We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Highland Hotel
Ranked #19 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Western Isles
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“great value for money”
Reviewed 2 September 2009

Very comfortable stay will stay here again. Very near all amenities. Good value for money. Room very spacious.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
culcabock, public relations manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2009
Thank you so much for your kind review - this will be a great encouragement to the entire team and we look forward to welcome you again at your own Royal Highland Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,829 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    449
    691
    387
    162
    140
See reviews for
263
889
149
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Queens, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2009

This was a wonderfully located, clean, comfortable hotel. The staff are very helpful, breakfast is good and we were able to walk to the river, shopping, and sights. It was a good value and great choice. Free parking is very limited so if you get a space, walk or use public transportation instead of moving the car. Nice restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYBonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
culcabock, public relations manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2009
Thank you very much for your kind response which will indeed go a long way in motivating the entire team here to provide the best of experience to our guests. We look forward to welcome you again at The Royal Highland Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodford, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2009

This is one of those original Station Hotels, all of which come with drawbacks, it seems. Expect pleasant enough stay if you are forgiving.

If arriving by train, the Hotel is exceptionally well located - its actually part of the station complex itself, although we noticed no noise from trains.

Check in had a vaguely fawlty towers ambience when we arrived at 1.30 and were advised the rooms would be ready from 3 pm - whether they were ready or not, we suspected. Anyway we were able to leave bags and obtained a quite satisfactory lunch at the Hotel's 'Ash' restaurant. The lobby lounge and bar is also a pleasant enough place to while away an hour or two.

The hotel has quite a lot of charm in the faded grandeur style, with a fine lobby and grand staircase. Faded is a bit of a misnomer, we thought it was in good condition for a very old hotel.

Thus we foregave the very small, but characterful, room on the 3rd floor. To an extent. The intrusive noise was the endless 'crawk crawk crawk'of the creaking floorboards as dozens of other hotel guests trooped off to their rooms. The large gap under the door meant the voices outside were also quite intrusive. Had we been staying more than one night we would have asked for a room in at the end of a corridor where it would have been quieter.

The room was just adequate, small, not much natural light, a very small cupboard, but a good sized and refurbished ensuite bathroom. The hot water was hot, if rather a long time arriving on the third floor. The sort of thing you expect from a large old hotel.

We had dinner at the restaurant and that was also very satisfactory for pub food, and reasonably priced, a very pleasant evening.

Breakfast was a bit of a disaster as none of the hot dishes were hot, cold haggis is not good eating! We foregave this as they were obviously concerned and investigated closely when we pointed this out to them. We got profuse apologies and were advised that apparently the element in the bain marie had apparently burnt out. Given that (and the other pleasant meals) I wouldn't condemn them for that.

I suspect that the moral of this is that you may need to bit of a squeaky wheel if you want a satisfactory stay here; if its unsatisfactory let them know and see what happens. It worked for us.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PineappleSkip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2009

After lugging our baggage all over Britain, we were ecstatic to find that the hotel was actually attached to the train station. Despite that I did not find our room noisy at all. Yes it's shabby and a bit down at the heels, but that was part of its charm. Nice big bathroom (but the ladies w.c. off the lobby is amazing!) and the rooms were a good size. I liked the buffet breakfast which is included, but never tried out the proper restaurant. The few staff that I dealt with were pleasant and we appreciated being able to leave our luggage in the porter's room for a day.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FernT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
culcabock, public relations manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 20 July 2009
Thank you very much for your kind review.Being a Heritage property operating for the last 154 years, it is indeed a challenge in maintaining the character of the property and we definitely hope to welcome you again in Inverness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2009

From start tofinish we were far from impressed with this hotel. It may have in the past been a nice hotel but it is now from from this and in desperate need of maintainance and updating. We were greeted if I can use that word but a front of house who made us feel like we were a burden to be there. Our room was on the top floor crammed in a corner with low ceilings and extremely hot. The only ventilation were two windows which were hard to open and keep open and in a disgusting state. After 2 nights of little sleep we asked to move and to their credit they helped. Our new room on the 1st floor was nicer but still far from what they advertise. We dined for breakfast each day which was plentiful but was very average and lunch once which again I wouldn't recommend. The food however is better than the service with the lunch crew in particular barely acknowledging your presence. The advertised free Wi Fi was non existant and when we asked why were told it was due to a storm and IT were fixing it - we were there for 4 nights and it didn't work the entire time so I guess IT was about as good as the rest of the hotel. Location was about the best point being literally right beside the train station and not from from town centre.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank azza11Nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
culcabock, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2009
Thank you very much for your kind review and we do appreciate your observations.Let me apologise for the inconveniences experienced by you and let me reassure you that the majority fo our guests carry with them an enjoyable Royal Highland experience as can be seen from the consistent high ratings of 7/8 out of 10 in actual user websites like Expedia, Bookings and Laterooms. Since the Hotel is more than 150 years old, it is true that while all or rooms have character, but the sizes do vary.We also appreciate your concern for the short term heat wave situation along with strong thunderstorms which ravaged Highlands during this period and we have now kept fans in every room, even though we understand that the usage could be for only 7-10 days in a year, in Scotland.We are also happy to say that our fully complimentary Wi-Fi coverage has also been restored We have noted that you enjoyed our location, breakfast and the food quality in our restaurant and we definitley hope to amend on the areas stated by you. I do hope you have spared some time and completed our questionnaire kept in the rooms as well as the Reception Counter so that we can personally communicate with you, or, you may please contact us at info@royalhighlandhotel.co.uk with your contact details. We do hope to serve you again when you visit Scotland in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Inverness hotels

Aberdeen
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2009

This hotel should have a health & safety hazard warning when you walk in the door. We stayed here for the weekend and NEVER AGAIN. My friends got her hand jammed in the window (old victorian heavy wood style) that fell and nearly crushed her fingers as it did not have a safety latch to hold it up. It took all our strength to get the window open to prise her fingers out, she nearly fainted with the pain. The front reception staff and manager (who was no help, accusing and down right rude) came to our room with a hammer and nail, and told us that this was the safety latch and that we must of taken the nail out of the window previous!! The shower didn't drain the water, you had to switch the shower on and off until the water drained away, there was no fan extractor for when you came out of the shower, the room was dirty and still had the previous occupants rubbish in the bins (and newspapers on the floor), it was cramped, stuffy and down right shabby. This is the worst hotel we have ever stayed in. Even the local taxi drivers agreed that the hotel was a shambles! Stay elsewhere people!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hezzy26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
culcabock, Public Relations Manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2009
While we thank the guest for the review, but at the same time,we would like to strongly object the points stated and would like to place our comments below:
The guests ( two ladies), who checked in on 12 June and was allotted Room No 307,one of our new rooms which started selling only from the last summer.
While checking in, it was noticed by the receptionist that they could barely walk properly and was reeking of alcohol.
At around 5pm, a phone call was received at the Reception that one of the guests in the said room had injured herself.
Immediately, as per procedure, the Duty Manager rushed to the room and found 3 (and not 2) persons in room out of which,one person,apparently, was in the bathroom.
The duty manager was told that the window had come down on the finger of one of the guests.
In fact, it was clearly evident from a visual inspection of the area around the window that the stop hinge, which are fitted approximately 12 inches from the base of the window, was wrenched off and was lying on the floor along with some bits of chipped wood and paint flakes.
We have old, but very safe and sturdy, Victorian windows fitted in all the 83 rooms of this Listed Building and during Summer, when wood expands, it becomes difficult at times to smoothly move it up and down and it was apparent that someone had forced the window down with such a force that even the brass hinges got twisted and wrenched out and the screw bolt fitted to the window pane had come off.
In any case, first aid was offered, but the lady inside the bathroom, who had the injury, spoke out at least three times,and said that she does not require this and, as a measure of ample caution, the duty manager offered to call Ambulance to get her checked in the local Hospital which was also denied by them.
As we were full on that evening, the Duty Manager returned back along with a lady receptionist and fixed up the wrenched out stop hinge in her presence and replaced the screwbolt.
What apparently had happened was ( as was admitted by the third guest who had not checked in) , as they were not in the normal state, one of them must have been standing in front of the window with her palm resting on the base of the window while the other lady tried to shut the window forcibly without adjusting the stop hinge, which resulted in the hinge getting wrenched out and the palm of the other lady getting hurt.
We would not really state anything else about the subsequent behaviour of the guests, which can only be stated that the foul language etc were the result of their inebriated condition rather than their normal self.
Regarding the other point about the shower and the cleanliness of the room, we can only show the host of previous ratings on these accounts at your own site as well as other reputed sites like Expedia(4.2/5),Laterooms(7/10),Bookings (7.4/10)etc. We feel that these are not correct and are only stated out of their misplaced anger.
We apologise for this lengthy response, but there was no other way to communicate theactual incident to the readers of Tripadvisor so that they will understand what actually happened and will take an appropriate decision about this Review.On our side, we would feel privileged to welcome the reviewer back to the Hotel and to enjoy the Hospitality thatw e normally offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2009

Do not use this web site to book anything I booked The Royal Highland Hotel for the 13th Jun and paid in advance when we got there the hotel looked nice and the staff very helpful but our room was not book we were the second couple that day with this company. Unfortunately the hotel was fully booked. The company when contacted were not prepared to pay anmore to put us in another hotel. Rockness was on that weekend(music festival) and rooms were limited. We ended up coming home. A 3 hour drive there and back. 6 in total a long way for a drive!!

Stayed June 2009
Helpful?
3 Thank foxyboxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
culcabock, public relations manager at Royal Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 15 June 2009
Thank you for letting us know about your booking through this website. While no fault of ours, we still can feel the disappointment you felt and we are thankful that you liked the hotel despite the brief interaction with us. If you send the booking details to us, we shall be happy to take this up with the booking website as well. We reccommend booking through our website which has a direct booking engine so that you can be assured of the reservation as well get the best range of price deals.
We hope you will come back to us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
0.4 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
pentahotel Inverness
pentahotel Inverness
#21 of 34 in Inverness
1,227 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#9 of 34 in Inverness
1,732 reviews
1.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Inverness
Jurys Inn Inverness
#18 of 34 in Inverness
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Highland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Highland Hotel

Property: Royal Highland Hotel
Address: 18 Academy Street, Inverness IV1 1LG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Highland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Highland Hotel is the oldest hotel in the centre of the Highland capital, Inverness. In 2000, the property was carefully restored, retaining its unique character associated with the bygone age. As soon as you enter the hotel you will appreciate this. In the foyer the grand staircase, the inspiration for the Titanic's staircase, leads to the 84 spacious refurbished bedrooms - all with very high ceilings. The decor is rich with traditional furniture and deep colours. The rooms all have soft furnishings and antique style furniture. The excellent bathrooms are generally medium to large in size. For over 151 years, the hotel has been looking after travellers from all over the world. Perhaps its popularity stems from the fact the hotel is a grand place to stay. Large bedrooms, large lounge areas, quiet meeting rooms, good food, prime location and friendly staff all play their part. All local amenities close to hand, but within a 5 minute drive you are out into the dramatic Highlands. Lochness is only 7 miles from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Highland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Highland Inverness
Hotel Royal Highland
Royal Highland Hotel Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing