nice, the room was clean and enough space for us and the bathroom was lovely, big bath amazing shower very powerful and temperature just right.
We had a great stay here and loved sitting in the lounge and the bar was lovely int he evening.
The breakfast was great lots of choice and the toast machine was the best i have ever seen perfect toast everytime and lovely grannary bread. The juice machine was great, lovely fresh and cold juice.
I would recemmend this place for a lovely weekend in Inverness. We had one late night where we came in just after midnight and the staff even at that time were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveKenya2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
culcabock, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Thank you for the kind review and the Team Royal Highland would look forward to welcome you both again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckie
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We have been visiting this hotel for years, it is very central (next to the railway station) and in the past it has been a bit of a hit or miss. However our last stay proved to be first class, the food is excellent and they have a very good deal on at the moment. They have added lots of little touches in the rooms and the decor in the ballrooom has been updated, making this a very nice hotel to visit, especially the impressive staircase.

Room Tip: Perhaps not a room at the front of the hotel at the weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

Place was okay staff weren't very helpful or friendly! Service was slow alot of people waiting to check in at the same time room was cold at heating would work when it wanted to! Would not stay here again due to some of the rudeness from staff!!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Andewhenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
culcabock, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Thank you for the kind review and while we apologise and have noted your point for necessary action - we hope you had brought this to the attention to the Duty Manager who is available round the clock -the Team Royal Highland would look forward to welcome you again to give you the experience which the majority of our guests take back with them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Inverness hotels

Stock
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

If you are looking for a superb hotel with excellent staff and exquisite food look no further than the Royal Highland Hotel Inverness. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff and my wife, who has been a vegetarian for over 60 years had the best vegetarian meal she has ever had in the hotels marvellous Ash restaurant. The hotel is very convenient for Inverness Railway Station being a cricket pitch between station entrance and hotel lobby yet not a pip of noise from the trains. Also very convenient for local buses to Loch Ness. A wonderful find and a hotel we are looking forward to visiting again in the near future. If you can, book the "deal of deals" but keep it quiet we do not know how they do it for the money.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TGVanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Styled her on sat night as part of a big party, the entrance to the hotel is stunning and staff were very friendly. As our rooms weren't ready they kept our bags but due to them giving us vouchers for half price drinks in the bar we went there and enjoyed! Great bar staff on duty sat afternoon. When we got our rooms I was a little disappointed as it was very small and extremely warm, I felt like the bathroom was bigger and brighter than the room. The bed was comfy but felt like it was smaller than a double! Could easy have had an accident with the bedside cabinets as they so close to the bed one wrong move in bed during the night and you could loose an eye!

Breakfast was very nice in the morning and the room it was in was stunning. It was good for the price we paid and although I liked it and thought the locations as great I would possibly look at other hotels.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shonagall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
0.8 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#9 of 34 in Inverness
1,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
0.1 mi away
pentahotel Inverness
pentahotel Inverness
#21 of 34 in Inverness
1,190 reviews
1.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Inverness
Jurys Inn Inverness
#25 of 34 in Inverness
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Highland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Highland Hotel

Property: Royal Highland Hotel
Address: 18 Academy Street, Inverness IV1 1LG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Highland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Highland Hotel is the oldest hotel in the centre of the Highland capital, Inverness. In 2000, the property was carefully restored, retaining its unique character associated with the bygone age. As soon as you enter the hotel you will appreciate this. In the foyer the grand staircase, the inspiration for the Titanic's staircase, leads to the 84 spacious refurbished bedrooms - all with very high ceilings. The decor is rich with traditional furniture and deep colours. The rooms all have soft furnishings and antique style furniture. The excellent bathrooms are generally medium to large in size. For over 151 years, the hotel has been looking after travellers from all over the world. Perhaps its popularity stems from the fact the hotel is a grand place to stay. Large bedrooms, large lounge areas, quiet meeting rooms, good food, prime location and friendly staff all play their part. All local amenities close to hand, but within a 5 minute drive you are out into the dramatic Highlands. Lochness is only 7 miles from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Highland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Highland Inverness
Hotel Royal Highland
Royal Highland Hotel Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing