We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Highland Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Redcliffe Hotel(Inverness)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heathmount Hotel(Inverness)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,991)
Filter reviews
1,991 results
Traveller rating
502
748
417
170
154
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
502
748
417
170
154
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsash restauranttrain stationgrand staircaselovely old hoteltraditional hotellimited parkingcentral locationhospitality traytwin roomnight breakpublic areasbuffet breakfastbiscuitscar parkingbottled waterlocation is excellentshort break
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,223 - 1,228 of 1,991 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2014

we stayed here for a weekend in march it was a xmas present from family. breakfast is very good with plenty choice. dinner is excellent!!! drinks are very expensive, plenty pubs near hotel to go to with reasonable prices!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank padAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
culcabock, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Thank you for the kind review - It may not be out of context to mention here that all our resident guests get special price offs in the Bar and being a City Centre Hotel, we keep our Bar prices at a level where our resident guest are not disturbed by non-resident visitors - Team Royal Highland look forward to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Have stayed here on two occasions and never had any grounds for complaint. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, with a well-filled tray of water, coffee, tea and biscuits. The staff were pleasant and I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DRM168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
culcabock, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Thank you for the kind review - Team Royal Highland look forward to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

From check in to check out the reception staff were rude and extremely unhelpful. The Ash restaurant staff were also average and unfriendly. The rooms were standard and bathroom was nice. The sensitive fire alarms went off 5 times during our staff and reception staff were extremely rude about it upon mentioning it. We would NOT stay here again. The only good thing is the housekeeping who do a great job.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank catp4234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
culcabock, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thank you for the review and we apologise for any inconvenience during the stay. While the sound of fire alarm is indeed disturbing, but for the reasons of your safety, we cannot compromise on this which we hope you will kindly understand. The night staff on duty did try their best by explaining the situation and offering hot beverages on the house to those inconvenienced, however, we do apologise once again and hope that you will give us another opportunity to give you the stay experience that a majority of our guests take back with them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

The only good thing about this hotel is the housekeeping staff. Receptionists - rude, beds - uncomfortable, elevator - hopelessly slow... The list goes on.
To top it all off, the fire alarm goes off at least 4 times every day. Avoid staying here if you can.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Cam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
culcabock, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thank you for the review and we apologise for any inconvenience during the stay. While the sound of fire alarm is indeed disturbing, but for the reasons of your safety, we cannot compromise on this which we hope you will kindly understand. The night staff on duty did try their best by explaining the situation and offering hot beverages on the house to those inconvenienced, however, we do apologise once again and hope that you will give us another opportunity to give you the stay experience that a majority of our guests take back with them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We had a poor experience at the Royal Highland Hotel in Inverness. They have very sensitive smoke detectors which are set off when the shower is used and the door is left open. Whenever the alarm is set off in any room it makes a loud siren in every room. We did not get a decent night's sleep and we were there for four nights!

There are six of us travelling, three couples, and with a four night stopover we took the opportunity to resort all our luggage. On arrival the reception staff informed us we had to ring ahead to arrange help with our bags. They then stood and watched us make numerous trips up the two or three flights of stairs (the lift was painfully slow) without so much as a "sorry we can't help." Very poor form!

When we checked out the lady behinds he counter asked how our stay was. I responded by telling her they had to do something about the alarms. She was short and rude in her response. When I reminded her that she had asked for my feedback she was even ruder. Never staying there ever again!

One positive note - the house keeping staff were terrific - still not staying there again. If you are thinking about it - don't do it!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Craigusb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
culcabock, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thank you for the review and we apologise for any inconvenience during the stay. While the sound of fire alarm is indeed disturbing, but for the reasons of your safety, we cannot compromise on this which we hope you will kindly understand. The night staff on duty did try their best by explaining the situation and offering hot beverages on the house to those inconvenienced, however, we do apologise once again and hope that you will give us another opportunity to give you the stay experience that a majority of our guests take back with them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews