We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very royal treatment. ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Highland Hotel
Ranked #17 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very royal treatment. ”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Live like the royals in the highlands. We stayed 2 nights and had a lovely time. The staff was very courteous and accommodating. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable. Great location and good hotel.
The hotel also helped us with our tour of the isle of Skye which was most helpful.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Viquar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
culcabock, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for the review - we shall share your compliments with the entire Team RoyalHighland and we hope to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,756 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    430
    663
    374
    156
    133
See reviews for
246
856
141
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, United States
Level Contributor
292 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Very good location, being a very old hotel nice staircase but rooms are small and bathroom so so, for an overnight 3* acceptable, breakfast good, I had a fly in my room took me some time to chase it, one of the rooms of my group 337 was terrible when trying to plug in any of the outlets everything trembled, some of the rooms' phones did not work ... Quite hard to get through to reception. Wake up call service so so, porterage service average especially when you arrive.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
culcabock, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for the review - we shall definitely look into areas which did not come upto your expectation to initiate corrective actions and we hope to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
282 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

First impressions can be deceiving.... As you enter this hotel it looks rather grand with an amazing grand staircase, but it is let down by the rooms. It is laughable that the bathrooms are so badly ventilated that you cannot leave the door open for fear of setting off the firealarm. When opening the windows, you can discover flowers growing out of the rotten windowframe. The inside court is due an extensive renovation and looks horrible. If you keep your window open, the huge extractor from the kitchen will wake you up latest 6am with loud whooshing noise and smell.
The service in the restaurant is very haphazard and food at best average. As others have said, this hotel caters for large groups and they take precedence over the invidual travellers. Let's hope they earn enough money with these groups to refurbish extensively. A second lift would not go amiss, especially as nobody can access it due to these large groups.
Very central location but I believe there are better options nearby as well.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Notstandingstill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indroinverness, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Thank you for the review and we apologise for any inconvenience caused and we are disappointed that certain aspects of your stay did not come upto your expectations. We shall look into your observations very carefully and shall definitely take corrective actions wherever feasible. We would look forward to welcome you again and we are confident that you will have a stay experience which a majority of our guests take back with them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

This hotel is right next to Inverness railway station and is also not too far from the bus station either. The hotel retains the grandeur of the old station hotels built to support rail travellers back in the days when rail travel was starting out. It has a grand stair case which would not look out of place in a country house. The rooms are clean and as modern as they can be for an old building such as this and even the single rooms are quite spacious. They offer all the usual complimentary tea, coffee and toiletries but they are of a higher standard than most places for the good price I paid . There is a coffee shop and bistro in the hotel and it is also right next to the shopping centre so all in all a great central location for all attractions.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indroinverness, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Thank you for the kind review and we are dekighted that you enjoyed your stay with us - we shall share this with the entire Team Royal Highland and we would be delighted to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aberdeen
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

This hotel has seen better days. The worst part was the run down state of the whole hotel-with the exception of the downstairs lobby. It felt more like a hostel once you left this area.I echo what was said by other reviewers in that the hotel seems to be catering for large coach tours and the breakfast felt like that. It was probably one of the worst breakfasts I have had in a Scottish hotel-particularly given it was over £90 for one person-without breakfast!My room had a strip of exposed carpet tacks on which I cut my foot.Eventually I did get the breakfast charge reimbursed but I really was disappointed with the whole experience and would not recommend this hotel to anybody.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annieroar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indroinverness, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Thank you for the review and we apologise for any inconvenience caused and we are disappointed that certain aspects of your stay did not come upto your expectations. We shall look into your observations very carefully and shall definitely take corrective actions. We would look forward to welcome you again and we are confident that you will have a stay experience which a majority of our guests take back with them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Inverness hotels

Neustadt an der Weinstrasse, Germany
Level Contributor
144 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The hotel's USP is that is in fact part of the old train station. But it is outdone by the fact that you got alternatives around. It breathes heavily of glorious times past. The room was more or less under the roof top and had a bathroom with a peculiar warning, i.e. that showering with the bathroom door open could set out the fire alarm - an experience I shared thanks to another guest at 1:40am. Specially nice was the night porter banging on my door and inspecting my bathroom though I evidently opened the door in night dress. An apology would have been nice. The bathroom as such did its job (respecting the fire alarm of course and keeping the door shut). Breakfast in the morning was simply awful of mediocre quality and resembled the feeding of the masses. The sausage spoke with me till midday. Modern facilities are available free of charge for 45mins., provided you get the wireless lan running (which I did not). Good for not even one night only.

Room Tip: If you stay here nevertheless make sure the room meets your mobility requirements. I found the coupl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Flugwiesel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
culcabock, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us and we would like to apologise for the inconveniences experienced. Let us reassure you that we are seriously looking into the areas pointed out and we hope that you will notice the change in your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Located next to the train station on the main road. The room was tiny with an adjoining room. The bedroom was overlooking a pelican crossing. There was no double glazing, and we could hear all the shouting and screaming outside until after 3:00am, only to be woken at about 5:00 by lorries going past. We were booked in for 3 nights but left the next morning. No-one even bothered to ask us why we were checking out early!

The only saving grace was that the food was fairly decent.

Certainly would not consider stopping there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Razia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
culcabock, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us and we would like to apologise for the inconveniences experienced.Being a historical property dating back to more than 150 years , all our rooms have unique characters with varying sizes, though a very few rooms are out of standard room sizes.
We hope you will give us another visit so that we can provide you with the stay experience that a majority of of our guests take back with them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
0.4 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#9 of 34 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,658 reviews
3.4 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Highland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Highland Hotel

Property: Royal Highland Hotel
Address: 18 Academy Street, Inverness IV1 1LG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Highland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Highland Hotel is the oldest hotel in the centre of the Highland capital, Inverness. In 2000, the property was carefully restored, retaining its unique character associated with the bygone age. As soon as you enter the hotel you will appreciate this. In the foyer the grand staircase, the inspiration for the Titanic's staircase, leads to the 84 spacious refurbished bedrooms - all with very high ceilings. The decor is rich with traditional furniture and deep colours. The rooms all have soft furnishings and antique style furniture. The excellent bathrooms are generally medium to large in size. For over 151 years, the hotel has been looking after travellers from all over the world. Perhaps its popularity stems from the fact the hotel is a grand place to stay. Large bedrooms, large lounge areas, quiet meeting rooms, good food, prime location and friendly staff all play their part. All local amenities close to hand, but within a 5 minute drive you are out into the dramatic Highlands. Lochness is only 7 miles from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Highland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Highland Inverness
Hotel Royal Highland
Royal Highland Hotel Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing